We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Horizon did everything right. From the carefully “wrapped in coconut leaves” hand made bars of soap to a super-quiet air-conditioner, it was all there. It’s a Yoga retreat, not a beach bum place in Santa Teresa. This is the place where you use “namaste” instead of high-fifing your buds. It’s quiet, serene, has yoga in its blood and can arrange a mean massage when asked. The food was amazing, with intricate details hidden in small jars of jam and bagels that were fresh out of the oven. Even the toilet roll didn’t just simply have the last few sheets folded over in a small triangle. It had 3 delicate dried leaves press-dried into the paper to hold things in place. The place had a view (we had the cheapest room), a hammock, tables and chairs on the deck and a small kitchen. There really wasn’t anything we could fault it on, except that we wished we’d stayed there longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
211
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

There are insufficient stars to give to my overall experience at Horizon. The physical aspects of our villa were impeccable, the aesthetics of the grounds inspiring, the food delectable, my interactions with Galey,Yoav, and Sol delightful, my yoga session vigorous, my massage relaxing, my 7 a.m. 2-hour horseback along the beach refreshing, and the quiet reading on the porch bed-swing indulgent. Horizon is a spiritual and physical oasis. If one believes that home is where the heart is, then Horizon became my home away from home. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed for 5 nights with a friend and we both loved Horizon. Our room was spotless, we had wonderful food and great yoga with beautiful views of the Pacific. We miss the smoothies, lemonade, and waking up to the howler monkeys. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Horizon was an amazing experience. The villas are absolutely beautiful and fastidiously clean with breathtaking views of the Pacific. The food is fresh, delicious, and presented artistically. The open air yoga studio overlooking the ocean is the perfect space to practice. Even when I changed my plans, I was completely accommodated - well beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdz672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We absolutely loved this place! We were so impressed by everything! Our villa was awesome!! It was very well kept! We couldn't believe how clean everything was especially considering all the trees and stuff around! We were only there for 3 days but I wished I spent the entire week I was in Costa Rica there! We did yoga each morning and the owner/instructor was really good!! The food at the tea house was delicious! I especially enjoyed the power shakes and tuna salad sandwich!! The owners are amazing people and were really nice! They arranged transportation and tours for us and also recommended some great restaurants in the area! Someone had recommened this place to us and it did not disappoint! I totally recommend Horizon if you're staying in Santa Teresa!! I will definetly be visiting again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nullies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Beautiful clean villas, ours had a little private pool. Awesome food at the tea house especially the cookies. The owners/managers took care of everything for us and were so kind. I would love to go back. The yoga was very well done and even as beginners they took care of us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaclachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

no need to second guess here. this place is amazing. private. romantic, clean, friendly, close, views, food. we LOVED it.
and has yoga too ... yum yum.

Room Tip: we stayed in the one bedroom king room. it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Property: Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing