We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be true!”
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2008

After a few days at the Arenal Volcano rainforest this was the perfect place to relax. If you want to experience the true Costa Rica you have check this place out soon! This place will not disappoint!
Upon arrival we were greeted by Tara & Brad, the most friendly and comfortable hosts you will ever meet.
Our Villa was unexpectedly large and beyond our expectations. The proprietors were very helpful in all the info you needed for any activities you wanted to pursue.
When we entered our villa we were pleasantly surprised with the space, the comfort and the cleanliness of our accommodation.
So on top of the beautiful accommodations the beach is the most unspoiled place you will ever experience. You truly will be on your own. (Except with the lovely dog/s that want to walk with you).
Just go! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bowdogcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2008

WOW...WOW...WOW First I would like to start out by saying that the worst part about our honeymoon was the fact that we didn't spend all of it at Villas Hermosas. We had such an amazing time, and truly felt welcomed. Brad & Tara are AWESOME hosts, and are perfect at what they do. My lovely bride and I stayed in the honeymoon sweet on July 15-16, which is located practically on the beach. The room was very clean, spacious, bed was comfortable, and the outside hammock and private patio was super cool. Oh..the TV channels were great too,(a lot of English channels) and they even had the NFL network! Homemade breakfast every morning in the outside cabana area by the pool was outstanding...(waffles, fresh fruit, omelets, CR coffee). As an illustration of how cool our stay was, one of the nights we were there, my wife and i wanted to grill out and eat fresh seafood. Not only did Brad and Tara allow us full access to the outside cabana, but we also were able to use their wonderful gas grill and various cooking utensils. If your a surfer, this resort is a great pick as well! I surfed with Brad practically in front of the resort, on a beautiful beach break. (consistently waist - head). All in all, we had a GREAT time. Along with the review of this amazing resort, I would also like to add my thoughts on the trip out to Villas Hermosas. The ferry can be a little intimidating, so be prepared. The Costa Ricans, while not violent, will not hesitate to steal from you, so while waiting for the ferry in Puntarenas, keep your guard up. Simply take the ticket they give you and walk up down to the dock to pay for the ferry. (we were told at our car from a scammer that we needed to pay $12 to ensure we got on the boat…total lie). Also, keep in mind that to get to Villas Hermosas, its about 30mins driving on an unpaved road(not bad at all), just keep that in mind. All in all, Villas Hermosas is a diamond in the rough! The resort is breathtaking, the staff is extremely welcoming, their prices are below the market price, and the beach is amazing. Brad and Tara are great managers, and will make you feel at home right away. I will end my review with this; my only concern is that when we want to come back to Villas Hermosas in a couple of years they will be booked up because they are truly on to something. I’ll keep my eye out on the travel channel, because undoubtedly this unique paradise will be featured sometime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeymoon711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Amazing! This was the first place that we stayed on our adventure, and we could not have asked for anything more! Tara was wonderful from the very beginning....from booking our villa, to suggestions, to the followup right before we arrived. We were pleasantly surprised by our beautiful, clean, spacious, air-conditioned, clean, clean, clean villa! The ambiance of the entire property is perfect and the hosts, Tara and Bradd are unbelievably helpful. Anytime you have a question about anything, they are readily available. They have wonderful suggestions and they give great insights of the country. Some of the most friendly people we met during our entire journey.

The breakfast is wonderful! Served by the pool, they have a daily special, along with local foods, eggs to order and wonderful fresh fruit. It's a great place to socialize with the other guests on the property and to share stories about recent activities.

The beach is a few hundred feet away, and spans forever! It's a wonderful romantic walk during sunset, as well as a great place to surf or lay out!

The actual town of Mal Pais is not far from the villas, and it's a great place to pick up some local food to bring home to cook in for the night. We truly felt like we were at our "home away from home". This place is the BEST!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoldyLocks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Surfing and access to wireless was why we booked at Villas Hermosas, but Villas Hermosas is so much more. The proprietors Brad and Terra were so great and with a toddler and another baby on the way it felt like you were part of their family. Surf instructors and surf boards were delivered to your door and when you were
exhausted from surfing the pool was a nice place to relax in the evening. Thanks Brad and Terra, Can't wait to come back!
Sarah and Andrew

Stayed: April 2008
Thank SurfSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Maybe it was the large, comfortable 2-bdrm, 2-bath villa or the generous breakfast each morning, or the well-groomed beach front property or the lovely pool with waterfall. But most of all it was owner couple Tara and Brad and their team's attention to countless small details.

Big rain shower? umbrella is at our door. Gonna go for a swim? the pool is freshly skimmed. Looking for dinner out? they'll arrange the details. Wi-fi internet down (common in Costa Rica)? they'll figure out a work-around.

We picked Villas Hermosas based on what we read on Trip Adviser. Our experience was so positive that my husband and I wanted to add our perspective. Note that this is not the most exclusive high-end property in the Mal Pais area but it's also not $500-plus/night.

We're from Vancouver. BTW, Brad is from Calgary and Tara from Langley.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank LovesComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Happened to find this place when I decided to splurge on my backpacking trip to Costa Rica. This place was awesome!! The owners Brad and Tara were amazingly welcoming and they went above and beyond normal concierge services. I can't thank them enough for their help and I wish them the best of luck! Great hosts and just beautiful facilities. The breakfast of my choice in the morning at the pool was such a nice bonus too. Would stay here again in an instant and hope I have to opportunity to do so in the near future. If you want simple luxury, stay here!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lbseawench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

We may be slightly biased considering it was our only honeymoon, but WOW. We had such a beautiful time and we were counting our blessings by the end of our stay that we had made the decision to choose Villas Hermosas. Brad and Tara are such accomodating hosts and would give you the shirts off their backs if it meant making your vacation just a hint brighter. The rooms were beautiful and inviting with fresh flower bouquets. The tranquility of the beach was just beyond the nicely groomed gardens and pool with a waterfall. The short distance apart from town gave our stay just the relaxed and cozy vacation were could have only dreamed up. I'm telling you...paradise. If we could have, we would have stowed away in one of those villas until we were forced to leave. Thank you so much to everyone at Villas Hermosas for giving us an unforgettable experience.

- Mollie & Martin - Columbia, SC

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mobush812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
2.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | Playa Hermosa de Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £163 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing