We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Health/Adventure retreat in the best possible location-loved it!!”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Health/Adventure retreat in the best possible location-loved it!!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I used Trip Advisor to select this ideal small & private hotel for a 1 month vacation. At that time Casa Marbella had close to 280 reviews w/average of 5 stars. Incredible. This sold us, and we want to reciprocate with our own review, offering very specific info. 1) People: the English/Spanish speaking couple who owns this place is incredible. They give far above & beyond what you'd expect. They built this beautiful place over a period of several yrs & their hearts are in it! We felt like honored guests, and were treated with such warmth & kindness. They provided accommodations to meet all of our needs & expectations. The owners responded in ways we didn't expect, for example Steph volunteered to bring us fresh fish at a reasonable price, loaned us her own crockpot & they both may have been willing to give us the shirts off their backs! Jim responded promptly when we had a banking problem and resolved it immediately. The owners also put us in contact with many resources- some you might consider using including Joann- specializing in organic food cuisine; Lauren- highly skilled Pilates trainer; therapeutic massage therapists; horse farm right next door which provided horseback riding on the beach; taxi drivers known by Jim and Steph (amazingly inexpensive & never a wait); yoga & surf instructors. Other people we came to know: Wilfredo- night guard, Fausto- full time maintenance provider, two lovely housekeepers, & friendly reception. (Imagine a senior citizen couple in tears as we left & had to say "good-bye" to our new friends). 2) The place: exceptionally clean, safe, well designed, numerous options for room types; gorgeous pool within steps of our door; honor bar; fully supplied kitchens in suites; comfy beds; clean & efficient air conditioners; outstanding view from balcony for breath-taking view & sunset every night; minutes from a highly rated restaurant on site; huge grocery store (Ronnie's) at turn-in to hotel; tranquil & peaceful atmosphere. 3) The city: small developing town with numerous delicious restaurants; roads are not all paved, so delightful rustic feel; opportunity to interact with the local people & culture; safe; roads filled w/ motor bikes, rented ATVs, pedestrians & bicycles. Not much shopping except for essentials like- groceries, surf shops, surf clothing & minimal # of gift shops. Check out Banana Beach & Blue Surf, both with casual restaurants/bars on the beach. 4) The experience: it felt much like a wellness retreat! We ate organic & native food; hiking; walking the beach; professional massage therapist on site; yoga & Pilates instruction. There are guided fishing & snorkeling tours. Nature conservatories within an hour drive. And for those who like it: zip lines in the city of "Montezuma"; Curu has lots of monkeys & wildlife! We were truly able to detach from normal life at home & completely relaxed & rejuvenated! Thanks so much to Steph & Jim - owners, their adorable daughter, loving dog, and staff people who have shared the blood, sweat & tears in creating this special & unique place. I suggest taking the opportunity to practice Spanish with the helpful employees.
Not only all of that- the cost for the hotel and restaurants was very reasonable!
PS important info: we were not able to use our cellular phones. Two options for communicating with home: WiFi is readily available w/no charge, allowing Skyping & FaceTime. OR purchase a cheap unlocked cell phone at airport which allows calls outside the country and within Santa Teresa. One more suggestion: it was our preference to not rent a car! So much is within walking distance or for a better option to get around area- we suggest renting an ATV. It's fun! Jim or Steph will arrange it. (We flew into San Jose- took puddle jumper plane to Tambour, and the owners had a taxi waiting for us to the hotel!!)
We will be back - no doubt!!!! Muchas Gracias!
Lynne Maria and Deacon Dave Lindmeier, Minnesota, USA

Room Tip: There is such a mix of various types of rooms depending on your needs. Ask owners about number of be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esperanzaseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
251
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We shared a two bedroom with our friends for four nights. The rooms and balcony (which includes a hammock) were great. They were very clean with cute decor. The pool is divine. Each room is located within feet of the pool which has a great view and a deck for laying out. There was a fridge by the pool which was always stocked with beer, wine, water, Gatorade and soft drinks that you can access at all times. The cost for these beverages was very reasonable. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel is very convenient as there is a restaurant (with $5 breakfast for hotel guests) 20 feet away and many other restaurants within a few minutes walk. We also took a surf lesson from the owner Jim which was so much fun! He is a great teacher. Then we rented ATV's which were dropped off and picked up at our hotel. This hotel is just awesome and really made our trip to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was not my first time to Santa Teresa and it certainly won't be the last. There is not really a bad place to stay in this town but Casa Marbella really is a special place. It's centrally located but off the street (which can be noisy at times) up a little hill and the view of the ocean just doesn't quit. Jim and Stephanie, the owners, are happy to help you tie up the loose ends of your trip (ATV's are a must and they can recommend the best deals on activities and the yummiest restaurants) and Wilfredo, the guy who takes care of the place at night is one of the nicest guys ever. We enjoy having the fridge (beer!) and stove, etc. Love this place and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evanolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here with family in January 2014. This hotel was recommended by friends and did not disappoint! We stayed in one of the apartments which was roomy enough for 6 of us- we wanted for nothing. It was extremely comfortable, well stocked and very clean. We enjoyed the fabulous views of the sunset from both the room and the pool. The location was close to shops, the food market and the beach- all within walking distance. What really makes this a 5 star review is the attentiveness from Jim and Stephanie- they and their staff were very accommodating in setting up tours for us from horseback riding, fishing, zip lining and yoga. Two in our party opted for a massage on the private deck overlooking the ocean and loved it! We plan to come back and cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you have more than 2 in your party, consider the apartments- plenty of room and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I can't say enough about Casa Marbella - truly relaxing and beautiful. It was hard to get out of the pool, it is so beautiful with the view of the ocean. Stephanie & Jim (owners) could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. Our Son found this place for us and thankfully he did. We will certainly be back, hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: Do you want a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom, they have it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is by far a stop you wont want to miss! Stunning sunset view. Wonderful owners and staff. Ask and it shall be done! Jim and Stephanie were more than helpful with booking rentals and excursions for us. As it is a small hotel you get to meet people from all over the world and share experiences. The walk up the hill to the hotel was a great daily challenge, or rent atv's if your not up for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Casa Marbella DEFINITELY deserves this top hotel award. I am still mesmerized by my stay there, it was spectacular. There are a variety of rooms to fit your travel plan, from larger apartment style to rooms with a kitchenette and some double rooms for active types. The owners, Jim and Stephanie will help you get connected to all of the activities, or give you tips on how to buy organic fruits and veggies and catch of the day dorado fish and shrimp. The infinity pool has a breathtaking view of the ocean and you can hear the surf at night. There is a magnificent yoga deck with beautiful trees surrounding, where you may spot a colorful iguana or playful howler monkey. I recommend this hotel as THE place to stay in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montzerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
565 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: | 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa MarBella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing