We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$31
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Cielo(Santa Teresa)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
429
27
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
27
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housetagineprivate poolshakshukacosta ricaorganic foodbedroom villasteep hillevery morningi highly recommend this hotelpiece of paradisesurf lessonsbeautiful placetree housesmall kitchennatural beautygracious hosts
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

For three nights, my party of four stayed in the 2 BR villa with a private pool (not to be confused with the 2 BR villa that shares a pool with another 2 BR villa). We've traveled quite a bit over the decades, and we all concluded that this easily was one of the best accommodations we've ever experienced -- possibly the best. The setting for this particular villa is beautiful, the unit itself is perfect (layout, charm, cleanliness, AC, wi-fi), the private pool is simply devine, and Gali (who was my primary contact) was a wonderful host. We didn't take any meals there, but what I saw (and smelled) in passing was quite tempting.

We've been to Santa Teresa before and stayed within an easy walk to the beach. The Horizon is not an easy walk to the beach (although it's certainly walkable), which is the only downside in my view. That said, we definitely will choose the Horizon when we return to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

we stayed in a 2 bed villa, sharing a pool with another villa. the place is exceptional! there are brilliant views to the ocean from the resort, which is set in pristine gardens and blends perfectly with the surroundings.

the service was great, including the cleaners and porters. the food, made from local produce is super healthy & delicious (particularly the power shakes!). the quality of the accommodation was amazing. air con, great wifi signal, swinging hammock beds, a well stocked kitchen, 2 bathrooms with hot showers ... amazing! it is really difficult to fault this place. it's location is also excellent, just off the main drag, but not too remote. a little bit of occasional road noise, but really not a big deal.

we loved the place and I thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam85London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We only could stay one night at the Horizon, cause it was full before and after. It's defenetly a place to crash in Santa Teresa. Amazing view, very nice comfort in the cabin, peaceful place, and not too expensive (it worth a luxury lodge for half the price).
Perfect for lovers ;)
Only complain : the receptionist offered us some tasty coco biscuits but never mentioned it wasn't free... We ate a bit too much.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marty3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We chose this hotel based on the amazing Trip Advisor reviews--I had never seen a property get ALL 4-5 stars, and was, therefore, admittedly skeptical that there might be a catch...turns out, that the reviews are 100% accurate! This place is amazing!
Pre-trip: I communicated with Yoav (owner with wife, Gali) via email to book a hotel reservation and to arrange transport from the Tambor airport to the hotel. He was fast in responding and easily booked everything. (We took a 45 min taxi ride to the hotel from the airport--the taxi driver was waiting for us--perfect)

Day of arrival: We arrived before our room was available, but enjoyed an awesome lunch on the deck with a great view to the Pacific.

Our room: We rented a 1-bedroom villa. The accommodation was great--2 floors with a small kitchen and half bath downstairs, full bath and sleeping (2 queen beds) upstairs, air conditioning, 2 decks with hammocks and an outdoor shower. We shared a pool with the adjoining villa. The 3 available villas (2 1-bedroom, 1 2-bedroom) are all farther down the hill than the cabins, so not quite as good a view to the Pacific. For us it didn't matter because we spent most of the day out, but if you are one to hang out at the hotel, then you might consider a room up the hill for the view. The room was extremely clean, the beds were comfortable, and the air conditioning good at night.

Food: Is available on site for breakfast and lunch. My husband is a carnivore, so I "forgot" to tell him when I booked the reservation that this place was vegetarian only...shouldn't have worried, since everything we ate there was fresh and delicious! We particularly loved the peanut butter smoothie Yoav whipped up for us every morning...YUM.

Staff: Kudos to Yoav and Gali--they could not have been more gracious hosts. They were able to accommodate anything we requested, which included a long list: reservations for a fishing trip, Ziplining and surfing (including arranging the taxis), recommendations and reservations for restaurants, daily yoga classes....they kept a tab for our entire stay, not requesting a dime until we checked out. We also really enjoyed the gal who served us in the restaurant most days (Meli?)--very pleasant and fun. Though we didnt have much interaction with rest of the staff, they do a great job of keeping the place well manicured and spotless.

Yoga: We are in mourning when we go to yoga here now...we miss the unbelievable view of the studio that looked out into the Pacific! We are beginners and felt completely comfortable in a class of varied levels. Oh...and I would be remiss if I didn't say that my husband also misses the hot instructors (not Yoav--the women!)--somehow it seems unfair to be that attractive and flexible--not sure which view he enjoyed more! : )

Overall: One of the best vacations we have enjoyed...would 100% recommend this place to anyone!
Santa Teresa/Mal Pais in general: extremely charming, friendly, reasonably priced, safe with stunning sunsets and beaches! we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

...at Horizon Yoga Hotel in the Pacific little beach town of Santa Teresa on the lush Nicoyan peninsula of Costa Rica. I visited Horizon for the first time in 2010, and from the moment of my departure, I knew that someday I would return. Finally in January of 2014 I was able to travel there again, and as before, I received a warm-hearted welcome from each person who helps to make Horizon a very special place. Yoav and Gali have, in a labor of love, created not only a beautiful, inviting space but a also an atmosphere of restorative energy.

The Horizon experience is satisfying in every way:
*The accommodations themselves put you in touch with nature and its harmony. Spaces are soothing, comfortable and extremely clean.
*The food is organic, fresh, expertly-prepared, and oh-so-delicious. You will want to eat slowly and savor every bite.
*Yoga classes in the open-air studio high above the treetops overlooking the ocean offer both transformative practices and stunning views.
*The walk to the beach is a short one--a few yards down the main street of the small town to the tree-lined path that leads you to some of the most enchanting tropical waters you can ever hope to find.
*Yoav and Gali are genuinely helpful to answer any question you have or provide any assistance you need in the most thorough manner in a spirit of sincerity and generosity.

At Horizon one is nourished in body, mind, and spirit. Good energy abounds. A great awareness of vitality and renewal awakens within. Consider yourself fortunate if in your lifetime you are able to have the Horizon experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njoynlif13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews