We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can find WAY BETTER places for the same price. I promise!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sitting Bull Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sitting Bull Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You can find WAY BETTER places for the same price. I promise!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

When we first landed in Santa Teresa we were in a bit of a hurry to find a place. Our second stop was "sitting bull hostel." The guy working took us to the room, and at first glance the room seemed worth it, so we committed to it for 1 night and 1 night only. When we settled in, we realized what we got into. Our room had ants crawling all over the counter tops and floor. The hot water shower was a joke. Yeah, the water got hot, but it only leaked out of the shower head. So I wouldn't call it a shower. We could only get wifi if we stood next to the door. I am only harsh on this place, bc what we found for the same price in Santa Teresa, blew this place away. Our room was spacious and the A/C was great. The young lady working when we were checking out was also great. She allowed us to keep our bags safe in the room while we snorkeled till noon. That was very cool of her to do. Another positive is that, out room was built to house 6-7 people comfortably. Unfortunately we were only 2. So $50 split between 7 is totally worth it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    5
    4
    9
    2
See reviews for
1
13
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Criticism first: The ATVs passing by every now and then can be loud. (However, this applies to most hotels in Santa Teresa / Playa Carmen, as almost every hotel is located right next to the main and only road.) In-room safe was out of order at the time we arrived.

Positive aspects: Clean. Spacious, modernly furnished high-ceiling rooms with a large balcony. Kitchen equipped with dishes, microwave, fridge. Large shower, large bed, TV with 50 channels. 100 meters walk to the empty beach. Very friendly and helpful staff! Staff is happy to organize trips for you free of any charges. (Actually, the fee for the trip was lower than the one offered by the operators in town.)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great people, lovely vibes and awesome deal. Stayed in sittingbull for 21 days in Santa Teresa during my surf travel in June of 2014. Could not complain about anything. The dorms were cleaned daily by lovely staff, when there were problems with water it was fixed asap. They also had AC!!! The most important thing about staying in the hostel is the people that work there and they were like family for the 21 days I was there. Free breakfast every morning, really no where better to stay on the strip of Santa for $10 a night. Will be coming back.

Room Tip: Cristian is always super helpful, if there is anything ask him and he'll help you out. Whether i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I loved my stay at Sitting Bull! I stayed in the dorms which was a great deal. Along with AC and cable, the staff is a lot of fun and very helpful! I highly recommend Sitting Bull in SantaTeresa! If you stay at sitting bull i guarantee you will have a great time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar del Plata, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

my days at sitting bull where really comfortable not only in mi dorm also at the cofee area where you can chill and listen to great chill music the guys that work there make you fill like home all the time and their atention to the client its exelent ... if you want to be Tranquilo and comfortable go to Sitting Sull hostel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franco1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you don´t have any family at Costa Rica, stay at Sitting Bull and you have one:)
Great and fun stuff that make your stay to a nice memory.
As a surfer the hostel have a perfect spot, a surfshop to your right and the waves just across the street. Spend the evening just hanging out with the crew and the other travelers, playing with devil sticks, have a beer and just chill out. The rooms have nice space, good AC, clean and comfi beds.

You will not be disappointed!
Amor y paz

Linn Ekberg

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccaekberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had the best days here staying at the Sitting Bull Hostel! We were 3 girls sharing a spacious room with even a kitchen and a nice balcony. The owners and the staff are amazing, service minded and totally " a cachete"! The location is not bad either, just a short walk from one of the most beautiful beaches. And close to supermarkets and the area with ATM's etc.
Warmly recommending Sitting Bull Hostel to other travellers! Love from Sweden and of course...PURA VIDA!

Room Tip: If you are 2-4 persons, the room with a double bed and a bunkbed is a perfect choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Carmen
Hotel Playa Carmen
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitting Bull Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitting Bull Hostel

Property: Sitting Bull Hostel
Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting bull Hostel fastly became one of the best hostels in Santa Teresa, Mal Pais and Playas del Carmen area. It is just 75 mts away from the beach of Santa Teresa, which is a world-class surf beach that host some of the best surf spots in Costa Rica, and close to many restaurants, supermarkets and shops in town. Is the perfect place to stay when you check into paradise. We offer to our guests mini apartments and dorms fully equipped. Each private mini apt and dorm composed by a fully equipped kitchen, private bathrooms and shower for each apartment, cable tv, air conditioning, internet wi-fi, a balcony, cleaning service and breakfast included everyday. We are passionate about showing our costumers the real experience of relaxing and escaping from the city and the routine We work hard to create an atmosphere that balances comfort and fun. Our friendly, helpful and multilingual staff are available 24 hours a day ready to assist you planning the rest of your tip in the best way possible. We have updated information about points of interest and local entertainment as well as free maps and tour info. The only thing that you must worry about is how many days you will like to spend in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sitting Bull Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitting Bull Hostel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing