We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great Service! Great Lodge!”
Review of Coral Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Isabel
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at Coral Lodge last week and my wife and I enjoyed it very much. It was a perfect getaway to disconnect from all our daily stress.
Everyone at the hotel was extremely kind and helpful. The food was delicious and service was perfection.
The bungalow was fully equipped, great view, comfortable mattress and clean. I recommend this property to all of those who need to disconnect, enjoy nature, food and like to be pampered.
Hope to visit them soon. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megustaviajar8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

picture yourself in themiddle of nowhere, on Panama s caribbean coast, 45minutes away by  boat from any kind of civilization, and there you are in Coral Lodge. Luxury here has a different taste from what we are used to. It rather becomes synonym of unicity than modern comfort. Luxury is here is feeling the privilege of sleeping in one of the six overwater bungalows aware that around you there is just jungle and sea for miles. Sleeping in the bungalows with open curtains is like floating on the sea. Forget about dozens of activities to keep you busy with. Yes you have kayak, quads and two boats for excursions, but the only way to appreciate the magic of this place is to let yourself go to the simplicity of silence, relax and nature. The tour to San Blas islands gives a bit of touristic glance over the vacation. Worth it, doubtless. A special mention to the staff. Malena, the manager, despite her young age is tremendously professional and smart, always ready to meet your expectations up with a reassuring kindness. Richard and Gabriela pamper you from the very first moment. And everyone else is working hard to make you feel more than at home and always in good hands. An excellent cook will surprise you with fantasy and taste. Of course small improvements can be made on the side of facilities,  just small things to help exploiting this experience the most. But they re on the right way, believe me. A suggestion to the owner. Do not build many other bungalows, being so few is the recipee for making the guest experience this sense of unicity.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
12  Thank chiarella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

After a three hour bus ride from Panama City followed by a very rough 40 minute power boat journey we arrived at the Coral Lodge. First impressions were very good and we were welcomed by Dina and given a cold coconut drink. We were served lunch outside which was a very nice salad followed by fried fish and vegetables.
Our over water bungalow was sparsely but adequately furnished. It was in need of a major makeover. The fridge was edged with rust, the advertised whirlpool bath did not have any hot water to it, there was no hair dryer or hot water to the sink which made for an uncomfortable shave, the patio door did not lock and the outside deck was in a shabby state.
We were advised to use bottled water to clean our teeth and were charged $2.50 plus tax per bottle.
We did the trip to the San Blas which was very worthwhile. The price of the trip was posted as $250 for two persons and discounts if more people went, we went with six other guests and were still charged the full rate PLUS $25 tour service charge plus tax, why this was imposed I don't know as we had already tipped the boat crew. Lunch consisted of one soggy cling filmed tuna sandwich and a vegetable wrap, hardly a tasty picnic lunch when we had already paid for lunch at the hotel which we didn't have. We were offered cold water from a container in communal plastic cups and charged extra for sodas and other drinks. We were very impressed with the San Blas Islands but not with the lunch or the additional unexpected charges.
When I arrived at Coral Lodge I informed Dina that I was almost a vegetarian but will eat chicken and fillet fish. She said that the menu was largely seafood and I informed her that I could not eat anything that was still in a shell or looked whole. Next day for dinner they brought a plate of clams cooked in garlic (there is no menu or choice they just bring you what they have cooked). I didn't eat them and said nothing as I didn't want to ruin the meal for others. For the main course they brought out paella with shells and legs and other bits. I told the waiter that I couldn't eat it. The manager and kitchen staff came over and asked why I could not eat it. I was very humiliated in front of the other guests and felt very small. I settled on a plate of salad. I realise that its my problem that I don't eat seafood but I did tell them in advance.
When we came to check out, the bill included alcoholic drinks that we had not had and there was an extra charge if you had orange juice at breakfast which I feel should have been included, all of meals were pre-paid but we were still charged for service. We did enjoy our stay at the Coral Lodge but felt that they were trying to extract every cent from you that they could.
On a positive note, the grounds and beach were very nice and you could walk into the jungle and on to another couple of deserted beaches. The hotel boat is something else, 900 horse power and felt very safe in the rough seas. The waiting Staff were very good and polite and nothing was done in a rush.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with an outside deck with seating and steps into the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank andyandtrudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

After a three hour drive from Panama City and about a 2 and half hour rough boat ride, it was a relief to arrive at this beautiful resort which is breathtaking. Under new management, the owners have big ideas for the resort, such a building a road to the resort and creating a travel destination town in addition to improving the bungalows sitting over the water. The new chef is a very good cook, but meals are served Panamanian time (the service is slow). But one comes to relax so enjoy the scenery as there is not much to do. The staff tries very hard to please. Our visit to see the Kuna Indians was disappointing as we were taken to a very small town on another rough boat ride. There was not much to see and the molas (traditional handicraft of the Indians) were inferior. The included lunch on another very small island was plentiful and very good. One could swim or play volley ball there. The bathrooms facilities were dreadful on this island and basically non-existent. Everyone in our group was happy to have visited Coral Lodge. If the new management is able to build a road into the resort, it would make the trip more enjoyable. Do go, if you want to chill out! And do bring a flashlight to walk back and forth from your cabin to the restaurant.

Room Tip: There are only a couple of bungalows, so make your reservations in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMR173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we loved the isolation of the place and the boat trip from and to coral lodge... we traveled in a very rough sea, but it was part of the adventure and our kids and us loved it! We also loved the idea of the over water bungalows. we also found the manager of the place (dina) as very helpful, warm and kind. we went to 3 excursions organized by Coral lodge: hike, Kayaking and a trip to San Blass islands. over all they were well organized, however, none of the guides spoke English, and therefore, we couldn't get as much as we wanted from these trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yael_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The first thing you have to know is that once you get to the Lodge, you are in an isolated paradise which has many pluses but some disadvantages. Certain months of the year the ocean is very violent and makes the boat trip to Coral Lodge (after about a 3 hour van drive from Panama City) very rough going. We went in December and experienced a wild, wet, scary ride that took 45 minutes and left us soaked and bruised. We were also terrified of capsizing the whole journey. It was not fun - I've done the Jet boating in New Zealand and that's nowhere near as wild or as dangerous. The rough seas also made the thought of a trip to San Blas Islands very unappealing and we cancelled our planned excursion. Be warned to pick your time of year accordingly. On the plus side the constant wind kept the bugs away and we never needed bug spray or got bitten once. Neither did we need air conditioning - just kept the windows open all night and let the wind be our coolant. The bungalows are all over water and charming though the plumbing good use an update and used toilet paper has to be put in a basket by the toilet for pick up. Food supplies were only delivered once a week so the kitchen ran out of even essentials such as bread for breakfast. We were there 3 days and found lunch and dinner was always seafood except for one meal of chicken curry. There was shrimp once or twice and squid. The rest of the meals were variations of corvina or sea bass. Not gourmet but home style and acceptable. The wine list was extremely limited as was the bar spirit selection. We were glad we brought our own high end booze. As to wines, we quickly depleted the place of almost all whites. Due to the weather, we didn't leave the resort but the location, sandy beaches and warm ocean made for an enjoyable stay. We chose to spring for a helicopter to take us back to the Panama City Airport and though it was expensive (almost $2000) we loved the 30 minute trip and panoramic view of the rainforests and mountains of Panama. The bonus was we were taken right to the departure gates for our flight - a stress free and security check free way to board a plane. PS - be warned as well that the spa building blew down last summer and has not been replaced yet and there is no fitness centre or fitness equipment. Maybe this will be corrected in 2014.

Room Tip: All the current bungalows are over the water and there are only 7. Very intimate. It's a long wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

this resort is amazing. it took awhile for me to do this review but it definitely had to be done. my wife and i went here this past july for our honeymoon and were blown away from the second we touched down in panama.

when i initially contacted the resort it was right before new management took over. the original management was not keen on picking us up directly from the airport because we got in around 11am. they wanted us to be picked up from a local hotel at 9am, requiring us to pretty much lose a day of travel. once gabrielle came aboard he promptly fixed this and allowed us to be picked up from the airport right after we landed. we were met by our driver (his name escapes me) and he was very pleasant and helpful. we had a 20+ passenger van all to ourselves to travel. along the way he stopped at a local grocery store for us as well as an abandoned fort that was part of a panamanian revolution.

the van then takes you to the dock after about a 3 hour driver at which point you meet Jay. Jay helps run the resort and is your captain from the second you get there. after a high speed boat ride of about 30 minutes you arrive at the epitome of paradise. our first 3 days we were the only guests and had the whole resort to ourselves. for breakfast they ask you what you want for breakfast and are open to cooking anything you want. everyday for lunch and dinner we had amazing meals.

as part of our package we got a romantic dinner on the beach which was amazing and beautiful. we were also supposed to have a couples massage but unfortunately their masseuse was sick and left the resort a few days before. in lieu they gave us an excursion to the san blas islands. we recommend EVERYONE take the trip to san blas. on the way we had the best meal at the customs/immigration stop along the way. if you can head to the back of the island and theres a great little restaurant. on the way to the islands we saw a pod of wild porpoises. once we reached the stretch of islands we didn't want to leave. even on a cloudy day the water was clear as can be. jay and his crew provide snorkel gear so you can check out the reef and submerged ship.

the room we had was amazing. the deck allows you to just step out and relax, not to mention jump right into the water if you want. we had bungalow 4 and it was pretty free of rocks. either way there is a ladder to help you get in and out. when we were there there was also 2 turtles in the area that you can see occasionally pass by.

a sidenote for some, this is still very much a remote resort. we had a few small lizards in our room occasionally. we also had a bat one night as well. the roof is thatch branches so they can squeeze through. it eventually left after we opened the door and turned on the outside light. also the walk from the room to the lodge can be very daunting. it was absolute pitch black minus the deck lights. make sure to bring a flashlight as well as some off and insect repellent.

check our website www.soletstrythismarriagething.com for more pictures of the resort

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Isabel
13 mi away
Hotel El Porvenir
Hotel El Porvenir
#2 of 2 in San Blas Islands
41 reviews
21 mi away
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
#2 of 3 in San Blas Islands
47 reviews
21.4 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Uaguinega
Dolphin Lodge Uaguinega
#11 of 32 in San Blas Islands
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Cabanas Coco Blanco
Cabanas Coco Blanco
#8 of 32 in San Blas Islands
76 reviews
0 mi away
Isla Perro - Barco Hundido
Isla Perro - Barco Hundido
#12 of 32 in San Blas Islands
3 reviews
0 mi away
Cabanas Isla Aguja
Cabanas Isla Aguja
#7 of 32 in San Blas Islands
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Lodge

Address: Escribano Bay, Santa Isabel, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Santa Isabel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Isabel
Price Range: £130 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Lodge. A quintessential eco-adventure lodge set in a pristine natural habitat. An isolated totally sustainable lodge that offers a variety of nature related adventures and a place to get away from it all. You will enjoy a diversity of natural environments, our charming over the water bungalows, a friendly low key service and our proximity to San Blas archipelago with its beautiful unspoiled islands and cultural heritage of the Kuna Indians.Diving, Reef Fishing, Snorkeling, Hobie Cat Sailing, Trekking, Kayaking, Horseback riding and relax are the activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Santa Isabel
Coral Resort Santa Isabel
Coral Lodge Panama/Santa Isabel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing