We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautilus Boutique Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacifica Surf Studios(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rustico Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaima Chill House(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
37
50
25
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
50
25
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal discofunny smellnice poolan oasisdirt roadshort walkgrocery storecabinbeachporchmonkeyspath
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Stayed for a week at the Escencia and loved it. The staff was very friendly and we loved being able to walk to the market and cook for ourselves. The short walk to the beach was nice. The big grocery was quite a walk round trip though - 4 miles. To go to the bank and back is 5 miles. We did everything on foot. The local panaderia had amazing breakfast foods and our favorite pizza of all times is from El Pulpo. The staff told us about it - know we long for it...Can't wait to go back to this town and will stay with Escencia and the howler monkeys and lizards..lovely property, secure, awesome bartenders, especially Madro.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Daniel, the onsite manager, did a great job on all requests, e.g., where to rent surfboard, where to eat out, etc.
The hotel grounds were kept well groomed and clean. The pool was part of our routine after surfing and playing in the surf. The beach is just a short walk away.
We stayed in the 1 room bungalow with stove, refrig, A/C, hot showers...it's porch was great to hang for meals or when we had brief rainstorms.
Overall great location, good value, great privacy, secure.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom-irginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed at the Esencia Santa Teresa in August. The location is perfect for surfing. 100 meters walk through the jungle to the beach, at probably the best advanced surfers spots. Completely unspoiled. clean, white sand. Great waves. And this is where Malpais Surfcam takes its videos so you can be a star!

The hotel itself is, simply said, beautiful. The grounds are meticulously landscaped. The cabins sleep between 4-5 people. We were 5 in a single cabin, and it was just fine. They have an outside shower for washing off after the beach (in addition to the full shower inside). They have a basic kitchen which in our case continously pumped out food for 3 hungry teenage surfers. Supermarket is a few hundred meters away. A/C was great. As were most things.

The staff were, without exception, extremely helpful and friendly. From the first reception to the final checkout, including the people in the office, the cleaning crew and the groundskeeper Pollo.

Santa Teresa is a surfer's paradise, and the non-surfers amongst us had a great time too. Since its all stretched out along a single, long, strip, its a good idea to rent a bike.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GadiZooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This is a great place to stay! Be sure to request a room AWAY from the street. The disco club across the street can get pretty loud at night. There is easy access to the internet across the street from the hotel. We rented surfboards and it was a short walk to the beach.

The rooms were very small, but nice. We cooked dinner a few nights in the kitchen. The AC worked great and our showers were warm. We felt safe and we enjoyed our stay.

You may want to think about bringing a face mask. It can get very dusty!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picaboanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We went to the Esencia Hotel last december for a family vacation. The hotel is very nice, rooms are pretty new and comfortable. We actually enjoyed pretty much our stay at Esencia. Our only problem was at night, there is this discobar in front of the hotel so when you want to go to sleep the noise is so loud it's difficult to fall asleep. All the nights we stayed was the same problem, I think there should be something done since it is such a nice hotel, good service, etc.
Take it in account if you are considering this place.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank any175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esenciahtl, Marketing Manager at Esencia Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2009

The problem about the loud sounds from the disco/bar in front of the hotel it’s solved. The Costa Rican Health Department emit an order that force the bar to decrease their sound levels, by this way, the problems we were facing about this is solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews