We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you are looking for a quiet place with a perfect view in Santa Teresa, stay here! We stayed in one of the suites with a deck that had an amazing view. I would definitely recommend one of those rooms! We loved sitting on the deck and laying in the hammock reading during mornings and sunsets.

The walk to the beach was quick, coming back it is all uphill just a heads up. The restaurant right next door we regretted not doing more than once had an amazing view and was very good!

The pool was perfect and a lot of the time we felt we were the only ones there. The rooms were clean, the kitchens were great if you want to have your own food, and there is a Super Market very close.

The owners were great and so nice! The beaches here are memorable and worth traveling to! I will be recommending this place to all of my friends and family. I hope to return and will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Pick a Suite or Condo if you want a private deck. We had room 6 and it was perfect!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Casa MarBella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Everything is about perfect!!! We had a really warm welcome from a German lady. The owners were away for a family meeting 1 week.

The view is stunning, the bed is huge!

There is a really nice small boutique hotel atmosphere since there are only 8 units. So we had some nice contacts with the other guests!

Waking up, seeing the ocean, jumping in the infinity pool, hugging their cute dog, making you own breakfast in your perfectly equipped kitchen... It is just super!!!

The location is 3 min walk from
The main road with all the bars, shops, atms and restaurants. But because it is up in the hill, it is quiet and clean (dusty roads!)

The large conods thats sleep 6 are amazing!!! 3 good sized bedrooms and 2 bathroom, a huge living with open kitchen and the view from the private terrace....

Look no further, this is where you want to stay!!!!!

We hope to be back one day!!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Aap86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I almost don't want to write a review, because we want to keep this place to ourselves - but the the owners are such wonderful people that I just want so much success for their dream business.

I don't even know if I have enough words to say how awesome this place is. I booked Casa Marbella for a group of 17 friends, which is quite a lot to handle for a hotel of any size, but Stephanie and Jim were absolutely wonderful and beyond accommodating to us and Casa Marbella truly felt like our own home. If only my every day life could be like our life at Casa MarBella -- We used the yoga room a few times for our own yoga sessions, the hammocks by our rooms were perfect for lazing around in the morning while the early birds went to surf, Jim is the most concise surf instructor ever, their daughter Naia is the raddest kid alive, and the beach is a short walk that even though the walk back was a steep hike, we went several times a day.

Brisas del Mar, the restaurant connected to the hotel serves the most amazing dinners around and is quite convenient for breakfast. We took a cab at night to downtown Santa Teresa to go dancing and had the best time ever. Sunsets from the hotel are absolutely magical. I truly did not want to leave this place.

Thank you Casa MarBella for the most magical time.

Room Tip: BOOK EARLY! Also if you book the condo - the very top room with the twin beds have the best view...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmbalcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This small boutique hotel is in a perfect location. It's in town but nestled in the mountain to have an amazing view of the ocean and far enough away from the noise of the main road. The owners, Jim and Stephanie, are amazing hosts and will help you have a wonderful visit. The rooms are simple, comfortable, with amazing bathrooms and all have a view and easy access to the beautiful infinity pool and sun deck. There is a beautiful yoga deck with mats to borrow as well. This is a perfect place for couples! My boyfriend and I loved it and hope to return soon!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Casa Marbella for 5 nights earlier this month as part of our honeymoon/1st year anniversary trip. The hotel was amazing on so many levels. When you walk in, you pass the lobby and then the space opens up so that you can see the infinity pool and some amazing views of the ocean below. Every room is literally just a few steps from this view and the pool. We stayed in one of the standard rooms with king size bed (they also have suites and larger condo-style rooms for larger groups/families) and small kitchen area. Didn't use the kitchen really, since we wanted to try a lot of the local food, but we definitely did make use of the mini-fridge for storing beer, water, rum, etc.

As far as location goes, this hotel is fantastic. There's a great restaurant, Brisas del Mar, at the top of the hill just above the hotel where they have a great breakfast (starting at $5 for hotel guests) and dinner, with great views of the ocean while you eat outside. The hotel is also located well within walking distance of the beach and a ton of great restaurants.

Our days typically went like this: wake up around 7-8am and either grab breakfast then surf or surf then grab breakfast. Jim (one of the owners along with his wife, Stephanie) gives a great surf lesson and my wife took advantage of this the first full day we were there.

After breakfast, we'd typically head out and explore the surrounding area. Jim and Stephanie and the staff are super friendly and make great suggestions on things to do, while also making them happen (everything from booking transportation to/from Tambor airport, to restaurant suggestions, to renting an ATV/quad for us, to a tour of Cabo Blanco park and Montezuma). Highly recommend renting an ATV and exploring the surrounding area.

In the afternoons, we'd usually head back to Marbella for some drinks and chill time at the pool. You can buy your own drinks at the market down the hill and bring them or you can make use of the fridge by the pool and just write down what you've had to drink and get billed for it later. Then we'd catch the sunset from the pool, or from the beach. There's really not a bad view here.

We'd definitely recommend Marbella and hope to stay here again. If I ever am able to open/run a small hotel in a great location like this, Marbella would be what I'd strive for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The apartment with three bedrooms (2 + attic with two twin beds) is a great option for large traveling groups or families. It is spatious and clean, airy and bright. The amenities are well thought... the place is just delightful. The price is very reasonable for what you get!
The views are to die for, and the infinity salted water pool is just perfect to refresh during the hot day. The yoga deck is inviting for a relaxing excercise session or just views contemplating.
The Location is just perfect for being just far enough from the busy strip in town....but at a walkable distance (just a little steep but good for your heart!) if you would like to mingle around.
I would definitely recommend this place to others, hands down!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arielita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I used Trip Advisor to select this ideal small & private hotel for a 1 month vacation. At that time Casa Marbella had close to 280 reviews w/average of 5 stars. Incredible. This sold us, and we want to reciprocate with our own review, offering very specific info. 1) People: the English/Spanish speaking couple who owns this place is incredible. They give far above & beyond what you'd expect. They built this beautiful place over a period of several yrs & their hearts are in it! We felt like honored guests, and were treated with such warmth & kindness. They provided accommodations to meet all of our needs & expectations. The owners responded in ways we didn't expect, for example Steph volunteered to bring us fresh fish at a reasonable price, loaned us her own crockpot & they both may have been willing to give us the shirts off their backs! Jim responded promptly when we had a banking problem and resolved it immediately. The owners also put us in contact with many resources- some you might consider using including Joann- specializing in organic food cuisine; Lauren- highly skilled Pilates trainer; therapeutic massage therapists; horse farm right next door which provided horseback riding on the beach; taxi drivers known by Jim and Steph (amazingly inexpensive & never a wait); yoga & surf instructors. Other people we came to know: Wilfredo- night guard, Fausto- full time maintenance provider, two lovely housekeepers, & friendly reception. (Imagine a senior citizen couple in tears as we left & had to say "good-bye" to our new friends). 2) The place: exceptionally clean, safe, well designed, numerous options for room types; gorgeous pool within steps of our door; honor bar; fully supplied kitchens in suites; comfy beds; clean & efficient air conditioners; outstanding view from balcony for breath-taking view & sunset every night; minutes from a highly rated restaurant on site; huge grocery store (Ronnie's) at turn-in to hotel; tranquil & peaceful atmosphere. 3) The city: small developing town with numerous delicious restaurants; roads are not all paved, so delightful rustic feel; opportunity to interact with the local people & culture; safe; roads filled w/ motor bikes, rented ATVs, pedestrians & bicycles. Not much shopping except for essentials like- groceries, surf shops, surf clothing & minimal # of gift shops. Check out Banana Beach & Blue Surf, both with casual restaurants/bars on the beach. 4) The experience: it felt much like a wellness retreat! We ate organic & native food; hiking; walking the beach; professional massage therapist on site; yoga & Pilates instruction. There are guided fishing & snorkeling tours. Nature conservatories within an hour drive. And for those who like it: zip lines in the city of "Montezuma"; Curu has lots of monkeys & wildlife! We were truly able to detach from normal life at home & completely relaxed & rejuvenated! Thanks so much to Steph & Jim - owners, their adorable daughter, loving dog, and staff people who have shared the blood, sweat & tears in creating this special & unique place. I suggest taking the opportunity to practice Spanish with the helpful employees.
Not only all of that- the cost for the hotel and restaurants was very reasonable!
PS important info: we were not able to use our cellular phones. Two options for communicating with home: WiFi is readily available w/no charge, allowing Skyping & FaceTime. OR purchase a cheap unlocked cell phone at airport which allows calls outside the country and within Santa Teresa. One more suggestion: it was our preference to not rent a car! So much is within walking distance or for a better option to get around area- we suggest renting an ATV. It's fun! Jim or Steph will arrange it. (We flew into San Jose- took puddle jumper plane to Tambour, and the owners had a taxi waiting for us to the hotel!!)
We will be back - no doubt!!!! Muchas Gracias!
Lynne Maria and Deacon Dave Lindmeier, Minnesota, USA

Room Tip: There is such a mix of various types of rooms depending on your needs. Ask owners about number of be...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esperanzaseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Address: | 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £90 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa MarBella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing