We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Horizon Yoga Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved the Horizon Yoga Hotel!”
Reviewed 22 January 2008

The Horizon Yoga Hotel was amazing! The rooms were very clean and the views were breathtaking. We had a cabina next to the reception area (I can't remember the number, I think it was #1) and the view was truely amazing. We could lay in bed and see the ocean at our feet. The window in the bathroom is positioned so that you can see the ocean while showering too. I highly recommend the massage that the hotel arranges. The massage gazebo is tucked next to the pool overlooking the ocean and really needs to be experienced to be appreciated. We loved that there was always a breeze at Horizon and we kept our windows open day and night and didn't need the A/C. Although it was nice to have that option. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. There are many statues and garden art that really add to the landscape. The Yoga studio is the nicest I've seen. You really can't beat that view! The walk to the beach was down a steep hill, but the benefit of the breeze by being on the hill was worth the climb. We loved this area and hope to go back soon. Stop by the Howling Monkey for good drinks and a cool crowd. They just opened in December 2007 and the owners Kevin and Rich were super cool. We also enjoyed the sushi restaurant just around the corner from the Howling Monkey in the new shopping center. Fresh and Yummy.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing...well there was a dog barking at a nearby house in the morning, but we liked getting up early anyone and it wasn't the hotels fault
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aeblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
211
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2007

Horizon is a fantastic place to stay. The individual cabinas are clean, functional and the perfect blend of Costa Rican design and North American amenities. It is clear that a lot of thought has gone into everything about this hotel.

Horizon is close to everything you need in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa - the beach, grocery stores (each cabina has a kitchen), bank machine, surf shops and ATV rentals. Willy's ATV place just below Horizons is excellent. Getting to the hotel is a bit of a workout but climbing the hill (and then the many stairs) is a fun daily challenge.

The outdoor, roof-top yoga studio is beautiful with its panoramic view of the ocean. It's beauty is enhanced by the excellence of the yoga instructors who offer a range of 1-1/2 sessions for only $10.

Food at the Tea House is delicious, homemade and organic. Horizons is a perfect place for mind, body and soul.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank RavingMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Massachussetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2007

The Horizon was gorgeous and more than accommodating. When we arrived, we were blown away by the beauty of the bungalows and the incredible view. Our bungalow was immaculate and was cleaned daily by a housekeeper who folded our fresh towels into the shape of kissing swans (she knew it was our honeymoon!) We had all of the privacy and comfort we could ask for, plus a working kitchen and a nice, big shower, plus a porch with a hammock for early morning pleasure reading. We bought a few groceries down the street and used them to make lunch, which we ate at our little porch table overlooking the ocean.
However, as much fun cooking in our little kitchen was, we could not resist the homemade organic food made by the proprietors, a lovely, friendly, helpful couple with a gorgeous little baby that happened to be VERY good cooks! The proprietors also helped us book our day trips, as they are licensed with Zuma Tours, the area's most trusted and helpful agency.
The yoga classes were so beautiful-- I have always been doing yoga but the instructors helped me get to new levels with every session. The rooftop yoga deck was just that inspiring!

  • Liked — It was immaculate and very accomodaing.
  • Disliked — I really have nothing bad to say about it.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DreSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Horizon is a truly lovely getaway in Santa Teresa. Set back and above the main road and beach, the view is incomparably calming. More importantly, the design of the bungalows takes full advantage of the view and offers guests comfortable and superbly clean lodgings. The bungalows are bright, original, and tastefully decorated. Well worth the price.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingtrapeze37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

We went twice to the hotel, the first time in June of 06 and then again with my parents in March 07.

The hotel is very cut, overlooking the ocean. The "cabanas" are simple but very pretty and clean. You can enjoy the view from your own balcony.

The owners are great! The food is simple but freshly prepared, using local products and herb garden. Fresh fruit juices are great in the morning after a good yoga class.
The space for yoga is perfect, on top of the main building, overlooking the ocean too.

2 min from the beach.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivleplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Just got back two days ago and can't say enough great things about this hotel. Rooms were modern, relaxing and clean. So peaceful, and with most amenities - Gali and Yoav have thought of everything from design to function.

The owners and staff are courteous, helpful and respectful of privacy.

The food was delicious, healthy and homemade.

Yoga classes were beautiful in the outdoor studio overlooking the ocean - try a class at sunset.

If you have an aversion to hills, you may consider renting an ATV at Willy's to get up the way to the cabanas. It's steep, but if you like a little excercise it is well suited.

Location is close to everything Santa Teresa/Mal Pais - Playa Carmen for surfing, Casa Zen for movie night, Mal Pais surf camp for some socializing, the bank and the pharmacy. All conveniences are a short walk away.

I would advise anyone who is interested to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank South75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
246 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Property: Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing