We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true paradise for great value!”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A true paradise for great value!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I visited Casa MarBella in November/December 2012 with my boyfriend. We had a truly wonderful time! Upon arrival I thought I was stepping into paradise!
This was my second visit to Casa MarBella and I didn't expect the hotel to be even more beautiful then a few years ago, but it was! With all the new additions like a sun deck, the yoga deck and all the overflowing greens around the hotel, I never even felt like I even wanted to leave the hotel and explore the surroundings ;) It is just a five minute walk to the beautiful beach and within two minutes you are on the main road with shops, a great variety of restaurants and everythings else you might need. Still, up at the hotel you don't feel any of this. It is super relaxing, peaceful and quiet. The view is amazing and I saw the most beautiful sunsets of my life. Also, what is better then hanging out in the lounge chairs on the yoga deck and watching monkeys and Iguanas climbing in the trees right in front of you?
Jim and Stephanie make you feel very welcome and are really taking great care of the place. Everything is well taken care of, nothing looks worn down and you can tell that a lot of love and thought it put into everything. Both have tons of suggestions for great activities in the area and can help you with everything you ask for. From day trips to waterfalls, zip lining in the near forest, fishing, snorkeling, sailing, quad tours, surf lessons, board rental, yoga, massages, restaurant suggestions...you name it, they have it or can organize it for you!
AS you might tell, I could go on and on about the beauty of this hotel but I will stop here and will only add, that I have been to quite some places in Costa Rica and especially the area around Santat Teresa but I haven't been to a place that offers such good value! If you go to Santa Teresa/Mal Pais, you HAVE ro stay there! I truly believe, there is no better place for your perfect vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agh888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
245
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I cannot say enough about Casa MarBella, it made our stay in Santa Teresa that much more meaningful. When we first arrived we were greeted and taken on a tour of the hotel, we felt instantly relaxed looking at the infinity pool, yoga deck, hammocks and panoramic views!
Jim & Stephanie were beyond nice to my husband and I and took the time to get to know us and give us great recommendations. The rooms are nice and spacious and super clean, the staff goes the extra mile. We met some of the other guests and had such a nice time just lounging by the pool and enjoying the amazing sunset. Casa MarBella is within walking distance to markets, restaurants, shopping and more importantly, the beach and what a gorgeous beach it is. We had a wonderful time exploring Costa Rica, but our time at Casa MarBella was the icing on the cake. I cannot wait to return and stay at Casa MarBella.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Jim and Stephanie (the owners) have created the perfect gem in Santa Teresa. If it is your first time visiting the area, you must understand that their is no Marriott or Hilton. All accommodations are fairly quaint. That being said, this boutique hotel offers the very best I have ever seen in my 7 years of travel to Mal Pais/ Santa Teresa. We stayed in the 3 bedroom condo and the pictures on the website do not do it justice. We had an extremely spacious apartment which was designed beautifully and very well maintained. The pool was immaculate and offered a beautiful view with incredible sunsets. The price was very reasonable and the condo can sleep up to 6 people. To top it all off, Jim and Stephanie are friendly and attentive hosts. Any time we needed something they were quick to help. Our AC broke one day and Jim had it fixed within the hour. We would highly recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: If you have at least 4 people, the luxury condo is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Pros
- Beautiful ocean view
- Nice infinity pool
- Rooms are clean, nicely decorated, with hot showers
- Complimentary coffee and honour bar on site
- Friendly helpful staff
- Excellent restaurant adjacent to the property - one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica
- Yoga deck, lounging deck
- Beach towels
Cons
- Have to walk up a steep hill to get there

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the interior rooms that did not include a kitchen. Most of the rooms did. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Truly the center of our vacation, this amazing place was everything we wanted and more. From start to finish, Stephanie and Jim were wonderful hosts. The room was beautiful, but the views from the deck and pool were unparalleled. It was a pleasure to stay with them, and their hospitality will be remembered as a highlight of our vacation. We will most certainly return, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the pool~
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had an excellent stay at Casa Marbella. The pool was perfect, the room beautiful and stylish and our minor issues were taken care of at once. Great cleaning, good coffee, even a small library where guest can exchange books. Friendly and service-oriented owners. Because we have kids, it was practical that we could fix our own meals in the kitchen. We stayed in one of the suites. The hill is steep, but it's worth it to get the stunning view over the ocean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Casa Marbella was everything we read it would be and much more. What the photos don't show you is how awesome the owners Stephanie and Jim are at taking care of their guests. They really took the time to get to know us and give expert advice on anything from tours and activities, to restaurant recommendations (loved the book filled with personal snippets about each place they recommended in town). Jim taught us both how to surf in an hour and a half- we both got up the very first try in fact! We were able to plan and coordinate our entire weeks stay right there at the front desk: taxis, atv rental with recommended day trip routes, snorkeling tour, everything.

Casa Marbella is absolutely beautiful, from the architectural design that is truly luxurious, to the hand crafted details in our room.

We chose to stay here after reading every single review and were still blown away. Needless to say, we highly recommend Casa Marbella! Thank you for everything Jim and Stephanie!

Val and Kelly

Room Tip: They're all good. For real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing