We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa MarBella

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Casa Marbella DEFINITELY deserves this top hotel award. I am still mesmerized by my stay there, it was spectacular. There are a variety of rooms to fit your travel plan, from larger apartment style to rooms with a kitchenette and some double rooms for active types. The owners, Jim and Stephanie will help you get connected to all of the activities, or give you tips on how to buy organic fruits and veggies and catch of the day dorado fish and shrimp. The infinity pool has a breathtaking view of the ocean and you can hear the surf at night. There is a magnificent yoga deck with beautiful trees surrounding, where you may spot a colorful iguana or playful howler monkey. I recommend this hotel as THE place to stay in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montzerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
233
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful hotel. Nice and friendly owners, Stephanie and Jim. Loved the dog sleeping all day. We stayed here for 2 nights. We wanted to love this place, we really did. But, for us, it was just not the place. If you have a large group or a family traveling together, this would be a fantastic place to stay. But, just not the most romantic of places if you get one of the rooms in the courtyard by the pool (rooms 2-3-4-5.) We wanted to rent one of the end condos, which we got to see when they were briefly empty. They are amazing (and much more private)! You will be surely amazed at the views and the beauty of Santa Teresa. We had a poolside/courtyard room, and it is just a few feet from the pool area and tables where people meet and talk. We heard so many other people’s conversations and travel stories while we were trying to sleep we felt like we knew them! And, honestly, they were not even being that loud! Don’t skip walking (12 steps up) to Brisas Del Mar for food and drinks, it is a huge plus for the hotel to be so close to this restaurant. Note: Casa MarBella is located on top of a big hill, make sure your taxi drives you up to the hotel, don’t get dropped off at the bottom of the street. You will really need to rent a car or ATV to enjoy your stay here (and in Santa Teresa overall.) The hill where this hotel is located can be a little tiring to walk over and over. The good thing is the owners can easily help you get a rental if you don’t have one. They are very eager to help with anything you need. The hotel’s location is in the beginning part of town, and we gravitated toward the beaches at farther end of town which is a 30 minute walk or 10 min ATV drive. Loved Del Soul Surf shop for surf lessons and Olam for yoga and lunch.

Room Tip: Try to rent one of end condos units (there are 2)... Rooms 2-3-4-5 are directly in the pool/ courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSleepZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This home is situated on top of a hill with beautiful views of the beach. There were yoga classes and surf classes available - Stephanie and Jim helped us arrange surf packages & ATV rentals. They were also kind enough to share restaurant recommendations and stories of how they ended up in Santa Teresa. The rooms had AC and the beds were extremely comfortable. They have a partnership with the hotel next door and we would trek up a few steps for some breathtaking views to accompany our breakfast. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

If you have a chance to make it to Santa Teresa, CR. Check out the Casa Marbella. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The staff is great. They arranged for us to have transportation with an ATV rental which made exploring the beaches and different towns easy and fun(thanks Stephanie). The property was also great loved the pool and is secluded from the main strip just enough. A very friendly and helpful security guard who would always be there when we returned at night(thanks Wilfredo). All in all a very satisfying experience for us.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsorenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stephanie and Jim have been so helpful and kind. We loved our stay here and would like to come back. The view from the hotel is stunning and there are plenty of quiet sitting areas to enjoy if you want to take some time off for yourself. All rooms have a full kitchen, so this is very helpful if you want to cook in instead of eating out....although there are excellent restaurants around! Our stay here was wonderful and relaxing.

The only complaint I have is one night, where a noisy drunk couple talking really loud till late and hours...did not get any sleep there. The rest of the people staying in the hotel were quiet and friendly. So if you want to party and be annoying, this is not the hotel environment for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliChinaTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin germany, portland usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Perfect for surfers and active people. Great surfboard selection, clean rooms, beautiful yoga deck, discount for yammy breakfast in neighboring restaurant and super friendly stuff. I would recommend the apartment studios as they have beautiful balconies. Standard rooms are a bit dark without deck/balcony. But if you plan to be outside non-stop that shouldn't matter. Awesome place! Go for it!

Room Tip: apartment studios b/c they have a beautiful view and a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kooomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Clean, nice, close to good amenities, ton of fun, great hotel owners! Good yoga and surf lessons. Massage was a treat too. It is next door to a great restaurant and in walking distance to other good restaurants. The beaches were great. Cheers

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mml6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing