We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. If you want a feel of how real Costa Ricans live but keep it on the fancier side, this is your place. I've stayed deep in the jungle with some Ticos and while this place is much fancier than that, it still has the feel of that experience with open air bathroom, not fully enclosed rooms (no window panes, walls don't go all the way to the ceiling) and only cool water showers. This is also an Eco conscious hotel. No chemicals in the pool and they encourage beach cleanup (the beaches are magnificent here and very sparse with people).

There are many monkeys that hang around in the trees here too.

I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. They are all super wonderful. Super super wonderful. Very gay friendly, as are a lot of places in Costa Rica even if they are not strictly gay.

This is a very romantic and relaxing getaway hotel. Just be aware that it is not a very American style place. You're going to get a more Tico style experience without roughing it too much.

I hope you have as much enjoyment of this place as we did.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Whooguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Whooguy,
greetings from Santa Teresa. Thank you for sharing your recent vacation experience at Latitude 10. We are convinced it will be very helpful for other travelers that are planning to visit the area. We appreciate your positive comments about our staff and the overall experience. There is no doubt that the guest room experience at Latitude 10 is very different from any other place that you might have visited. Showering outside with monkey's looking down on you from the trees is a unique and unforgettable experience (oh, by the way, our apologies, we do have hot water in the showers, just that the solar heating system was not working correctly during your stay). The openness of the suites might not be a fit for everybody, but if you want to trade in concrete wall and air conditioning for a few nights of "Glamping" (Glamorous Camping) listening to the sounds of nature and the Ocean, don't wait any longer. Latitude 10 is your dream come true. We were happy to hear that you felt the "Tico" vibe. As part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges, we have the policy to work with a 100% local workforce (among other things). Thanks again and we hope to have you back with us real soon. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

While it is a trek to get to Latitude 10, it is definitely worth it! This is one beautiful, romantic resort that has the kindest staff ever. Latitude 10 has only 5 bungalows and therefore when full may have up to 15 guests. As a result the staff provide very personalized service. The resort is located on a beautiful beach, which you can see from their pool and from the clubhouse where meals are served.
Their beach has hammocks and some chairs and is a great place to watch the sunset. The rocks and current there make it not a spot to swim. But you can easily walk to other beaches where you can swim. Frankly I enjoyed the pool as much as I did the ocean---though it is beautiful to see the Pacific Ocean in all its powerful majesty.
Breakfast is included in the daily rate and there are wonderful choices and excellent coffee. The other meals are available for a charge as are drinks, alcoholic and not. Dinner is very romantic, by candlelight. All the food is very fresh and is cooked in front of you if you sit at the bar. The chef will give you tastes of special items as a sort of free appetizer. Also one night the chef made a meal to order as per my husband's request. However, the lunch and dinner choices are the same each day. My husband, however, ate the chicken quesadillas 3 days in a row---he liked them that much.
The bungalows are nestled in the jungle or overlooking the ocean. Our bungalow had a very comfortable queen sized bed surrounded by a filmy mosquito net and backed by a lovely iron screen. Our bathroom was open air and had a double shower. The water is solar heated and it was lukewarm---which was fine since it was often quite warm out. The bungalows have no windows and there is a ceiling fan. We were given a floor fan---magically since we didn't mention we needed it!
At night the mosquito net is drawn down, the shades closed and candles and incense are lit in your bungalow---very romantic!
The property is pretty much untouched jungle. Howler monkeys started howling one night at 4AM and there are raccoons who may disturb your bungalow if you bring food in to it. We also saw iguanas, squirrels and a tiger heron that hangs out by the pool.
The staff were all amazing---friendly and sweet. They will do whatever they can to make your stay wonderful!
You can pay to have laundry done--- my husband's was returned the same day in a lovely basket.
To get to Santa Teresa town you can ride a bike ( no charge) or go by taxi or you can rent an ATV or car ( in town). The road is unpaved part of the way and very dusty due to a lack of rain. We should have rented a car which would have alt he area.lowed us to explore more of the area.

Room Tip: I only saw our bungalow---I think the bigger ones are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LPE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We liked Santa Teresa & we loved Latitude 10... The resort was by far the most beautiful, well appointed place that we stayed in Costa Rica. It incorporated Balinese themes in the furnishings. The room (freestanding eco cabins) was spacious and luxurious, yet rustic/open air--which I love, so that you can fully enjoy the sounds of the jungle and the beach. The outdoor bathroom/shower was huge and wonderful too. The setting on the beach is beautiful & the pool was warm & great for swimming. The resort only accommodates a small number of people, which I really like as I dislike the big hotel experience. The service was great--everyone was very helpful and attentive without being fawning & fake, which is the case at most high end places. There were some unforgettable touches such as the lighting of candles during turn down service. Also, little things like sunscreen set out by the pool. The overall vibe was intimate, relaxing, laid back yet very attentive. Hector was helping us while we were there mostly and he was wonderful. The beach at Santa Teresa is gorgeous; however, parts of it are not that swimmable between rocks & the currents. My husband was very keen on staying adjacent to an easily swimmable beach. I was told Montezuma was more swimmable but it was a huge mistake to have gone there. the hotel was horrible compared to latitude 10 & the beach was way worse--dirty & also not swimmable. We regretted leaving & missed latitude 10 a lot! Also, i'm happy i chose latitude 10 over florablanca, which i believe is more expensive/bigger. (they're next to each other i understand.) One note is that Santa Teresa is quite large & latitude is on the far edge which means taking taxis/driving to get to most other places. Some people rent the ATVs to get around on the rough roads. Also, we came in July & did not have issues with the rain only very light showers-that was one of my bigger concerns which wound up being a non-issue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neenzfabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear neenzfabulous,
thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your experience at Latitude 10 Resort. We are excited to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the rustic, yet elegant experience in the rainforest right in front of the Santa Teresa beach. We agree with you that the outside shower is one of the greatest features of a stay with us. This might also be the reason why so many honeymooners stay with us. The Latitude 10 Experience is as removed from a big hotel or resort experience as you could imagine. We want to make our guests feel special, provide personalized attention and in away make you feel as you were staying with friends in their beachhouse. The only difference is that we will give you the service and attention that you are used to from luxury hotels. We hope that your review will inspire many others to visit us here in Santa Teresa or another Cayuga Collection Hotel or Lodge in Costa Rica. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a perfect place for a relaxing vacation! We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and can't thank enough the hotel staff Jose Pablo, Nacho, Mario for making our stay so pleasant. The food was great! my daughter LOVED Jose Pablo and Nacho's pinas coladas. :) The room was perfect and it was always clean. The sound of the sea while falling asleep is priceless! This is a unique place surrounded by nature and right next to the beach! A place you can call Paradise!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrimu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We embraced everything Latitude 10 had to offer. We stayed for 2 days and never left the hotel/grounds. When we arrived, someone was waiting for us and knew our names. There was no "check in" process which was really a nice touch. The room was rustic, but in a romantic/luxurious way. After spending time in Tamarindo, this is exactly what we wanted. The staff was BEYOND friendly and accommodating- Hector was awesome. The food was delicious (breakfast/dinner), the pool was wonderful, the beach, turn down service with candles, heart-shaped flower in bathroom, etc. We also got massages there, which were awesome- ocean breeze, birds, great masseuses. Latitude 10 may not be for everyone, but I must say we were so satisfied we can't say enough great words still! Thanks for such an amazing experience!

***Just a note: The drive to Santa Teresa from Tamarindo is a CRAZY drive, 5-6 hours of bumpy, rocky, no signs, rivers, no one around. However, totally worth it, but maybe better to fly then drive from Tamarindo. What an adventure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of a tour of Costa Rica. It lived up to our high expectations!
Food and service were truly excellent.

Most mornings we went surfing soon after the sun came up and then walked back along the expansive Santa Theresa beach to a breakfast of freshly picked tropical fruits. It's a great spot for a romantic getaway. Very good for independent travellers in need of some tranquillity and relaxation with only the sounds from the tropical trees and vegetation all around - and of course the Pacific surf just a few yards away.

Getting there is not for the feint hearted because the long bumpy road out to Latitude 10 is dusty/muddy in many places.

All the staff are genuinely friendly and great company.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCuttery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Cuttery,
greetings from the secluded Santa Teresa Beach and Latitude 10. Yes, you are right, it takes the right kind of person to come to visit us. You might take a flight with a small plane, a ferry across the gulf or a car ride on a bumby road. But as we read the recent reviews (including yours) it is very clear that everybody that came, agrees that it is well worth the effort. Maybe it is even a way to make sure that the crowds stay out and that it stays such a special place. By the way, our reservations department is happy to help you find the best and most comfortable way for you to come here.
Thank you for writing such a great review about your experience of surfing, eating the freshest tropical fruit and the nice connections you were able to make with our staff. Latitude 10 is the perfect place to relax, spend some great time with a loved one and reconnect with your natural rhythm in nature. We hope to have you come back soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at latitude 10 for 9 days on our honeymoon and we have to say it was perfect. The room was beautiful, the food was superb, and the staff was so kind, thoughtful, and in a way loving like a family.

The staff for us was the best part the manage, Jose Pablo, was very nice and genuine we we're able to get to know him more and he took is out fishing, twice! Now I have been to many hotels but not many where the manager and his staff will take you out. He is more like a friend than just a member of staff and that's how all of the staff members became. They will help you book and plan all of your adventures which is so helpful because We thought we knew what we wanted to do but we had no clue once we were there. They will also help you with food choices around the area (ask nacho he has good recommendations)

Latitude 10 is a diamond in the rough of Santa Teresa the beaches are beautiful,the people are great, and the atmosphere is so peaceful. We cannot want to go back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katiewiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
342 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £186 - £737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Latitude 10 is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing