We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding and nature adventures”
Review of Canopy Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canopy Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Canopy Lodge is owned by Canopy Towers. They also have opened a Canopy B & B in Gamboa and a safari type lodge in Darien called "Canopy Camp Darien". The people were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were large and very comfortable although there was no AC, it was cool during the nights and I wore a light sweater after dark. I liked the food, served buffet style and the cooks would accommodate guests with special diets. The grounds are beautiful and full of wildlife. .With many bird feeders and hummingbird feeders about! A lovely stream ran through the property and a large swimming pool with a tree house and swinging ropes!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

The Canopy Lodge is a great, comfortable lodge in the magical Valle de Anton. Comfortable rooms, great staff, large grounds with a natural pool, tree house and pond. Avid birders can take trips with great guides or wander the grounds and see lots of birds. If you enjoy a little comfort and relaxation after a day of birding, this is an excellent choice. Food is great, staff is friendly and helpful and knowledgeable. The town is small but charming. I would recommend this lodge for anyone who enjoys birding and a little luxury as well!

Room Tip: Each room I saw was special with good views, birds and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColibriSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Hidden on the slopes of an extinct volcano, difficult to find without a guide !(they will organise your transport from Tower to Lodge or the Airport )it is obtusely hidden away amid the cloud forest of El Valle. The town is small, but has it's 'famous' Sunday market, several places to dine and lots of local 'colour', pleasant after any big city or even the journey to here.
Absolute top are the guides and their tour for birdwatchers, an enormous number of birds to be found, but you have to be keen and patient ( as always?!) maybe not as good as at the Tower I have heard (maybe there the choice is wider) but the accommodation much, much better and quieter , so you sleep better and are ready for the morning tour!
Food is NOT the best aspect here, adequate, but nothing to get excited about, breakfast same as a 3* Hotel, obvious room for improvement and definitely not a selling point. Buffet style meals, pre-prepared, but the location and birds make up for it....
Rates are also a little top-heavy, I suppose they think if you have come this far, you can afford it...maybe so, but value isn't their game, it's a captive audience for bird watchers...!
Just a few minutes walk uphill is their Canopy Adventure where you can either walk past the waterfall on a rope bridge or two, or above it on a Zipline if you're brave (and young enough)!
Careful if wet, could be slippy,you do get a stick to assist walking (or fight of the odd monkey or two....!!)
All in all very sedate and pleasant, but if you are not a bird watcher, it has less appeal

Room Tip: All are all with a view of the pretty stream and jungle surroundings 15 min walk to 'town'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgieporgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Canopy Lodge for three nights in April and enjoyed the excellent birding experience offered in El Valle, Panama. If you are an avid birder you will not be disappointed as the bird guides seek out and identify all the local bird species. We could not have been more please with our bird guide, Eliecer Rodriguez Madrid, who patiently listened and then called over 150 different birds during our four birding tours. Our guide managed to locate several birds on our birding list including the Tody and Rufous Motmot and several Antshikes, Eliecer was very patient with me as I worked to capture pictures of many of the birds. Our nightly review of our bird tours were a helpful reminder of just how many different bird species we had encountered.

Our accommodations were clean and the food is prepared daily with a unique Panamanian flavor. Overall a wonderful stay in a very beautiful part of the interior of Panama. Raúl Arias de Para, owner of the Canopy chain of hotels, should be commended for his vision in providing a fantastic birding experience in Panama.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhuehnergard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We wanted to balance our trip to Panama between the city and being out in nature. This lodge was fabulous for giving us the nature piece while also providing the comforts of home. Beautiful grounds, very accommodating staff, fantastic food and great birding right on the property make this a great choice. Each morning we woke up to a wonderful mix of beautiful birds greeting us for breakfast outside under the patio. Each room sits along the creek that runs through the property which adds to the level of tranquility. If you like zip lining, Canopy Adventure is a short walk away! Once you arrive at Canopy Lodge you will not have to worry about another detail.

Room Tip: Double rooms have balconies with sitting areas outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodpeckerllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What a wonerful place. The lodge itself is beautiful and the bird life you can see from the decking is amazing.
The staff are fantastic and work hard to ensure you have everything you need. Food is good. There are an array of trips on offer which offer a real variety of scenery. As with the tower, the guides are wonderful and ensure that you have a perfect experience. They are very talented and have a wonderful sense of humour. We were guided by both Danilo and Eliecer and we cannot recommend them enough. Our favourite tour was a day tour which took in the pacific ocean. We had lunch at the beach house of the owner Raoul.
The rooms are large, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor corner room which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We used the lodge as our base for a number of days of bird watching in El Valle de Anton. It was wonderful. The rooms are luxurious. The food was quite good. The bird watching from the terrace was tremendous.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JDOMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
1.5 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
58 reviews
11 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canopy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canopy Lodge

Address: Cerro Gaital Natural Monument, El Valle de Anton 0832-2701 WTC, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service lodge specializing in nature activities, particularly birding and nature-watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canopy Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing