We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible meal”

Restaurante Rincon Vallero
Cuisines: South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: in the Hotel Rincon Vallero
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
288 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Terrible meal”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We walked into the Rincon Vallero with some apprehension. It had a gloomy feeling and was nearly empty. We had a hard time finding any staff. I foolishly ordered the seafood pasta. The seafood had a very strong odor as if it had been sitting around for too long. I debated whether I should eat it, but hunger got the best of me. Fortunately, I had no consequences late in the night. A friend ordered a "crab" dish that was made of some anonymous, artificial crab substitute.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    36
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“loveeee this restaurant, best panamanian food.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

the service is a little slow, but i love the food, and the staff is very helpful. We ordered corvina al ajillo(gish fillets in garlic butter), pollo en salsa de hongos(chicken with mushroom sauce) and corvina a la plancha(grilled fish). Try to order panamanian food, its the best in this rest., the breakfast is the best part of my stayed in el Valle, homemade hot bread with butter, fruits, yummy hotcakes, natural orange juice, perfect!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank queenleyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seems sleepy but good food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The place was almost empty and seemed a little abandonned when we went in. Yet we were served efficiently. The dining room is really nice (apart from a kid watching TV with loud sound). the food is authentic with good quality overall. We had fish with garlic and it was delish. Generous plates, reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleonore V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“a little gem!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

they didn't speak English, we don't speak Spanish! but we made it all work. very sweet people, good service and food. great mimosas! loved the turtles and lizards, too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Net
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel must have seen better days, as when we asked friends about where to go to eat => this was the place to be. Yet the food was non edible, the pasta overcooked and soggy, the salad old, sloppy and the lettuce not washed. Service was slow, sloppy and was a fair match for the food. Never Again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Rincon Vallero also viewed

El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 

Been to Restaurante Rincon Vallero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing