We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birding destination”
Review of Canopy Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canopy Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect birding destination”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Canopy Lodge in El Valle, Panama, is a unique and lovely destination. Modern, beautiful architecture and stunning rooms, all open to the cool mountain air and the lovely grounds and streams, are just one part of the experience. The marvelous birding guides, Carlos , Danilo, Alexis and Moyo were so amazing in their ability to show us the wonderful birds which make this such an amazing experience. We were on our first trip out of the USA to go birding, and were so thrilled by our 4 nights there, as well as the equally wonderful 4 nights at the Canopy Tower. I truly cannot pick a favorite between the 2 because they are so unique. We will never forget our trip there and hope to one day return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
68
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent four nights at the beautiful Canopy Lodge in El Valle. The bubbling stream offered "sleeping music" just outside our room windows. The large rooms are attractively decorated with very comfortable beds. The meals were delicious and served with elegance. There are many excellent birding opportunities watching the lodge bird feeders and exploring the gorgeous grounds and in the nearby rainforest and cloud-forest areas. Our guide Carlos was outstanding and all the staff helpful.
Bob and Georgene

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We are not birders but stayed at Canopy Lodge upon the recommendation of family and friends. Our only regret? That we did not come sooner! From the moment we arrived, the peace and tranquility of the Lodge, the beautiful surroundings, and the attentive service made us forget the hustle and bustle of our everyday lives. Zip lining, swimming in fresh water pools, mud bathes, lively Sunday market in the small town, wonderfully prepared meals, spacious rooms, no detail was spared for a truly relaxing vacation. The upside! Falling in love with birding.
We have decided to make this little piece of heaven our destination for our annual family vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manelopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This past February 2013 my wife and I signed up for the 7-day birding package at Canopy Lodge and had an amazing experience. We have both been active, enthusiastic birders for many years (although we do not list). This was our first full-blown birding trip and we wondered what we were getting into. It was everything we hoped for and more.

The transfer from Panama City to the Lodge was excellent and well timed. We were given a welcome orientation, shown our rooms and served a nice lunch. I assumed we would be on our own this first day and planned to sit at the feeders. To our surprise we were told to be back at 3:00 PM to meet our guide for the week Danilo for a few hours of birding. We saw many great birds that first afternoon including a Sun Bittern, Black Crowned Ant Pita, and Tody Motmot.

The grounds at Canopy Lodge are beautiful, with very active bird feeders. I cannot say enough how wonderful the entire staff was. The food was local, plentiful and very well prepared. The inclusive wine was great and the group dinners much fun. Our room was spacious and very clean. Amazingly the evenings were cool, so the lack of air conditioning was not a factor. Plus, we didn’t see a single mosquito the entire week!

Each guide is limited to 8 or less guests, but we never went out with more than 5 total and usually 3-4. We never repeated the same areas and by the end of our week we logged (yes we kept a list for this trip) 227 species, most of which we had never seen before.

Danilo was a wonderful guide with a true passion for birding and an amazing ability to call out and spot birds. He was tireless and made our week of birding at Canopy Lodge the perfect experience in every way. He was the best!

Both my wife and I agree, Canopy Lodge was wonderful in every way. We loved Panama and will return to stay at Canopy Tower and the newest location Canopy Camp Darien when it is completed.

Greg & Danette Vassilopoulos
Minneapolis

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Canopy Lodge nestles in a lovely pocket of privately owned Rain Forest , within short walking distance of Caida De Agua, a local nature preserve with trails, waterfalls and natural swimming pools..and within longer walking distance of the small town El Valle de Anton, worth a visit for the Sunday Market. The lodge property sports a river and a swimming hole with swinging ropes which is charming and of which I made use, even in rainy weather..There is a tree house..There is an observation deck, but without much vista as the facility is closely surrounded by mountains.. However it is a good place to spot the odd bird or flower..The Lodge is a bird watchers paradise.

if you are not an obsessed life-lister, or are interested in photographic opportunities, you do not need to leave your front porch, or the communal viewing area. If you are more active then there are excellent guides and daily excursions. Meals and wine with dinner, along with one "field-trip" are included with your stay. The food is quite good, with the odd exception of the rolls, which every night were as hard as rocks..it became a running joke. All dinning is communal. This can become tedious..or not, depending on your need for privacy. Vegetarian/vegan is not a problem..There is wifi in the communal area only..

All that being said, here are some caveats..My husband and I were not pleased with the management of this facility.. To begin with it is very expensive..$242 a night per person...and $75 per person for any additional guided tours.(A la Carte plan)..this implies some level of luxury, and indeed, the guides are outstanding. But what we found was a facility being run on the cheap. They are understaffed. Two folks in the kitchen..one woman occasionally in the office..workmen on what seems a part-time basis and the guides do everything else..The owner shows up for dinner occasionally and noblesse oblige. You may not notice this if you intend to sign up for package deals and be gone all day every day. We opted for a more relaxed experience and spent more time at the facility.

We had to repeatedly ask for the banana feeders to be refilled..and finally just did it ourselves..Sometimes they were out of bananas and the guides had to run into town.The brochure says they will disguise feeders for photographers..I asked and nothing was ever done. I did it myself. Not that I really minded, but I didn't want to be questioned about cutting leaves and etc. These are minor details, but there is more. We happened to be there during a rather severe storm, and the power went out. On one of those days I went for a walk and my husband stayed in the lodge..power was never restored..it was cold on the porch and too dark to read inside..and no electronics could be charged..well OK, stuff happens..but later we learn there was a generator and it was only turned on when we asked. Again, this would be acceptable at a bargain facility...In addition the hot water took forever to come up. One guest had none at all..Then we learn that the heater is under our sinks and needs to be turned up..this should have been done automatically.. There is a sign on the gift shop, giving hours of business. It was not opened the entire time we were there,,

Finally, don't have an emergency in the evenings.. You are told that someone is always there..maybe..but do they speak English? I needed to talk to someone in charge the last evening..only the two cooks were on the property and their English was non-existent. I have some Spanish but could not make myself understood..every guest there spoke English..some with more Spanish than I, but still, no luck. A facility like this, with mostly English speaking guests, should not be so poorly staffed..there should be someone multi-lingual there at all times.

The guest quarters are attractive. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable with reading lights and the porches are lovely..but be careful of the beds..the platforms just out beyond the matress and we both had bruised shins from running into them on night trips (!) to the bathroom.Flashlights are provided, a nice touch. There is no in-room safe.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are at feeder level. Second floor rooms, look into tree tops..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gemswinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Canopy Lodge is owned by Canopy Towers. They also have opened a Canopy B & B in Gamboa and a safari type lodge in Darien called "Canopy Camp Darien". The people were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were large and very comfortable although there was no AC, it was cool during the nights and I wore a light sweater after dark. I liked the food, served buffet style and the cooks would accommodate guests with special diets. The grounds are beautiful and full of wildlife. .With many bird feeders and hummingbird feeders about! A lovely stream ran through the property and a large swimming pool with a tree house and swinging ropes!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The Canopy Lodge is a great, comfortable lodge in the magical Valle de Anton. Comfortable rooms, great staff, large grounds with a natural pool, tree house and pond. Avid birders can take trips with great guides or wander the grounds and see lots of birds. If you enjoy a little comfort and relaxation after a day of birding, this is an excellent choice. Food is great, staff is friendly and helpful and knowledgeable. The town is small but charming. I would recommend this lodge for anyone who enjoys birding and a little luxury as well!

Room Tip: Each room I saw was special with good views, birds and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColibriSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
1.5 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
410 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
54 reviews
1.5 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#5 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bodhi Hostel & Lounge
Bodhi Hostel & Lounge
#1 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canopy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canopy Lodge

Property: Canopy Lodge
Address: Cerro Gaital Natural Monument, El Valle de Anton 0832-2701 WTC, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service lodge specializing in nature activities, particularly birding and nature-watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canopy Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing