We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 April 2011

There is a sameness that creeps through tourism, one that I wish couldn't encroach on Costa Rica. Resorts of rocks or even trees made or concrete, 25 item menus that are 23 items the same as the last place. Cayuga's hotels, or the ones I've seen are the antidode. And Latitude 10 is the jewel in their crown. That it's sustainable is icing... You couldn't do better under any set of rules.

I've been coming to Costa Rica for 12 years. I can't bring my young family on the same tour of $5 night hotels, but Latitude 10 absolutely taught them the Pura Vida I remember. Nature isn't just beyond the concrete, it's what the place is made of.

(One of my favorite times at Arenas del Mar was fossil hunting in the pool stones with my son. We did that again at Latitude 10 which is entirely small fossilized invertebrates. It's a good picture of both hotels. Everything is close to life. I'm writing this from a hotel where the rocks are fake, some trees are concrete, and the wood is paint. There's so much stuff here, but nothing natural to share with my kids... There's no soul here. I'd go back to Latitude 10 in a second.)

Room Tip: I don't think there are gimmicks, just ask
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Blairdavidfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

Wow!! what can I say. Latitude 10 is a wonderful hotel. You feel like you are staying in the jungle but with luxurios amenities. The staff is fun and helpful. They will give you numerous options for dining out and for adventerous activities. The grounds are kept up beautifully as well as the villas. And the pool is the best in town; especially after a hot day of fun. They stay at the hotel was very romantic and relaxing. The owners have done a great job keeping the villas private. You can mingle with other guest in the common area/ dining room or seclude yourself and not encounter another guest. The meais were delicious and plentiful. We will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Costaricanfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Latitude 10 is a very unique resort and could possibly be the one hotel we will always remember among all the places we've stayed around the world.

First off, it is very hard to find, which may be necessary to keep it as remote and unspoiled as it is. We were warned about the roads in Costa Rica, but the ones from Cobano to Sta. Teresa are the worst--about a 10 mile stretch of missing pavement, potholes and sharp rocks. We were in a Toyota Rav/4 and were knocked around a lot. Add to that no signage whatsoever telling you how far you are from the resort and depending on good luck to catch the obscure number ten in a circle on the right hand side of a gate on the left hand side of the road really puts one in a foul mood upon arriving.

Yet, despite all that, the place is an oasis once you arrive. There are only 5 bungalows in total, and when we were there, only one other was ever used, so we often felt like we had the run of the place (as well as 4-5 staff members) all to ourselves. The pool is incredible, with an amazing view of the ocean through palm trees in the distance. Our best meals in Costa Rica were there--Yvette is a wonderful cook, and we felt she was our personal chef while we were there. She cooks the breakfasts (you have a choice of 5-6 entrees from french toast to yogurt and fresh fruit) and the dinners (a fixed menu of app, entree and dessert goes for $30 and changes each day based on what fresh ingredients are available to them. We had mahi mahi one night and then stuffed breast of chicken in a wine reduction sauce the second night. (The night in between we went to Papaya restaurant in the Moana hotel in Malpais, not as good food, but a killer view of the sunset from their deck if you arrive early for drinks.)

The staff is incredible, from Alejandro (the young intern mentioned in the prior review), Maricela, and Sylvia were all more than helpful when planning our day's activities and chatting about Costa Rican culture over drinks and dinner in the clubhouse.

People considering this place should realize that this is the jungle, and that means bugs and wildlife. Both our toilet and shower were out behind our bungalow, but enclosed by a wall and felt private. Heading out there in the middle of the night though is not for the faint of heart...I kept wondering if I'd encounter a monkey or raccoon sitting on top of our toilet. Also the rooms don't have A/C, so be sure to ask for a second fan (in addition to the one above your bed) if you think you'll be uncomfortable at night.

All in all, a very special place that we will long remember. Once you settle into life at Latitude 10, you won't want to come back to civilization!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZtraveler_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latitude10, General Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Dear NZtraveler_Boston,
Thank you very much for your great review. Yes, you are right, we are one of a kind! We are not for everybody – far from mainstream or your typical resort, but the Latitude 10 Experience is special. We are excited to connect with guests like you who know to value the different and unique experience. We will continue to get better every day and hopefully provide many more unforgettable experiences for our guests at Santa Teresa Beach. We hope to have you back at Latitude 10 soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We just returned from an amazing stay in Costa Rica. Latitude 10 was one of the resorts we visited. The hotel and grounds are amazing and beautiful but the staff is what makes this an incredible place to visit. All of the staff are very nice. Maricela is the best. She is so kind and knowledgeable about the resort as well as available day trips. She goes out of her way to make sure your stay is a great one. Ivette makes sure that your meals are delicious. There was another young man doing an internship who was also terrific. (Sorry, I'm not good with names). We enjoyed our time with you a great deal and will refer you without hesitation. Thanks for a memorable time!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jharcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

No service or apparent manager of this hotel which has been taken over by the next door hotel which we only found out on arrival. It is neither luxurious or elegant and rooms are gloomy with minimal views of the ocean. Drinks, massage and dining are all encouraged at the hotel next door which is no surprise as they now own Latitude 10. They really need to pick up their game and for the price they charge it is very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latitude10, General Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Dear Alexandl,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Latitude 10. We are sorry to hear that we have not completely fulfilled your expectations. This is quite unusual as almost all of our guests really like the exclusive luxury experience at Latitude 10. But of course we are very open to your feedback and will make sure that we improve in the areas you mentioned. We would just like to make sure that there is no misunderstanding on the hotel next door. We were not taken over by another hotel and offer our own services at Latitude 10. Maybe your disappointment with your stay might have also to do with the fact that we did not allow your 20 friends to enter the hotel premises one day. The exclusive feel of Latitude 10 is very important for us and our guests. Maybe we were not clear enough in the moment of your reservation confirmation. We are sorry about that, but we are very confident that we currently deliver the service and room experience that matches our rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

My girlfriend and I arrived at Latitude 10 after a seven hour drive from the Monte Verde area. I can not think of a better place to land for pure relaxation. The property is magnificent, small, personable and private. The website does not do Latitude 10 justice. I wasn't sure what to expect but when we were shown to our Junior Suite I was stunned by the unique setting and thrilled to know this would be our home for the remainder of our trip. We had dinner prepared by the chef at Latitude every night. The fish dishes were the best and the tuna and sea bass were so fresh I will be forever spoiled. The staff were extremely kind and responsive to every request we had all the while managing to create an experience as if this was our private home. We had massages next door at the Flora Blanca (a quick 10 minute walk) and they were tremendous. We also rented an ATV for a day trip to Montezuma. This was VERY fun and quite the adventure. Our last day came quick and it was very hard to leave however our drive back to San Jose was shorter as we caught a ferry at Paquero (2 hour drive from Latitude) and enjoy a nice boat ride across the water.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel is simply out of this world, the houses are great outdoor baths incredible, in general all over the place makes a wonderful combination to relax and enjoy.
It's like being in a tropical paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £234 - £723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Latitude 10 is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing