We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience at CasaMarbella”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
austin, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience at CasaMarbella”
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Stayed here for our honeymoon and we were very pleased. We confirm everything the other reviewers have said.

Tip: Girls don't waste valuable luggage space with high-heel or any wedge type of shoe. They are not appropriate in Santa Teresa or Mal Pais. Bring the following only: $3 brown flipflops, trekker-type sandals, aqua-sock type shoes (if there is a chance you will walk on the rocks at the beach). This is not a place for fancy shoes.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfisheraustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
241
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at Casa Marbella for seven nights in late May and left wishing that we could have stayed for seven more......at least!

The relaxed atmosphere of Casa Marbella and Santa Teresa was exactly what we were looking for on our vacation. The rooms were clean, spacious and very well decorated. The atmosphere is as social or private as you want it to be, and we experienced a nice blend of the two while there.

Guests staying here should not come expecting to be waited on hand and foot. After all, it's not a Four Seasons or a Ritz. Jim, the owner, approaches service in a very laid back (not in your face) fashion. But he was always willing to go the extra mile to respond to our many requests (from extra towels to picking some hot chilis from his garden for our mango and pineapple salsas).

Some Recommendations:
* Deep Sea Fishing (we caught an abundance of Mahi Mahi and Jim grilled it for us twice during our stay. Thanks Jim!)
* Day trip to Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve and then on to Montezuma
* Surf Lessons with Jim......fantastic
* A walk on the beach to Piedra Mar for lunch

And best of all.....doing nothing. Enjoy a great stay at Casa Marbella!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmilman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We arrived at Casa Marbella after being totally spoiled by the owners of a fabulous, less expensive inn in Quepos (Blue Banyan, best experience EVER!) and a lovely family-owned and inexpensive inn in San Jose (both of which served excellent breakfast included in the price) expecting nothing but the best after reading great review after great review, and considering this was the most expensive hotel during our two-week stay in CR.

My husband and I arrived in a fairly grumpy mood after missing the ferry to Paquera and driving from Playa Naranjo instead. We were greeted by a very nice girl, Haci, that spoke no English, and we aren't super-proficient in Spanish- one of the reasons we chose this hotel (the American owners) I was immediately unhappy to discover that what I thought was a hot tub was a cold whirlpool (I understood why after a day in the 90 degree heat). Our queen-sized room was tiny with concrete-like walls but clean and tastefully decorated. The a/c was nice. However, we could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors were doing as our rooms were connected by a door, from opening bags to peeing to the coffee dripping in the am. So we didn't get much sleep. We requested a new room the following day to the English speaking receptionist (who also mysteriously disappeared the following day, leaving us at a loss to communicate with any of the staff) who was happy to oblige but expressed that someone was unhappy about it. Our second room was better, however the second night there was a gathering of loud people that were not guests by the pool who kept us up.

The reception room was empty at virtually all times as Haci was diligently cleaning and attending to her other duties, and while we considered canceling our remaining reservation, we figured it would be too much of a hassle with the language barrier. Also, there was nobody to direct questions to or set up tours.

At times during the day, people staying down the hill would come to the pool (awesome pool by the way, great view) and smoke and use the pool and the wifi, with no objection from any staff (language issue again?). Another night two naked Tico boys were using the pool, splashing and being loud while we were trying to relax and swim.

Also, the spigot in the shower started running and we couldn't figure out how to turn it off and there was nobody to ask, so water ran all night.

During our stay there was no sign of the owners and we found out later they were visiting the States, which they neglected to inform us of... had we known this up front, we probably would not have stayed here as we love to stay in small family-owned accommodation. Haci was very, very sweet and made a strong attempt at being accommodating but I think she just had way too much on her shoulders, running the place single-handedly.

The community feel is pretty cool, lots of young couples that we hung out with.

It wasn't terrible but it wasn't nearly as relaxing and romantic as the reviews lead us to believe and as we had hoped for our honeymoon... wish we had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayasmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I can't say enough great things about Casa Marbella! First of all, it's beautiful!!! You can tell that alot of love and time went into establishing it because it shows in all of the details...the blue tile infinity pool, an outdoor shower that feels like you're under a waterfall, the hammock hung up around for your leisure, the beautiful potted plants adding to the tropical vibe, the light sconces that illuminate your entryway and cast a soft glow on the pool at night. You can tell that no expense was spared and thought was put into every detail that other hotels usually wouldn't even think of! And that's just the outside of the hotel...your room is even better! Beautiful platform beds with mattresses that are actually comfortable...soothing colors on the walls...the wood inlay in the floor...comfortable furnishings, but, my favorite part was the bathrooms!! They used natural, local stone on the shower walls and not only is it beautiful, but it's very soothing and you get the feeling you're in an open-air shower, which is a great way to end a day at the beach! And the icing on the cake is having Jim and Stephanie right on the property! They basically act as your personal concierge (but with a much more relaxed vibe) and are happy to give you restaurant suggestions (by the way, Santa Teresa has some of the best restaurants I've ever been to! It's amazing how the food is very cosmpolitan, but the price isn't!) and help arrange to rent quads (a must! you will have so much fun and it's a great way to really see the area!), trips to Montezuma or schedule massages in your room. Basically, they're like having your own personal guide because they know the area so well and are so accomodating, but, at the same time, they're very unobtrusive and provide an environment where you'll have all of the privacy and relaxation that you need! And lastly, one of my favorite aspects of the hotel, is the communal vibe. All of the rooms are situated around the pool and there are lounge chairs and tables set up so you have the opportunity to meet other travelers and share your experiences in Costa Rica or elsewhere (I even got restaurant recommendations for New York from a fellow traveler!). You will definitely not be disappointed with your stay at Casa Marbella! If it's available, I highly recommend staying in the three-bedroom condo, which has beautiful arched windows and a very large balcony with a beautiful ocean view that, the only time you'll take your eyes of it, is when you fall asleep in the hammock. Even if it's just the two of you, go ahead and book it because it's worth it! Enjoy your trip! I, myself, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny867_530_Nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I can't say enough good things about Casa Marbella. My boyfriend and I went to Mal Pais for what was supposed to be a one week vacation, and ended up staying an extra eight days. Both the hotel and the locale made it to hard to go home! Stephanie and Jim were friendly, relaxed, and incredibly accommodating and welcoming.

The location of Casa Marbella is just perfect, the prices are incredibly reasonable, and the views are breathtaking. If you can swing it, get one of the rooms with a balcony. Even if you can't, the main deck is still fantastic. Definitely eat at Las Brisas, definitely take the quad out for a spin, and definitely do a surf lesson with Jim.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcd_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed at Casa Marbella at the beginning of April for 3 nights. It is a beautiful hotel and the location makes it extremely relaxing. It's set up on a hill above the main road but it's a 5 minute walk to the beach across the street so it's removed from the hustle and bustle of the main road. The property was immaculate and the pool was a life saver. We jumped in the amazing infinity pool every chance we had! The owner Jim gave us a great surf lesson and his wife Stephanie set me up with a relaxing massage. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Stay here. You won't be disappointed. It is situated at some sort of vortex where it is always sunny, 90 degrees, calm, with no chance of worries. Walking distance to plenty of excellent typical restaurants, shops, and Super Rony's (market). Jim, Stephanie (tan owners), and Naia (their cute little girl) will take care of all your needs from booking a dinner reso, renting quads or surf bards, to booking a trip to tortuga...at no extra charge from what you would normally pay. They suggested great restaurants and were so mellow!!! One night our party and most of the rest of the hotel got together for a communal BBQ of fish caught that day and Imperial. Of course Jim, Stephanie, Naia, and Wilfredo (the night watchmen) joined us. This place is conducive for making new friends and has a very communal feel with the inward facing courtyard and amazing pool. This is by far the best place in town (easily). The view is great, above the dust of the town, the ac was great (fast and quiet), and the place is so cute and clean. Decorated very classy, new, with an authentic flare. Lots of beautiful woods and stamped concrete. Haizi (the housekeeper) cleaned our kitchen including the dishes every day. Only bummer is the short walk up the hill but this was good for us as we lost weight on the trip from all the walking we did. The price is also very good. They are very ethical with their price point which I appreciate. You won't want to leave!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoganB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing