We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$1,017
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
US$453
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenos Aires(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Palm Villas(Santa Teresa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
37
50
25
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
50
25
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal discofunny smellnice poolan oasisdirt roadshort walkgrocery storecabinbeachporchmonkeyspath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Esencia is a great little spot on a "dusty" little road. The staff were helpful, friendly and the villa's have all you need short beach towels. The pool is a great spot to cool off after a hot day at the beach which is just down the road. The kitchens are basic but great for breakfasts, and lunches; there are plenty of good restaurants around too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmboytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

I stayed at Esencia for 4 nights and thought it was a great place. The grounds are very clean and well kept including the pool and bar area. Each villa had a nice front porch as well for relaxing outside. I had read reviews about noise complaints from the bar across the street before but we never noticed this and we were one of the closest villas to the street. I slept fantastically in our giant king size bed. The security guard there at night made it feel like our stuff was very secure when we weren't in the room and there was also a very secure safe for our stuff. The staff was all very friendly and helpful in suggesting restaurants and stuff in the area. We especially enjoyed the Guacamole at the pizzeria El Pulpo, one of the restaurants that is within walking distance of Esencia.

The only negative I would say was the bizarre smell in the villa when we first walked in, I think it had something to do with the chemicals the cleaners used. It was kind of there for the duration of our stay. But it wasn't unbearable and after a few minutes in the room didn't bother me. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest I've seen and the towels weren't that nice, but after seeing the amount of sand that I personally put into that bathroom I guess I couldn't blame them.

All in all I would recommend Esencia.....it's not the Ritz but I don't think there are too many nicer places in this little surfer town for this price point.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrldtrvlrr2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Stayed for a week at the Escencia and loved it. The staff was very friendly and we loved being able to walk to the market and cook for ourselves. The short walk to the beach was nice. The big grocery was quite a walk round trip though - 4 miles. To go to the bank and back is 5 miles. We did everything on foot. The local panaderia had amazing breakfast foods and our favorite pizza of all times is from El Pulpo. The staff told us about it - know we long for it...Can't wait to go back to this town and will stay with Escencia and the howler monkeys and lizards..lovely property, secure, awesome bartenders, especially Madro.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Daniel, the onsite manager, did a great job on all requests, e.g., where to rent surfboard, where to eat out, etc.
The hotel grounds were kept well groomed and clean. The pool was part of our routine after surfing and playing in the surf. The beach is just a short walk away.
We stayed in the 1 room bungalow with stove, refrig, A/C, hot showers...it's porch was great to hang for meals or when we had brief rainstorms.
Overall great location, good value, great privacy, secure.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom-irginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed at the Esencia Santa Teresa in August. The location is perfect for surfing. 100 meters walk through the jungle to the beach, at probably the best advanced surfers spots. Completely unspoiled. clean, white sand. Great waves. And this is where Malpais Surfcam takes its videos so you can be a star!

The hotel itself is, simply said, beautiful. The grounds are meticulously landscaped. The cabins sleep between 4-5 people. We were 5 in a single cabin, and it was just fine. They have an outside shower for washing off after the beach (in addition to the full shower inside). They have a basic kitchen which in our case continously pumped out food for 3 hungry teenage surfers. Supermarket is a few hundred meters away. A/C was great. As were most things.

The staff were, without exception, extremely helpful and friendly. From the first reception to the final checkout, including the people in the office, the cleaning crew and the groundskeeper Pollo.

Santa Teresa is a surfer's paradise, and the non-surfers amongst us had a great time too. Since its all stretched out along a single, long, strip, its a good idea to rent a bike.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GadiZooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews