We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

So many positive things to say about Horizon that I don't know where to start.

Location: Perfect location... It is located in the middle of the village. Easy access to everything. Its located up a steep hill away from the main road. The resort elevation is at the perfect height to see the tree lines and the ocean. What was amazing is that one can hear the waves all the way up the hill... Truly amazing...

Resort: What amazed me the most about Horizon was all the details in the landscaping, cabins and restaurant/yoga deck. The whole place comes together in perfect harmony... Stunning landscaping... We even had a humming bird flying outside our cabin feeding on the flowers. The rooms were simple, clean and have everything we needed except paper towels.. The rooms are much nicer than they are in the photos. The hammock outside was awesome... I loved the fact that I could drink my coffee, which the resort provided in our room, just lay on the hammock and watch the amazing view.

Restaurant/Yoga Room/Massage/Pool: The yoga deck is above the restaurant. It has incredible views. The yoga instructors were great, very knowledgeable and played perfect music that flows with the yoga. The little café was below the yoga deck. Very open and all the tables had great views The most delicious shakes and fresh baked cookies. Everything tasted fresh and delicious. The massage room was kind of cool. Great view... I had one massage and the therapist was very professional. The pool was nice but the water was a little bit cold. I am sure it is a bit warmer during the warmer months.

Staff: I really appreciated that Yoav and Gali (owners) went out of their way for us several times, even when we need them after hours. They gave us recommendations to all the great restaurants and general information. The resort had security at night which made it feel very safe. All the help on the grounds were polite and helpful.

Yoav and Gali,
Thank you very much for your hospitality. It was well appreciated. We loved everything that Horizon had to offer. We are going to try to make it back soon with some friends and stay in one of the villas. Thank you again for everything...

Ron and Yolanda

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
209
53
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I highly recommend this spot. It was a beautiful location, very helpful staff and a wonderful restaurant. The staff was also very helpful at helping us choose restaurants and services nearby. I would love to go back there again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAAJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The owners were amazingly helpful when I traveled there alone with my toddler. I was really able to relax and enjoy the yoga classes with their help. The food is amazing...better than the restaurants nearby. The rooms are awesome, and have a great view. I would love to go back again. If only I could live there! What a positive place this is.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacybryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

So I went to horizon again ... taking a 15 hour trip round the world to a place you already have been to should say it all anyway ... but I just had to show this place to my girlfriend...

Well ... she loved it too.

How was it this time? Even better than last time actually ... quality was high as usual, Yoav and Gali take care of their customers with lot's of love ... basically I found my cabin like I left it in 2011:
Clean, cosy, beautiful with a sensational view.

So it was two weeks of great organic food, yoga and surfing.

Single problem was that I discovered their awesome pool only the day I left because I never got out of my cabin/off my porch when I wasn't surfing.

Well, seems like I have one more reason to go there again;)


Nothings changed. Slow life. Just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Horizon is THE best place to stay in Costa Rica! Everything was so perfect, it felt like a dream! Every single detail about the cabin was perfect. You could really see that they thought of everything. You can feel how much love they showered on every single inch of the place. I love the fact that they have a hammock on the balcony. I literally took naps on that hammock every afternoon while listening to the ocean's crashing waves, the howling of the howler monkeys and the chirping of the exotic birds. I loved the hammock so much, I bought it! The food at the tea house was too delicious, I realized how deprived my taste buds are. I tasted flavors that I did not know existed. I took advantage of their yoga class and I gotta say it was THE best yoga class EVER. Imagine doing yoga while facing the ocean, hearing the splashing waves and breathing in the ocean breeze. Definitely beats staring at the boring walls at the gym. We loved Costa Rica so much, we are planning our next trip back. We were thinking of going to a different part of Costa Rica but we were like "Nooooo.. let's just go back to Santa Teresa so that we can stay at Horizon again!" Staying at Horizion is a cosmic experience that words can never fully explain. We love everybody that works here especially the night time security guard who always had a smile on his face everytime we come back from a lovely night out. If you want to stay in a Costa Rican paradise, stay at Horizon. If I could give them 10 stars out of 5, I WOULD. Go ahead and book that room. You'll thank me later.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

It can’t be said enough that this trip immensely exceeded our expectations. I read this, and believed it, but until you experience it you will never truly understand. Every detail, every moment is so well prepared, planned, and perfect that you would be exceptionally hard pressed to repeat this flawlessness.
The truth lies simply in the owner’s (Yoav & Gali) commitment to the guests and their experiences. We never wanted or needed for anything. Every detail exudes immense care and respect for the spectacular landscape that surrounds the resort as well as the people in their care.
We did the Yoga & Surf package. It was exactly what we had hoped for and more. We awoke every morning for a brisk run on the beach, followed by absorbing the lavish landscape of Santa Teresa and listening to the waves roll into shore. Yoga was the next order of business for the day. The practice and instruction at Horizon is deeply embedded in a commitment to care, nourish, and honor the body. The last half of our day was spent with Ben from Nalu Surf Shop. He is an exceptional surf instructor and helped us to hone the skills necessary to come home and surf our location.
We too must admit the food is exceptionally delightful. The teahouse provides the cleanest, freshest offerings we could image. Additionally, the surf and yoga package included reservations/arrangements to eat at a variety of restaurants in town each night. They were all wonderful experiences for our palettes.
We will close, by stating that the accommodations are perfect. We have grown accustomed to a certain level of comfort and Horizon more than delivers. The details in the building and architecture, as well as the decor were exceptionally well thought out and add to the lushness of the experience.
We are hesitant to sell this place too much… the reason is selfish; we want to keep it all to ourselves. However, if it weren’t for those who shared before us we would have never experienced the trip of a lifetime!
The Harpers

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harper804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

First of many many stays we will do at Horizon. Yoav and Gali both are fantastic hosts along with cooks, teachers, friends, helpers and so present with every word. The food is unmatched. The smoothies are unmatched and I learned more than just stuff can go into a smoothie...love does too. As I see this place in my mind I will be back next year and I hope for longer than the 10 fantastic days we all had together. If it's Yoga you want its all over Santa Teresa. But...only the best two are in Horizon so why go anywhere else!!!
Check the surf from the tea house. No where else to go!!!
Thank you Yoav and Gali. Thank you for your help with everything that was asked for!!! Love to you both and your fantastic staff.

Room Tip: The only room I wouldn't stay in is elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinLPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Property: Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing