We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a small family style community.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Luxury in a small family style community.”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I came here for three nights after being in the country for 8 days. It was PERFECT! Just what we needed at that time. We were greeted with a juice and a tour of the grounds. There are only five, wide open, casitas. The great thing is you can't tell where they're at because of the gorgeous vegetation. We spent the next three days with the iguanas, monkeys, beach and a private chef.
We met some great people there and had a small community dinner with wine and skinny dipping ( okay clothes we're on).
The chef didn't speak English at all, but still managed to teach is to make tortillas and fried plantains. She was the BEST chef we experienced in our two weeks in Costa Rica.
This place was a dream.

A few things that were not perfect; we had to put all toilet paper in a trash can, the monkeys were super loud one night and made that hard to sleep. It was a ten to fifteen minute walk to a swimable beach. But if you ask me this was a true jungle luxury experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
138
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you want luxury on the beach this is your place. The staff is helpful but not intrusive. The casitas are beautiful and clean.And the beds are super compfy. They give the feeling of being in the jungle wtihout camping. Bathrooms within each casita are outdoors but very private. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are amazing there. Sitting by or in the pool watching nature go by is amazing and not to be missed. This is not our first time in Santa Teresa but each time I am reminded what a wonderful and specail place it is. You have to go there and experience Santa Teresa at Latitude 10. Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Costaricanfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I spent a week in Santa Teresa in December and it was marvellous. As there are only 5 villas, you feel more in your private home than in a hotel. The villas are in between the jungle so you hardly see your neighbours and the hotel is right on the beach. At night time you hear the waves and the sound of the jungle, it's amazing!
The staff is so friendly and attended to all our needs, from renting an ATV for us brought directly in the hotel to organising all our activities and having us taste delicious food.
During our stay, we visited other places in Santa Teresa and Latitude 10 was definitly our favorite.
PS the pictures on the website do not reflect how beautiful the hotel is, it is truly amazing in "real life"!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for your great review of Latitude 10 Resort in Santa Teresa. Thanks especially for pointing out that Latitude 10 is NOT a hotel. With only 5 bungalows, we want to make you feel like you are staying with good friends at the beach and we are happy to help you out orienting you and of course cooking for you. If you like to be in a secluded and private place in nature, Latitude 10 is for you. We will do our best to capture the real beauty of the resort during our next photo shoot, but maybe you have some pictures that you might want to share with us. Thanks again,
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left after our 4 day stay, everything at Latitude 10 was perfect. The staff was unbelievable and they were incredibly accomodating. The outdoor bungalow's/outdoor bathrooms intimidated us a bit at first, but we had done some reading prior to our stay so we went in with the appropriate expectations. Even though you're somewhat outdoors, the rooms were always immaculate and somewhat exotic. The smaller facility only has a handful of guests so you are always receiving whatever level of attention you desired. The walk into town is about 1 hour each way on the beach, but they have bikes for rent. We had rented a car so venturing out wasn't an issue for us. We even did some deep sea fishing in neighboring town Montezuma. (arrranged by Latitude at a much cheaper price than we could find on our own) Out of all the places my husband and I stayed in our extended visit to Costa Rica, Latitude 10 was #1 on our list and I would HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaraF459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I chose this place for the second half of our honeymoon. The rooms were spotless even though they are open air. They are cleaned every day. The Staff was helpful, friendly and attentive, yet not overbearing. This is the perfect couples getaway. Bring books and sunblock because the hammocks on the beach are straight out of a movie set.

Room Tip: We spent the little extra for the big cabin on the beach. Well worth it! The private outdoor shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I spent our last 4 nights in Costa Rica at Latitude 10. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Beyond the beauty of the sunsets and beaches, Latitude 10 has a home feel while experiencing the true beauty of Costa Rica. I was concerned about the "open environment" but we had no issues and next time we will stay in one of the casitas. The turn down service and candles creates a comforting setting to end your day. There is something very liberating with showering in nature, to the sound of the howler monkeys overhead. The food is healthy, fresh and delicious and made "especially" for you each day. If you are looking for a place to collect your thoughts and connect with what is truly important, treat yourself to Latitude 10. I booked private yoga sessions with Delores daily, I highly recommend it! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauradr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. You could not have done a better job letting other travelers know what the Latitude 10 Experience is all about. You were the perfect guests for us at Latitude 10 and we hope you come back soon to stay at one of the Mastersuites. Thanks for pointing out the highlights of showering in nature with monkeys overhead and the turndown service. We are happy you enjoyed the freshly prepared food and your yoga sessions. Help us spread the word about Latitude 10. It is not for everybody. But for well travelled, open minded travelers looking for something very special it is indeed “paradise found”. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

If you’re looking for an amazing beachfront property, Latitude 10 is the place to go! Starting from arrival to departure, everything was just so great.

The rooms all have an “open-air” design so during the day it seems like your room doesn’t have walls. But since there are only five suites and are all spread out on the property, you definitely still have your privacy. The bathroom and showers are “outdoors” as well and again, everything is so private that I had no fears about it at all. For turndown service, they close all the blinds and the “folding doors” so it feels like your room has “walls” at night. They light candles around your room so everything feels so cozy and intimate at night.

The property is literally ON the beach. You can see/hear the waves so clearly even from your room and it’s so amazing. My favorite spot was the two hammocks they have tied between two trees right on the beach. What could be better than sipping a drink while rocking in a hammock while looking out into the ocean, right?! It’s so beautiful there it was a bit unreal. Definitely be on the beach at around 5 pm to watch the sunset. It’s so beautiful.
The Clubhouse and pool are great as well. The staff members were all so friendly and the food was great. Definitely try Yvette’s (the chef) French toast in the morning. That was definitely my favorite, but the omelet was really good as well!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
2.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Property: Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Latitude 10 is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing