We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel by far!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sitting Bull Hostel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best hostel by far!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This was by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Not because of the super clean environment, chill atmosphere, and free daily breakfast /coffee. The staff is what makes Sitting Bull truly unique. It also dosent hurt that it is located across the road from the beach. I would recommend this hostel the anyone looking to visit Santa Teresa.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    5
    4
    9
    2
See reviews for
1
13
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent almost two weeks here, everyone working there was super friendly, the place is new and clean and 5 mins from the beach! Defiantly staying at the Sitting Bull next time I'm down in Costa Rica! PURA VIDAAAA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I couldn't have asked for more! Even with the clean rooms, AC, professional business, and chill atmosphere, the incredible staff is what makes the stay here so special. Amazingly helpful, fun, inspiring, laid back, and down to earth. I have no reservations about recommending this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolecw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Since the moment I get into the reception the welcome warm was great! I was so excited to visit the hostel as I was told it is one of the 15 things to do in Santa Teresa and yes they were so right!
My all experience here has been amazing! I love the Sitting Bull way of living! Always friendly, chilling! The staff are idea! They will always be there for you, wiling to assist you with a huge smile that makes your day even better! I love the breakfast, fresh fruits all day and free coffee! Great Surf lessons and 24hours service!! Wohoo! the is customer service! My room was so nice and clean! I found my little paradise with you guys! Made great friends, learnt a lot and definatly will always be my spot in Santa Teresa!
Love it! Symply as you make us feel great, be part of the team, you even encourage us to give you suggestions and be part of everything! Keep doing a great job! You guys rock and will always recommend it to all my travellers friends!
Pura Vida! A cachete!

Room Tip: Number 202 is wonderful! Is a mini studio with a beautiful balcony and the bed is amazinggggggggggg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azuljei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Santa teresa is one of the coolest places in Costa Rica, a small town with amazing nature and beautiful beaches.The hostel is right in front of a beach with great waves and prety much every sunset was amazing! Next to it there is a supermarket, so its very handy to get groseries.
The staff is really friendly and made me few like i was at home! The rooms are nice and clean and there is a really cool area where we used to hang out cooking listening to music, playing guitar etc. Really worth experience

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed in the Sitting Bull hostel for 3 days. I must say: it may not be the fanciest in terms of look but it is definitely managed by an awesome crew who make you feel comfortable the entire time.
It is really close to banana beach so no problem to carry the surf boards back and forth... :-)
I really loved staying in this hostel. it was clean, welcoming and very friendly and I was almost heart-broken to move on to the next Costa rica stop!

Only downside: the kitchen could be positioned better and bigger.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The most comfortable place to stay, just one block from the beach! I love this place and I recommend to anyone who appreciate AC, good bed, clean apts, clean kitchen, internet and included breakfast. Enjoy the best sunsets of Central America!!!

Room Tip: If you can, stay in the apartments on the second and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBEFloripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Slow Monkey Hostel
Slow Monkey Hostel
#28 of 62 in Santa Teresa
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ranchos Itauna
Ranchos Itauna
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Dos Monos
Hostel Dos Monos
#5 of 62 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajo el Arbol B&B
Bajo el Arbol B&B
#17 of 62 in Santa Teresa
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zula Inn Aparthotel
Zula Inn Aparthotel
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pura Vida MiniHostel - Santa Teresa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitting Bull Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitting Bull Hostel

Property: Sitting Bull Hostel
Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting bull Hostel fastly became one of the best hostels in Santa Teresa, Mal Pais and Playas del Carmen area. It is just 75 mts away from the beach of Santa Teresa, which is a world-class surf beach that host some of the best surf spots in Costa Rica, and close to many restaurants, supermarkets and shops in town. Is the perfect place to stay when you check into paradise. We offer to our guests mini apartments and dorms fully equipped. Each private mini apt and dorm composed by a fully equipped kitchen, private bathrooms and shower for each apartment, cable tv, air conditioning, internet wi-fi, a balcony, cleaning service and breakfast included everyday. We are passionate about showing our costumers the real experience of relaxing and escaping from the city and the routine We work hard to create an atmosphere that balances comfort and fun. Our friendly, helpful and multilingual staff are available 24 hours a day ready to assist you planning the rest of your tip in the best way possible. We have updated information about points of interest and local entertainment as well as free maps and tour info. The only thing that you must worry about is how many days you will like to spend in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sitting Bull Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitting Bull Hostel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing