We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place filled with peace and nature”
Review of Casa Di Pietra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Di Pietra
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First time I ever went there was for Holy Week. I din't know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. We were a group of four, we got a perfectly spacious room with a nice balcony, perfect for a person that writes like myself. We were treated perfectly by the staff. One morning we got served our breakfast very quickly and i forgot to order what I wanted, when My plate got to the table I asked for another dish and the girl taking my order was perfectly cool about it. Rooms have hot water in the shower and are naturally cool and breezy. Anybody that likes calm and relaxing quarters will love this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioannisk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We came in mid-February, and loved the place on sight. The house is lovely, and very much as it looks in the web-page photograph - which is more than one can say for some of the places we visited! Our room was comfortable and relaxing (with a balcony which looked out onto the lushly beautiful grounds), the bed was comfortable,the shower was gorgeous and the food was good. We had a very warm welcome, too, and arrived on 'Happy Hour' evening so we got to meet Luis, our interesting and welcoming host. I think the rooms might appear a bit on the small side to anyone used to American-sized hospitality, but it was plenty big enough to suit us. We used the mosquito net - I believe not all rooms have these, and I will recommend to Luis that these are provided in all the rooms. When we arrived, the toilet was not working, but this was soon fixed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bear_Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My stay was a two day weekend trip with two friends. From the beginning our experience was delightful. We were welcomed in a warm and inviting fashion. Our needs we're anticipated and fulfilled. The rooms were decorated in a way that made us feel like we were meant to relax and to be most comfortable. The rocking chairs on the veranda made reading my book magical. The special touch of wine with Luis, our host, on my birthday was memorable. The design of the B & B, the Vision for the visitor's comforts and the service was impeccable. Do not miss the delicious and artfully served breakfasts. All three of us have confirmed that we will return.

Room Tip: No pool, no fitness center. I marked them by mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Just outside the centre of El Valle de Anton (15 minutes walk to the Market) you find the B&B Casa di Pietra (2-2,5 hours drive from Panama City). The characteristic building is located in a nice garden with free parking. This is about the only positive aspect we are able to mention in this review. What did we experience?

1) A cold welcome (we did in no way got a sense that we were expected. We had to ask the most fundamental questions about our stay ourselves);

2) The room (on the third floor) was very small and definitely not for tall people. Room was full of insects (doors/windows were open). No balcony, tv or fridge. Decent bathroom, however, the water in the toilet did not stop running (kept us awake trying to fix the problem in the middle of the night). We indicated we were not happy with the room but nothing else was available;

3) Poor, thin mattresses. Pillow covers and mats in the bathroom were full of dirty spots. The overall impression was that the place was not clean;

4) The room was very noisy (you hear other guests talking and walking);

5) There is no restaurant on side (as some information on Internet still indicates). A recommendation for a lunch restaurant was given but the place was closed (no effort was made to call and ask if the restaurant was open for lunch during this Christmas period?);

6) We ask for glasses (as we do not like to drink our own wine from the plastic water glasses in the room). We were given other plastic glasses.

7) Breakfast was good (nice fresh fruit, fresh orange juice) but suddenly (without asking) we were served a plate with eggs, cheese and baked ham (not nice; if you are vegetarian);

8) During our stay no one paid any attention to us. We felt totally left on our own. There was also hardly any one to ask any questions.

9) Check out was done by some one who only spoke Spanish, just took the money, did not ask about our experiences and was not able to provide us with any suggestions about the surroundings/hikes etc.

We paid 120 USD per night (breakfast included). Totally overpriced and no quality/price balance. We left very disappointed and totally not understanding why other Tripadvisor reviews are rather positive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Casa Di Pietra in early December. We had such a great stay. Luis is such a wonderful host. We so enjoyed him! Everyone there is friendly, helpful and actually, lots of fun! Our breakfasts were delicious, and Luis invited us to happy hour the second night. We had a blast! Would recommend this beautiful villa to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had cycled with a group from Granada Nicaragua to Panama City and wanted a few extra days in Panama to unwind prior to returning home. We also wanted to explore a different area of Panama and with a different climate. El Valle de Anton, located about 2 hours north west of Panama City was the perfect location. Finding Casa Di Pietra in El Valle was a bonus. The bedrooms were very comfortable. Our room was on the top floor and when you looked out the windows at the trees it felt like you were staying in a tree house. The shaded out door space was great for relaxing with a book and glass of wine.
Breakfast was delicious. A great place to stay to explore the area or just to relax.

Room Tip: It you can get a top floor room, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Luis and Alfredo have a wonderful guest home just off the main road. Luis was excellent, offering great hospitality and lots of advice on local sites and transportation.
Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and local dishes.
Staff were friendly and helpful, offering assistance throughout our stay.
The guesthouse is clean, comfortable and well maintained; although the mattress on our bed was a little thin.
Luis offered a very enjoyable "Happy Hour" in a perfect setting, which is a small bistro next to the outdoor dining area of the guesthouse.
Casa di Pietra is a great mix of Central American hospitality and Mediterranean ambiance. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
58 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
125 reviews
1 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Di Pietra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Di Pietra

Address: El Gaital #46 | Casa #46, El Valle de Anton 1000, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: £58 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Di Pietra has six comfortable suites with private balcony. Magnificent views from each room and direct contact with nature are only a few of our features. Our hotel offers accommodations for adults only because we want our guests to relax and enjoy the peace and silence that can only be found in this charming valley. Nature is all around you here. You will be able to appreciate different species of wildlife from the comfort of your room, or you can choose to go up close and see them for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Di Pietra Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing