We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Hermosas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$79
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenos Aires(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
329
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatv tourhoneymoon suiteevery morningcosta ricaeggs to orderother guestshowler monkeyssan josewatch the sunsetrental carmal paisvacation spotlittle piece of paradisebeautiful propertytide poolspura vidabeautiful pool
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Just got home from our honeymoon, having stayed at Villas Hermosas for most of it, and my wife and I never imagined the wonder that awaited us at this hidden gem in Costa Rica. I have a very selfish side in me that wanted to not post anything about this place to keep this place as unspoiled and perfect as it is, but there's no way I could, as I wish this place nothing but years and years of wild success. My wife and I are already starting to plan our next trip down!

Most of these reviews detail the wonderful time they had here, which pretty much mirrors the time we had, so I'll keep it short and sweet. If you are thinking of going to Costa Rica, like having all of the comforts of home and beyond, and want to be treated as a member of a distant, extended family, then this is the place for you. It's one thing to have a first-class, luxurious boutique hotel in the most perfect spot on the face of the planet, but couple that with it being owned and operated by some of the nicest and genuinely warm people you'll ever meet who care about you and the time you'll have there and you've found paradise on Earth.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madlylovemegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Yes it's THAT amazing! My partner and I traveled all over Costa Rica for 2 weeks with our final 4 days at Villa Hermosas. It was by far the highlight of our entire journey! We even said next time we would skip the rest of Costa Rica and head right to Villa Hermosas! We stayed in the Honeymoon Villa which was gigantic! the white canopy bed was incredible romantic, free homemade breakfast every morning pool side was wonderful and ...the Beach WORDS CANNOT DISCRIBE!!! Imagine an entire absolutely gorgeous beach all to your selves! For miles in each direction, waters warm and inviting, 3 surf breaks for all levels: beginnings can surf in the closest break, intermediate a little further out and the pros grabbing spectacular breaks far out! We both had never surfed before and took lessons from a champion surfer who traveled the world looking for the best wave and came to Santa Teresa and never. We recommend him highly and he is the surf teacher Hermosas uses. We were worried about heading down there during the raining season but everyday was sunny and hot and cooled down during the evenings with rain on the rooftops putting us to sleep. I've been to many beach destinations and this is by far the #1 spot I've ever been to! You will LOVE IT! We can't wait to go back and talk about it all the time to friends and family!

One negative note: :-( Keep an eye on your valuables on the beach. There are petty thefts. We had our beach bag stolen. :-(

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jondrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Our trip to Villas Hermosas far exceeded our expectations - which were very high to start. While we did not get to enjoy the hospitality of Brad and Tara (they were enjoying their own vacation), we were well taken care of by Judy and David, Brad's Aunt and Uncle as well as Tara's parents. By the time we left, we felt like we had made many new friends - almost more like being part of the family. It is certainly a family atmosphere at Villas Hermosas. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The villas are spacious, well furnished and comfortable (loved the mood lighting). All the staff was helpful (even help crack open the coconut we found with their machete). Enjoyed the morning breakfasts (thanks Kristi) and meeting the other visitors. This trip was well out of the ordinary - as you walk up and down one of the most beautiful beaches with practically no one else there or you are awakened in the morning by the Howler monkeys - leaving no doubt how they got their name. Certainly one of the highlights, and there were many, was the chef prepared dinner by Torsten - if you do nothing else while you are there, have Torsten prepare you a five star four course dinner (include the flourless chocolate cake for dessert)!!! It was fabulous, and he is a very remarkable person - we very much enjoyed not only the food but his company - another new friend from our trip. We would also recommend dining at Flora Blanca right down the road. A very nice atmosphere with a good view and wonderful service. As for Costa Rica, this was our very first trip but certainly not our last. Everyone we met always asked "How do you like Costa Rica" and then proceeded to tell us how much they loved it! In the short time we were there - we found out why. So much to see and do, hike in the jungle, zip line, fish (and the tuna you buy in the grocery store does not compare to what you catch and cook yourself), the dirt roads ;-), walks on the beach, the Montezuma waterfall...and still so much we didn't get to do. Our only regret is we didn't stay longer (only 4 nights). Our only warning is beware of the "shortcuts" when it is getting close to dark, as we "tried " to take one on our way back from Montezuma one evening. Roads can change depending on the rain the night before - but that is also one of our special memories. Could certainly go on, but would highly recommend if you are looking for a very special, memorable vacation - away from the ordinary - Costa Rica and Villas Hermosas should be very high on your list. Muchos Gracias to all our new "friends".

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkim1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Brad and Tara are the kind of hosts you don't come across too often. Two very real people who found paradise and want to share it with all who meet them. I've been back in Florida now for a week and find myself constantly daydreaming about the time I had at Villas Hermosas. If you surf its a great place and if you don't there is still lots to do. The massage on the porch with the ocean lingering in the background, naps on the hammock while nature composes its symphony for only you, breakfasts in the rancho with great people to start your day off just right, a soothing stroll just before sunset too a nearby tidal pool, or Brad's stoked smile getting you amped for a sunrise session at Kitchens. The question isn't will I go back, it's when. Soon isn't close enough. Tara and Brad thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alstkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Villas Hermosas not only lived up to expecations - but surpassed. Surfed every day, played on the beach & by the pool, and wined & dined with friends. Very private and very beautiful. Our next visit won't be soon enough!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rydermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews