We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This IS the place to go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Haymarket, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This IS the place to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Villas Hermosas is exactly what we wanted. Originally hearing about it from a co-worker, and looking at the good reviews here, we decided to book the trip to celebrate being married for four years.

IT. WAS. AWESOME.

We stayed seven days in the honeymoon suite. Not only is the beach literally only a stone throw away, but the accommodations are fantastic. It's very clear that Brad and Tara (owners) go great lengths to ensure customers are satisfied.

It is a remote location (which is great) so be ready to travel a few minutes to get dinner, etc.

As a foodie, I can say that I didn't have a bad meal the entire time. It is all local places, so you know they are going to take care of you.

Make SURE to take advantage of Brad's ATV tour - I hear he only does it about once a week, so ask when you first get there when he plans on doing it. You won't regret it.

Thanks again for a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room. The honeymoon suite is the closest to the beach, but is the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
128
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We had a fantastic time at Villas Hermosas. Brad and Tara are such amazing hosts. They make you feel right at home during the whole trip. It's as if you hired some friends who are experts in the regional activities to consult with daily. All of their recommendations were spot on. The accommodations are very classy without compromise:

Take Brad's ATV tour, so much fun!

Here is a video montage from our trip, enjoy... https://vimeo.com/49982658

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinSThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoy, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Villas Hermosas is the perfect place for your stay in Santa Teresa.
The Villas are right on the beach and on the best spot.
Villas are very comfortable and everything is available for your convenience (barbecue, rancho, TV, DVD, volley ball,...)
Staff is very professionnal and is always looking for your happiness.
The pool is great for kids (and not only for kids...) and the garden is just amazing.
Brad and Tara will make sure you'll have a wonderful stay and are always available.
Just enjoy !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank virgile91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

After seeing glowing reviews of the Villas Hermosas, I planned the absolutely most perfect getaway. The cabin on the beach was divine, the appointments impecable; it was spacious, had ample storage, a comfortable bed beautifully dressed with a diaphanous canopy, equipped with a hammock on the porch - and views of the surf right out the front door that are priceless. Pictures don't do this lovely place justice...

With surfing right out the front door, and snorkeling in a tide pool down the beach a bit, there was something for everyone.

The first morning I awoke to notice a troupe of howler monkeys high above making its way through the trees. The complimentary breakfast served by the well maintained pool was prepared to perfection, and served with a smile.

The owner, was helpful in booking special events and outings, and recommending some fine restaurants.

What a stellar place this was to visit!

Room Tip: There are only 4 cabins - none would be a poor choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hiddenheavenfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

My husband planned the perfect Costa Rican getaway for our family. But he couldn't have done it without all of the advice received from Tara & Brad during our planning phase. With their recommendations, we arrived in San Jose where we stayed at a wonderful recommended hotel; arranged a private charter flight on a recommended airline into Tambor; where our rental car was waiting for us for out trek to Santa Theresa. The accommodations, grounds, staff & beach access at Villas Hermosas are unmatched. My husband the morning person enjoyed his solitary walks on the beach each morning, often seeing only one other person on his 2 mile walk down the beach; while I enjoyed sleeping in, and meeting him with the kids at breakfast later in the morning. Be sure to get to know the staff. Everyone has their own interesting story about what brought them to Santa Theresa, and their own insight into the area.

We took full advantage of the easy beach access while there, enjoying the surf at Playa Hermosa, the great snorkeling at the large tidal pool, and the sunsets that are beyond words. It was great having snorkle gear, beach chairs & umbrella, and other beach gear available for our use during our stay. There are also some FABULOUS restaurants, believe it or not. Just a 200 yard walk down the beach in either direction, and you are at 2 of the best restaurants you may ever go to. Koji's will rival any Japanese place you have ever been to. And Pranamar has some great fresh, local fish & produce used in their inventive dishes.

Another highlight was Brad's ATV tour. Our 17 year old son had a blast running the ATV on the beach. Our kids also had a great time at the pool with Brad & Tara's kids. As well as our dog...uh, I mean, their dog, Reef. Our dog-loving' daughter loved waking up to Reef on our front porch, swimming with him in the ocean, and having him as a companion during our stay. Boy, talk about a dog's life!

We were all sad to have to leave. Our 13 year old daughter is already making plans to move there after college. I hope Brad & Tara still will still need a Nanny!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I travelled with our two teenage children. After spending four nights in the town of Santa Teresa and participating in many activities, we spent four relaxing days/nights at Villas Hermosas. We had visited the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve the previous day and spent an hour and a half watching for wildlife, when we spotted howler monkeys in the distance. After checking into Villas Hermosas, we decided to take a dip in the pool only to look up and see howler monkeys in a tree near the pool! The next morning after our wonderful breakfast, a group of howlers were feeding in a tree beside the sand badmitton court while we played. One day, Tara arranged for a nearby fishing excursion for the guys (yielding mackerel, blackfin tuna, and the much anticipated...roosterfish) and a massage & pedicure for the girls in our villa. Most of our time, however, was spent walking along the beautiful beach, gathering shells and swimming. It was one of the most peaceful, unplugged family experiences one could imagine. Everyone we came in contact with at Villas Hermosas was helpful and friendly. After reading many reviews, it's hard to summarize the experience other that to say, "Stay here and create lifelong memories!".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsaver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Once we get a little sand in our shorts, we're pretty cranky. When we've got sand in our shorts, we got no tolerance for crowds, heat, cold, allergens, our own children, cars, traffic, stairs, religious fanatics, elevators, TV, escalators, anyone else's music choices, hotel lobbies, sushi, sharp sticks, or sunburn. That's what makes Villas Hermosas magic: When you get sand in your shorts at the beach at Villas Hermosas, you need endure very, very few additional irritations before you reach your villa and your shower and get that first problem cleared up. VH offers many bonuses: verdant botanical plantings, meticulous maintenance and cleaning, personal attention, a somewhat loyal dog who tags along on beach outings but might abandon you upon finding another guest at the seaside, exhaustive concierge services from relentlessly cheerful owners, and nighttime rains that fail to sully the sunny days. Would we go back? Honestly, we just don't like beaches all that much. Let's say we're abundantly joyful that we spent our one beach vacation of this lifetime at Villas Hermosas, and if we ever find ourselves at a beach again, we hope it's because we're once again at Villas Hermosas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank civilact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Property: Villas Hermosas
Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | Playa Hermosa de Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing