We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peacefull” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peacefull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

I have to say that the Villas look much better in person than in pictures. The swimming pool is beautiful and one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica is right in front of the hotel. They have breakfast, but don't have restaurant, the good part of this is that you get to go to the delicious restaurants in town or you can order from some local restaurant and dine in the rancho or at the villa. It is a very quite place, so if you are looking for party, it would be a good idea to come with a group.
We came with our teenage daughters and they did not complaint at all. We will come back for sure.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cahuitacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
128
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I would recommend the Villas Hermosas to anyone, and can't wait to stay with Brad and Tara again! Our first trip to Costa Rica was amazing due in no small part to the hospitality of the proprietors of this amazing vacation spot. Endless, uncrowded beaches (literally steps from the front door of your own villa), adventure excursions (don't miss Brad's ATV tour), surfing and - bonus - Villas Hermosas is across the "street" from the greatest little sushi spot in Santa Teresa (trust me). We spent four nights at the Villas, and easily could have stayed so, so much longer. If you are headed anywhere on the Nicoya peninsula, stay here. Period. (And give Reef a scratch behind the ear for us.) My only regret about writing this review is that I am back home. Until next time...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We spent six wonderful nights in the Villas 'honeymoon' cottage celebrating our 30th anniversary in mid December. Wonderful time on the beach, exploring the countryside on the ATV (our 'rental car') and dining on amazing food. Tara and Brad were wonderful hosts, and made everything work well on our itinerary. They strike just the right balance of hospitality -- they are there when you need them or want them, and they let you set your own tone for your stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

After reading all the excellent reviews, we finally booked our trip to VH for my wife and I to reconnect after spending a year apart in Afghanistan. We poured over the different options to get to VH and decided that we would save the money of renting a car and booked a flight via Nature Air to Tambor. We arrived in the evening to SJO, gathered our luggage and caught the shuttle bus to the Hampton Inn near the airport. The next morning we caught a taxi ($28.00) to San Jose Pavis airport (different airport) to catch our Nature Air flight to Tambor. (We were limited to 40lbs each plus 10lbs for carry on) The flight to Tambor was exciting and a great way to start our adventure. Upon landing at Tambor, Tara arranged for a taxi ($50) to transport us to VH. ($2.25 airport tax per person upon landing) The reviews on the roads are correct, so I left the driving to someone else and enjoyed the scenery. After reading all the great reviews, we finally got to see what everyone was talking about....it was absolutely beautiful. Brad meant us and carried our bags to our villa. The villas are much larger than I thought and exceeded our expectations. The grounds of VH are beautiful and full of tropical plants and flowers. The beach is just a short walk from the villa and you feel like you walked into a post card. It has the best of both with a rocky landscape with tidal pools full of life and a long sandy beach for walking. We woke early one morning and enjoyed a private walk along the beach with "Reef the dog" as our guide, seeing a small sting ray, small lobster, octopus and sea urchins. We keep waiting for the "Black Pearl" from the Pirates of the Caribbean to round the corner as you felt like you were a cast away on a beautiful secluded island.

We decided to rent an ATV instead of a car as the insurance on the car rental almost doubled the cost and we found this the best option for us. What a great way to experience CR and the surrounding sites via ATV. The nearby town is just a short ride full of great restaurants, bars and interesting sites. Our first day was just relaxing around the pool/ocean followed by a wonderful sunset dinner at Brisas del Mar. On our second full day we decided to do the zip line and waterfall tour with the couple in the next villa. We jumped on the ATV and headed for Montezuma, an fun adventure in itself. The zip line tour was great and mid-way thru the tour you stop at a swimming hole above the waterfall to swim. This is where my dream vacation was cut short as I broke my leg on the rope swing jumping into the water. It was my fault as I swung to close to the edge and hit my leg on a rock under the water. Vacation over, new adventure starts!

Let me just say that braking your leg in CR is not ideal. But we had the help of some amazing people on the zip line tour, V & J from the villa next door and locals who drove us in their car to a medical clinic and then back to VH. They even lent us their cell phone to call Brad & Tara. Local medical care is limited and without an x-ray machine the decision was made that I needed to get to San Jose. While I was en-route to VH to gather our belongings, Tara and Brad made arrangements for us to get San Jose and seek medical attention. Within 45 min of arriving back at VH, a taxi was waiting for us to drive us to the ferry and another taxi (friend of Brads) drove us directly to the hospital.

Long story short, I had surgery in CR. (FYI not all medical insurance is accepted there)Generally you pay first, and then submit to your insurance later. We got wonderful care and physicians in CR and meet some truly amazing people along the way. We went for an adventure and that’s exactly what we got. Plans change sometimes and you have to roll with it. We went to reconnect and we did. Our time in CR and VH was cut short, but Brad & Tara and the people of CR have a genuine heart and kind spirit. Our taxi driver stayed 2 hours at the hospital with us and made sure my wife was settled as I headed into surgery. He is our newest friend on Facebook. We learned allot more than we lost in our short time at VH. It opened our eyes to our surroundings, the people and the beauty of CR! We will return? ABSOLUTELY....I missed Brads ATV tour.....

Things I would recommend.

1. Forget the rental car....fly to Tambor.
2. Rent ATV for transportation. Must be 16 to drive (bring goggles & bandanas for dusty roads) Tara had ours waiting upon arrival.
3. Beach walk early morning with Reef the dog/Stars at night are amazing.
4. Small US dollars $20 most common. No need to exchange.
5. Sunset dinner at Brisas del Mar. Great food.
6. Water shoes for walking around tidal pools.
7. No need for fancy clothes, bring several swim suits/sunglasses.

Villas Hermosas is a private secluded getaway; there are no crowds, no lines, and no running to the beach to get your beach chair & umbrella before there gone. It’s the kind of place if you left your camera at the pool it would still be there later. You will meet some amazing people, make new friendships and discover a truly hidden paradise. CR is awesome and VH is an amazing & beautiful place to have an adventure...broken leg and all!!!

Thank You Brad & Tara for all your help. See you next time!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

My hubby and I have been home for a week now, and I've been putting off writing this because it means that our trip is really over! We had an absolutely perfect time. We chose Villas Hermosas for our honeymoon solely based on reviews like this one on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed! Listen to your peers!
I'll admit that it was quite the journey getting there, but it was well worth it once we arrived. We flew into San Jose, stayed the night and then took a small plane into Tambor the next morning. The flight was only 25 minutes & really beautiful. This was a little expensive, but well worth it (another couple at the hotel said that it took them almost 7 hrs by rental car!). Tara had a taxi meet us at our plane & 45 minutes later we arrived in paradise!
We stayed in one of the pool-side villas which was really nice. There was a ton of space, the bed was really comfortable and we both had our own bathroom (bonus!). We rented an ATV to share for all 8 days that we were there, and we're so glad we did! Taking "our ride" into town and exploring some if the back roads was one of our favorite parts of our trip! You get filthy dirty though, so girly-girls beware! I'd also recommend some big sunglasses and a bandana for your face. But it really is so much fun.
We did the waterfall zip-line tour- really fun and worth doing. Also, rent a surf board or boogie board from the office and give the waves a try! It's the first thing people will ask if you tried when you get home, so be able to tell them yes! And of course, Brad's ATV tour is as great as everyone says - it was kind of like a booze-cruise on quads! So much fun.
This really was a perfect vacation. We wanted to get away from the really touristy parts of Costa Rica and experience more of the culture. That's exactly what we got from Santa Teresa. If you're looking for a beautiful and comfortable place with a laid-back vibe, this is right up your alley. It's a plus if you like kids and dogs, which we happen to adore! Brad, Tara, their kids and their amazing staff (we miss you, Kristi!) really made our whole experience wonderful. We can't wait to go back with our future kids someday!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennySueWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Have recently returned from a 5 night stay at VH and our first time to Costa Rica, and we speak basically no Spanish. In summary I would go back in a second, it was a great time and experience. Other reviews have accurately captured the details of this restful place. There are 4 Villas, 3 in tropical growth at the far end from the beach, next to the very nice pool/rancho area, and one that is closer to the beach. Nothing is far from the beach or pool so it really does not matter which villa you get. You begin your day with a good breakfast of fruit and pancakes/French toast/eggs. There is plenty of coffee and OJ. Then you decide what you would like to do; beach, pool, ATV tour, or explore around the area… it’s all good. We did the 5-6 hour ATV tour (lead by Brad one of the owners), never having done one before and had a great time seeing sights we’d never have experienced on our own. Beach time was unbelievable with warm water, and a long empty beach (like 25 people total, mostly surfers). Plenty of gear for rent and towels are supplied. This is your reward for the dusty/bumpy journey to VH and it is worth every bump (however we did decided to fly back to SJ from Tambor, but the shuttle from SJ to VH was also well worth it). The beach has a very gentle slope so you can walk out a long ways before it gets deep. The best beach is slightly to the right of the villas, about a 3 minute walk. When your day is over you gather under the trees and watch the sunset, we made all 5 with drinks in hand, and it was fantastic. After sunset it is off to dinner at one of many great restaurants in Santa Teresa. You can put your trust in Tara to make excellent recommendations and sort out the logistics of any request you might have (like last minute surf lessons). It was really great to make an inquiry and know that she would make it happen. Have her set up a private chef ahead of time to come to your Villa! Finally I’ll mention the Villas themselves are first rate (clean, comfortable, roomy and cool) considering where you are. You get to live in relative luxury yet experience the full spectrum of the local lifestyle when you are off property, it so beats staying in the artificial surroundings and “shelter” of a large resort. The animal life and sounds are everywhere, but the one we miss the most is their dog Reef, he’ll be your friend every single time you go to the beach. Oh I wish I was there now.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Endless beaches, gorgeous tropical landscaping, delicious fresh fruit, locally-caught fish, amusingly-challenging roads to explore, spectacular sunsets, fascinating birds and jungle inhabitants, an overwhelming sense of serenity, interesting acquaintances and new friends who have enriched our lives—memories forever of our five-night stay at Villas Hermosas!! We so admire Tara & Brad for realizing their vision of paradise on an uninhabited stretch of Pacific coastline at Mal Pais and feel fortunate to have discovered it via Trip Advisor! From the initial planning stage through to hosting our stay, Tara and Brad's enthusiasm and hospitable nature made for an effortless, totally awesome holiday. Communication from Villas Hermosas was excellent, with no questions too frivolous for them to answer and suggestions offered along the way to allow us to experience our perfect vacation.

Mal Pais area itself is relatively undiscovered from the tourist point of view. The vistas are magnificent and beach exceptionally peaceful and clean. There is a superb area for surfers a very short distance from the villas and, although we didn’t attempt this adventure, it has been rumoured that Brad is an excellent instructor!

The three pool-view villas overlook the pool and rancho, although with the lush foliage and the way they are positioned, each villa feels private and secluded, enabling complete tranquility while relaxing in the hammock, sitting outside the villa with a book or trying to capture photos of visiting wildlife. If socializing is more your preference, the pool area offers a perfect alternative, complete with lounging chairs, pool paraphernalia and a fridge filled with snacks and beverages which can be utilized via the honesty concept. There were howler monkeys above the villas that enhanced the jungle ambiance, as did the iguanas and many bird species, most notably the stunning magpies and frequently sighted hummingbirds. Brad & Tara take great care in protecting their environment and even promote recycling food scraps for the jungle wildlife.

The villas are spacious, offering the modern amenities of home, with great attention paid to details. We loved seeing vases of fresh flowers from the adjacent gardens placed throughout our villa during our stay. Our villa was immaculate and was cleaned thoroughly each day by personable, efficient maids who were happy to take advantage of an opportunity to practice their English with their guests. The gardens are beautiful and well-maintained, tended to diligently by Erlin, Greivin and Ernesto, who always greeted us with a friendly smile and a wave hello. We were extremely grateful for Ernesto’s mechanical savvy as he easily repaired a ripped off licence plate and bracket, alleviating the need for a time-consuming visit to the local taller!

Kristy and Nidia provided a terrific breakfast in the rancho every morning, delighting us with a daily feature such as fresh banana pancakes or blueberry coffee cake, as well as gallo pinto, eggs to order and an incredible assortment of mangos, pineapples, bananas and papayas. It was a perfect setting for catching up with our villa neighbours while appreciating the surrounding landscape and watching Reef, Tara & Brad’s younger dog, make his morning rounds. Our gracious hosts would drop in as well and were willingly available to answer queries and provide insight into life in Mal Pais and Costa Rica in general. We truly felt as if we were guests in the home of Tara, Brad and their two adorable children.

Tara and Brad have provided a binder inside the villas which displays local restaurants and outline the various tours and activities available nearby. They were happy to make all our reservations and made sure we knew where we were going and how long it would take to get there! Their restaurant recommendations were spot-on!!

Brad has become a superstar of ATV touring, and we were thrilled to be able to partake in that with our group. It was enjoyable by even those of us who had never turned the key on an ATV before, let alone ripped around the winding back roads of Costa Rica or forded seemingly uncrossable rivers! Brad led us through kilometers of picturesque countryside and up onto the Punto Coyote, where the view was absolutely breath-taking, covering territory we were unlikely to have found on our own.

Having a rental car is not a necessity; however, it does allow you the freedom to explore the countryside and charming villages at your leisure. There are two outstanding restaurants within walking distance of Villas Hermosas and several others who cater to various palates and budgets a short drive into Santa Teresa. As well, each villa is equipped with its own kitchen, and we found groceries to be readily available in Santa Teresa.

Although the road conditions are reputed to be less than perfect, in our experience, this only added to the atmosphere. Be prepared to take a long time to travel a short distance and enjoy the ride along the way. There is just so much to appreciate in this region of CR! A GPS not only saved a lot of confusion and provided reassurance in areas lacking in road signs, it proved to be amazingly accurate, despite the lack of street addresses!

There was no time during our travels that we ever felt unsafe. The Ticos we had the fortune to meet possessed great pride in their surroundings and welcomed tourists wholeheartedly. We have no doubt that had we broken down in some remote area on the Nicoya Peninsula, instead of slashing our tires and robbing us, they would have invited us in for dinner, fixed our car and expected nothing in return. If driving isn’t your thing, it is easy to catch a plane to Tambor from San Jose airport and then rent a car locally or arrange transport through Brad & Tara. There are suitable options for everyone and these are all outlined on VH website.

Pura Vida….chilling on the beach at Villas Hermosas, listening to the ocean, watching the waves, being embraced by the breeze and knowing that a few meters away our welcoming, safe, home-away-from-home is waiting for us. Most definitely, we will return to Villas Hermosas!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mar1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Property: Villas Hermosas
Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | Playa Hermosa de Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing