We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly Upgraded Boutique Hotel”
Review of Crater Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crater Valley
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Newly Upgraded Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

El Valle is filled with weekend homes for Panama City's old money elite. This home (which supposedly used to be in pretty tough shape) has recently been remodeled as a luxury boutique hotel with about ten rooms. Rooms are somewhat small but have high quality beds and linens. The bathroom however is quite spacious with a walk-in shower with two shower heads. Very quiet - have both fans or AC depending upon your mood.

However the reason to stay are the grounds...beautiful pool, small brook and fish ponds, enormous old trees (quite shady) and many plantings. We saw many birds including a large rail, many hummers and the resident tropical screech-owl.

They have a special promotion during the week which makes it a steal if you stay for two or three days.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    21
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Best:
- The "Pilón" room is modern, design and clean with a big bed.
- Huge bathroom and shower.
- They put lovely flowers in the room when we came back from a walk.
- The flatscreen TV with cable channels has a USB plug so we could see our own TV series brought from our home country on a USB drive.
- The staff was very nice and helpful.
- Freshly cooked little breads for breakfast are delicious.
- You can have dinner there if you let them know early afternoon. We were served a delicious entrance salad made of vegetables from the hotel's vegetable garden.
- My girlfriend has a food allergy and the staff was very attentive to this.
- Remote location, in the middle of the nature, quiet, lovely to use the hot garden jaccuzzi then the cold swimming pool, the hammac, the outdoor beds.
- Garden with exotic plants: Cannella, encens, pineapple, etc...
- There is a beautiful enormous tree and a Japanese garden with lotus flowers.
- Lovely fish ponds.
- Nice relaxing hotel to spend 1-3 days stopover on a roadtrip from Panama City.

Could be improved:
- We ordered 2 meat main courses for dinner and we were served a meat and a fish. The fish was delicious and it was not a big deal.
- the room window on the outside was without translucid curtain so we had to close the window shutter at all time to keep our privacy.
- There is no minibar in the room, it could be useful to dry cool water or soda during the night.
- indicate better how to reach the hotel from the main road (the signs are not easy to spot and the color is a bit gone with the sun). Maybe give GPS coordinates on the webpage.
- update the photos of their website http://www.crater-valley.com/, it misguidingly shows the old ugly design of the rooms instead of the beautifuly refurbushed rooms.

To visit in the village:
- The Nispero Zoo (although animals look sad in very small cages).
- The painted rocks (2 sculpted rocks, 3 small waterfalls and a walk in the forest).
- The Macho waterfall (less impressive in summer with a few water).
- The square three and a walk in the forest (the crickets are making amazing noises).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When we lived in Panama, Crater Valley was our favorite escape away from a bustling everyday llife in Panama City. The children loved the swimmingpool and the garden and as parents we could fully relax and enjoy tranquility and nature while simoultansely keep an eye on the children. We especially appreciated management who was always service oriented, friendly, attentative and lovely. I went back on a short visit last Saturday and to my happiness I found that management was still there, as engaged as always, but the remodeling has made this already lovely place even more beautiful! If you have the chance, take the opportunity to spend a few days in heaven at Crater Valley.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotta409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was my second visit to Crater Valley and the weekend was better then the first time. The entire property felt as though it was ours. I enjoyed walking through the exquisitely manicured gardens which have many hidden nooks to read, watch the birds, discover the many varieties of orchards nestled in the trees or just sit and meditate.
The pool with it's beautiful nautical blue hanging hammocks are the perfect place to take an afternoon siesta.
The oversize rooms were recently re-modeled, beautifully decorated and divine. Loved the lush bedding.
In the morning we hiked to see the square trees in the nearby forest. Did not need to use a car.
It was a treat having a massage in the garden palapa.
I look forward to my next trip back to Panama and will definitely go back.
Thank you to the great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mskimnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

What a unique and beautiful gem of a resort!
We could tour the amazing grounds and hear nature all around us, then retreat to our room with a warm shower, luxurious sheets and snuggle up and listen to the thunderstorm!
We had great massages in the open palapa over- looking the pond ...listening to the frogs, birds and gently running water... No lame new age music here.. It was the real thing!
We found the service very gracious and not overbearing.
crater valley is the epitomy of boutique ....authentic to the area while providing enough luxury to make it really special.
Ps...make sure to visit the local market for crafts and take an ATV ride!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 721anika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

What a great experience for us and the kids. The rooms are really nice, clean and new! The kids loved the pool and jacuzzi, along with the hotel grounds and playground. We felt like we were at a vacation house, instead of an informal hotel, with great service. We left a camera there, and Geysha immediately emailed us, and put it on the next bus, so it caught up with us in the next city, Gamboa. What service!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxosunflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at crater valley six days in total with the whole family including granny, who is very picky. We had an amazing time. Due to low season we had the whole hotel for ourselves. Before checking in we were welcomed heartly and shown every single room to chose from. The rooms are really beautiful and rather large, although some appear a little dark.

They do not have a real restaurant but serve great food if you order in advance. The meals were really creative and the staff was very eager to give us a great time. Every night we found a different surprise in our rooms like flowers, sweets etc. Every wish we had was more than satisfied. Sometimes you just have to ask.

Also the property is an amazing garden of eden. Flowers everywhere, fish ponds, a little stream, the pool and the hot jacuzzi made this place outstanding.

I can not understand people rating this place bad just because the staff doesnt speak English, remember you are in panama, this is not the United States!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karlovacko111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.7 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Valley

Property: Crater Valley
Address: Calle Ranita de Oro | Capirita, El Valle de Anton, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crater Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well-known 8-bedroom Family Estate established by Avelina "Bilo" Gonzalez-Revilla, is one of the most breath-taking properties in all of El Valle. Recently converted to a Bed and Breakfast Resort, its expansive grounds allows for guests to wander the gardens and enjoy the unique collection of Flora. Its serenity intices you to basque by the swimming pool, bird watch, or nap in one of the many hammocks. Expansive RENOVATIONS were completed in April 2013. Each of the Guest Rooms have been standardized and equipped with Air Conditioners, ceiling fans, deluxe linens, down pillows, and duvets. Our staff is available to organize Adventure Tours in the valley, on-site Massages, visit the town's Zoo, world-famous Sunday Market, etc. All you need to do is ask. We are here to pamper you - this is your Home away from Home.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crater Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crater Valley Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing