We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW. Love this place. Perfect for Honeymoon or Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Palm Villas
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed 27 June 2008

What a fantastic place. Stayed at the Milarepa (next door) for two nights, but honestly, needed a/c. Walked over to the Villas and inquired as to the walk-in rate. Total bargain at $250 a night for the honeymoon villa -- note this is a very special rate only given IF it's unbooked and you must book it on the spot.

The grounds are wonderful. Fantastic trees and plants and wildlife. Yes, and monkeys, monkeys, monkeys.

The honeymoon villa is far separated from the other villa. Wonderful privacy. Downstairs outside is a large patio with two fans. Perfect for evenings and hanging out. Forty yards to the beach (where there are plentiful hammocks and chairs to relax in). Downstairs is a large a/c bedroom with windows on all three sides and private (but one can see in the room at night with the lights on). Wonderful recessed lighting throughout the building. Wood beams all over, a safe and plenty of storage room. Did i mention the a/c that cranked, plus the overhead fan? Across the hall is a magnificent bathroom with two sinks and a huge shower with walls at the perfect height so you can see out easily, but people can't see below your neck. I loved taking a shower while watching people surf.

Up the steep stairs (gorgeous wood) is the upstairs dining, relaxing area with a second bed area (which can be made private through the use of lovely curtains). Windows all around which can be tipped up and open or down. During a rainstorm, it got a bit wet inside, but that was part of the charm with the windows down. Kitchen island (not sure if the stove worked) with enough cook stuff for a few people for a few days. Stocked fridge with drinks, candy and the inevitabe Pringles, but all at good prices. Wonderful views from upstairs out.

The best parts of Red Palm Villas:

1) On the beach
2) Private
3) Free snorkels and fins
4) The most beautiful wooden structures
5) On-site staff to help you with your needs
6) The wood (bears repeating)
7) 10 minute drive from Playa Hermosa -- gorgeous beach for miles with nobody around.

Do not hesitate to go.

Be forewarned though, mosquitos abound in Costa Rica, at least in June. And, there are bugs of all sorts in CR, even in your room.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paul518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2008

From the moment we contacted Red Palms we knew we were in good hands. They helped us arrange a helicopter to fly us directly from San Jose airport right into their front yard, it took 20 minutes, what a plus.

When we arrived we were greeted by Javier and led to the most amazing unique beachfront villa we ever saw, the Honeymoon villa.

Everything was perfect, just the way my wife envisioned. It was the most fantastic vacation we ever had. We had one of the best meals I ever experienced at Red Palms. The owner brought us in a chef who cooked for us privately in our villa while I proposed to my wife for the third time in our marriage.

Since we´ve been home all we can think about is going back to Red Palms. We want to live there...if only we could.

Red Palms villas is probably the best locationon the best beachin all of Costa Rica. We have been going to Costa Rica for over 12 years and nothing comes close to what this guy has there.

Right on a famous surf break know as Suck Rock, I got to watch one day the surfers surf the big waves, it was like being in Hawaii. We also liked the fact that we could walk to the two best restaurants in Santa Teresa, location, location, location, this place has that pretty swen up.

And, my wife and I took our first yoga classes from an amazing brazilian girl and now we are enrolled in a couple yoga class back here in CA.

Red Palm villas was a life changing experience which is what Mike the owner said he wants to see happen to his clients. Well, in our case, he accomplished his goal, it was romantic, luxurious and the best holiday we ever had.

By the way, every Christmas Mike puts this amazing tree up on the beach, definitely a must of you can get this that time of year, everyone from miles comes to see it, one of a kind and just addingmore to the charm of thisperfect little beach estate.

Thanks Red Palms, we love all you there, hi Skippy, Javier, Mike and Muncho.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CutterStanton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Red Palm Villas is in the perfect location... right in hip Santa Teresa but outside the bustle, and right at an awesome surf spot. We stayed in The Hummingbird Villa... totally unique and done with every attention to detail... lots of artful, creative tiling and building designs that add to the subtly elegant decor. Everything we needed was provided in the villa, and all the staff was unobtrusive but always available. The grounds are lush and gorgeous leading to the white sand beach. The best restaurants are right close-by, too. We loved it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alisonchesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La Honey moon Villa tiene una linda vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VivirViajarCaravanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Palm Villas

Address: Santa Teresa main road | 1-888 405 0201, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £82 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Palm Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Beach - Dramatic Views - Luxury Villas Steps From The Water Fully Staffed for honeymoons, weddings, family and couple vacations. 3 restaurants and a spa 1-3 minutes walk on the beach. Swim, surf, boogie board, snorkel, horseback riding directly in front. Offering complete elopement & wedding packages and services. Voted Top 10 Resorts in Costa Rica to get married at. Call Toll Free 888 405 0201 ans let us help you reserve a spot with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Palm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
The Red Palm Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing