We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Palm Villas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
224
7
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
7
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshummingbird villahoneymoon villadeluxe garden suitecosta ricaair conditionedbeautiful beachwedding plannerlow tideevery eveningpineapplebeautiful placeyoga instructorocean frontperfect spotrent an atvmikemonkeys
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I went to Red Palm Villas on 2004, when I was 7 months pregnant, and I've returned year after year ever since. Back in 2004, Red Palms was highly recommended to us but it surpassed our expectations. It offered villas with exquisite design and comfort in a very pristine beach with such a private environment. It was the most relaxing holiday, like having the whole beach to ourselves. It is also in a great spot in Santa Teresa which is a fantastic beach, with close access to surf and tide pools (a little bit for everyone, and perfect for us). The staff was very attentive and every detail was well taken care of. A nice plus is that Santa Teresa has fantastic restaurants and a very unique and culturally diverse little town that is nice to explore.
Then I returned when my son was 1 and he loved the tide pools that form right next to the hotel. When he was 2 he loved waiting for the howler monkeys that arrive almost every day and looking for lizards, butterflies, and tropical birds.
The magical thing about Red Palms is that is has adapted to our needs at every stage, I was perfect for a relaxing holiday and also entertaining for a young boy.

TIPS. Try the Vista del Mar restaurant, and the little french bakery (It's fantastic). Also walk to the end of beach, there are amazing rock formations and beautiful tide pools.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greattripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This place is an absolute gem~if you want a place that's secluded with clean and modern amenities, spectacular views, and excellent service, the Red Palm Villas is the place to be.
My wife and I stayed there for six nights on our honeymoon, and were totally blown away by the sheer beauty of it all. The villas are just steps from the beach, the rooms were spacious, and the decor was calming yet elegant. We can't wait to return for our second anniversary!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_goldfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This was our first Costa Rica Vacation, we were celebrating our honeymoon, the entire experience was very impressive. To start, it's rare when you arrive to a resort and it actually exceeds your expectations based on things you saw and read from the internet but The Red Palm Villas definitely surpasses what you see in photos in a wonderful and delightful way. The whole experience made us feel like VIPs- the site, the warm staff and unrelenting service, and the amenities.

We booked their Costa Rica Honeymoon Package, it included private chef service, tours, and transfers, we're very happy we did, there were no hidden costs or surprises which was very nice for a change and in the end it had everything we wanted and still allowed us time to explore on our own and rest and relax as we were exhausted from working hard all year and planning our large wedding back home.

The Honeymoon Villa is so astounding that I got teary eyed at the beauty and even more amazed that we had the good fortune to stay there! It is modern yet has tasteful Asian like details everywhere and it was very spacious (you could have a great party here), full of splendid views of bright blue sea and the waves and white sand beach which you can enjoy from several
rooms, both bedrooms and the porch.

Each day we woke up, we went to the beach to enjoy our coffee or juice and just gave thanks for being so lucky to spend our honeymoon here in Costa Rica. We had heard a lot about Santa Teresa Costa Rica from our friends who travel a lot and actually twice last year randomly the The Red Villas came up...first time we heard it was from a friend who had stayed next door to The Red Palms, he said he actually saw Gisele Bundchen and her husband Tom Brady over there one day as he was walking down the beach, it turned out this is where Tom Brady's family was staying during their wedding which took place just down the beach. You have to imagine how wonderful it felt hearing we were sleeping in a villa that Gisele once slept, honestly, I'm a huge fan of hers, I could see why she choose this place, I felt like a princess the entire time I was there.

The staff is amazing-they keep the place immaculate, are always on site to help you, drivers are available to take you to town (5mins) or to tour you around the area all day. The staff is even there when you come home late at night to make sure all is well. We were unlucky to not meet the owners- they were away in another country where they just had a baby and were staying with family.

The place is really perfect, you quickly feel like part of The Red Palms family as everyone is so kind and gracious and sincere which was other highlight as well as the three dogs who roam the land in a playful way, always taking walks with us and keeping us company. We felt very fortunate to have such a great staff attending to our needs while enjoying 5 star accommodations at a reasonable rate. Great for families, retreats, groups, and yoga classes, so you have it all in exquisite splendor at an exceptional Costa Rica Resort right on the beach with one of a kind views unlike any place we have ever experienced.

If anyone who reads this is a planning a honeymoon, stop looking, you found the place, you will never find a resort more peaceful, private, beautiful, well staffed with such unique and wonderful homes. We're glad we found this place and as often as we say we don't like to visit a place twice, my husband and I know for certain this will always be a special place we will remember and try to visit as often as possible, it really is unique and earns the reputation as the number one spot, thanks everyone at Red Palms for a honeymoon full of magic to be remembered forever.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asianprincess87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Wow, it's been 6 weeks since we returned from our vacation with good intentions to write a review and then real life intervened and here we are, where did the time go?
We found Red Palm Villas on line purely by accident and based on the website and the Trip Advisor feedback we decided really quickly it was the place to go. From the time of our first inquiry the standard of customer service was something every other vacation operator should use as their model. Nothing was too much trouble and response was almost immediate. Not only did we book the villa but Mike and his team sorted out all our transport and a nights accommodation in San Jose. As he had promised, his contact was there to pick us up at San Jose airport, took us to an amazing hotel on the hills outside the town and picked us up again next morning for our flight to Tambor. He even offered to come back that evening to take us to a restaurant but we decided to walk into the local area and find a bar. All this for a ridiculously low price. When we arrived at Tambor, sure enough there was a driver to take us the one hour drive to Santa Teresa where of course one of the Red Palm staff took us to our villa AND the quad bike that Mike also booked for us arrived about 15 minutes after us. This NEVER happens in real life!!! We were booked into Hummingbird Villa as we didn't think two of us could really justify the space of the other villas. Hummingbird was great with a lot of glass, oiled wood floors and a large kitchen. The only slight disappointment was that there was nowhere to sit outside, no veranda or deck, which to be fair was clear in the website but we hadn't taken notice. So we are lazing in a hammock on the beach right in front of the villas wondering if we had somehow died and woken up in another world when we noticed that Harmony Villa was not occupied and looked absolutely stunning. A short discussion later and we had paid to upgrade and were moving our freshly unpacked gear into our new home. Oh boy was that a good decision-- the whole ambience, open concept, extensive oiled wood, two floors and an air conditioned double bedroom moved our whole vacation to 11. Our advice to anyone thinking of going there is to book Harmony or Honeymoon Villa as your first choice-- you will not regret it, I guarantee. It was so nice we wanted to stay in at night to enjoy the sunset, animal noises and the evening/night thunderstorms, so in 15 nights we ended up buying fresh fish, salad, fruits, vegetables and the essential beer and wine for 10 of those nights and just hanging out in our beautifully designed and constructed villa! We were right on the beach so breakfasted to the sound of surf. Insects are around, especially no-see-ums but they are not bad. The howler monkeys are entertaining and we had iguanas, bats, frogs and crabs passing through the living room. The whole place is beautifully landscaped and surface water drains away very quickly after a storm. We never felt in any danger anywhere during our stay but it is reassuring to see a security guard wandering around the grounds all night. The staff were always helpful and available but also unobtrusive- everything was so easy. When we left there was a major tropical storm the day before and roads were in bad shape plus the flight from Tambor was cancelled. However thanks to a really helpful taxi driver (also obtained through Red Palm) who waited with us, we got a drive to San Jose where, although we had missed our flight he took us to a hotel which was like a Spanish hacienda and very reasonably priced. The moral here is do not try to get from Santa Teresa to San Jose for an afternoon flight that day. Next time we will plan for a night at the airport.
We could say so much about our trip, the town, the jungle, the beach, the food, the people and the restaurants but it has all been said in words and photos in other reviewsand everyone enjoys something different. Suffice to say we had an amazing time and 2 weeks is a good vacation there, we had no negative experiences and we have many wonderful memories. If you are looking for a beautiful location in an unspoilt part of South America which has enough Western supplies and habits to make it a vacation not an adventure trip then you could find nowhere better than Red Palm Villas in Santa Teresa

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathaliekohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We held our wedding (approximately 50 guests) at Red Palm Villas. We were fortunate to actually visit Red Palm Villas on a previous trip to Costa Rica, prior to deciding to make this our location for the wedding. I saw an advertisement for it on Craigslist, and it turned out to be a gem of a find. We really enjoyed the easy going/laid back feel of the property. We fell in love with the villas, they were exactly what we were looking for (and reflected our personalities), luxurious mixed with a little bit of rusticness. We chose Red Palms as the venue because it is a beautiful property on an amazing beachfront. Red Palm Villas is such a magical place. My family enjoyed our 5 days stay there. All five villas are outstanding and unique! They really are a place for individual peace and relaxation but also a place for family and friends to get together, large enough for everyone to come over and enjoy our "home".

Santa Teresa was a perfect location. The town has a variety of accommodation types to fit any of your guest's budget; from dormitory rooms (hostels) to high end boutique hotels, private villas, or something in the midrange category. There are also supermarkets, restaurants and a phenomenal beach that you can gaze at for endless hours from a hammock or go surfing.

From my very first contact with Mike, the owner, I always received first class service. As a bride planning and preparing for her wedding, I most appreciated his communication style – responded quickly and always addressed every question/concern that I had. We also got to know him more on a personal level, talking about our experiences and families. He kept to his promises and original quote and always worked with us. There was no surprise costs related to the venue and accommodations. I chose not to hire a personal wedding planner – mostly to save on costs for work that I could do myself. The wedding preparation was relatively stress free (even planning it from afar). He made things easy for us, helping wherever he can, even the little things like facilitating payment to vendors on our behalf. He also has a fantastic team of staff onsite at Red Palms, working to create that special day.

Mike has all the contacts and vendors you would need to create the wedding of your dreams. Music, caterer, photographer, lawyer, entertainment, etc. The vendors Mike recommended are first rate - quality & reliable. From the vendors Mike suggested to us, we chose to go with the mandolin guitar player, caterer, and hair salon stylist. The other vendors we used were found through other sources.

A quick mention of the vendors that were used for the wedding: Soma Chefs catered the reception and our guests enjoyed the food. Dave, mandolin guitar player for ceremony music. Los Mojitos, latin jazz live band, were amazing (also found through craigslist)! Jen the female vocalist has such a beautiful voice and was a nice filler at our reception between all our other wedding festivities. I cannot also say enough about our wedding photographer, Fernando. I found Fernando by googling weddings in Costa Rica (www.weddings.co.cr). His 600+ online wedding albums display his talent and photographic skills, but does not show what a wonderful and passionate person he is. I also got a few of our wedding ideas by reviewing his online gallery. He responded quickly and was always ready to help. He even ended up officiating our ceremony for us (spiritual only - non legal binding) and also has additional vendors/contacts that would be used for the wedding day. What a memorable wedding day we had, Red Palm Villas, beachfront, live band, DJ, fireworks, delicious food, wedding couple piñata, and fresh coconuts/copos (snow cones).

Red Palms is more of a boutique style retreat. There are not a lot of "amenities" at Red Palm Villas like you would get in a resort/hotel; however, this suited our needs just fine. It was intimate and casual, but, you can make the venue however you want it. Many items needed for the wedding reception will need to rented and brought in depending on the size of your wedding. We had approximately 50 guests. For example, chairs, tables, cutlery, tableware, coverage space in case in rains (Red Palms has a covered patio area for about 30 people).

Unfortunately, Mike was overseas still during our wedding day and also during much of the planning. During our five day stay, Yateem and the rest of the Red Palm staff made our stay laid back, stress free and most enjoyable. Yateem assisted us in checking the weather forecast prior, arranged a tent rental, and was available during the wedding day to facilitate the vendors for the event. The floral arrangements for the reception tables and lighting provided were perfect for our tastes. The staff provided great restaurant recommendations and points of interests locally and helped arrange ATV rentals, etc

Thank you for sharing Red Palm Villas with us and for Red Palm's assistance these last few months. Not only do you provide such an outstanding product, but also outstanding service. I cannot say again, how much I appreciated their timely responses/ communication. Hope our paths cross again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabo3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews