We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem.”
Review of Hostal Cariguana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Cariguana
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We discovered Estaban's hostal by fluke here on tripadvisor. We had tried to book another place that had been recommended to us in El Valle. Estaban's website didn't have much detail but we we wanted to have something booked before we arrived. We thought we might only stay one night. HOWEVER, the place was so much more than we imagined and Estaban was a fantastic host. We stayed for three nights and could have stayed longer if we hadn't had to be in Panama City on a specific day.
We were the ONLY ones there for three nights so we had the huge covered space all to ourselves. We could lounge in the many hammocks without disturbing anyone. We had more than one nap there! We could make lunch on one of the many tables as well. Our room was clean and bright (end room with two windows and good air flow), and the bathroom, though a little small, was also nice and clean. The only thing that seemed strange at first was the plastic on the matress but we soon got used to that.
We had the use of a big fridge in the covered area. Estaban's sister made Duros and stocked the freezer with them. We had a few and put our 25 cents in the dish on the top of the fridge. We collected money from a couple of locals who also stopped to buy them : )
On our last day, Estaban showed us around the property and told us about his future plans (swimming pool, volleyball court, another taditional hut). He showed us a small outdoor kitchen we could have used but we never asked - we're self-sufficient travelers but a cup of tea would have been nice! Be sure to ask if you want to do any cooking. He also showed us all the medicial plants on the property ... he's a wealth of knowledge. He trained to be a doctor in Mexico and is now an Engineer ... ask him about it. Oh, and he'll make his terrific organic coffee for you if you ask. He grown, roasts and brews it on his property. He made our daughter a cup of cinnamon tea from his own tree as well.
It's a ten minute walk to 'downtown' and the limited restaurants but it's silent at night so we loved it. The pet parrots entertained us one afternoon and apparently they can sing "La Cocaracha". We also watched lots of humming birds from our hammocks and Keel-billed Toucans flew around across the street.
There is a spa called Cariguana as well but you'll know if you're in the wrong spot. They looked at us like we were crazy when we said we had a reservation. If you get to the spa, you are only two minutes away from the hostal (walking). You can also walk to El Macho and the hotsprings from here. The Sleeping Indian is a little too far (we biked to the bottom) so you'll have to walk to town and get a taxi.
We love to walk so Estaban's Hostal Cariguana was a hidden gem for us. It was close enough to everything but far enough away to feel like a retreat. Maybe ask Estaban to give you directions if you are coming in by bus - you could use up a lot of energy walking around El Valle looking for his place before you find it.
Thanks Estaban!

Room Tip: The end rooms have more windows for air flow. There are no air conditioners but you don't need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NicaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

This charming B&B is truly one-of-a-kind! Hostal Cariguana is home of a 101-year-old herbalist that still works! Her name is Maria Candelaria and she is the grandmother of Esteban Espinosa, the administrator of this peaceful refuge. Esteban is also a learned herbalist that studied for many years under his grandmother. I live nearby, and have frequently called on Maria's and Esteban's expertise. In most cases, Maria will diagnose the health problem and then fetch some herbs that she grows behind the hostal, then she will provide the herbal remedy with proper use instructions. She hasn't failed yet on several visits with different problems.

This accommodation doesn't tout its other enchanting amenities, such as home-grown and home-brewed coffee. A fresher or tastier coffee doesn't exist anywhere in the world since the coffee trees are growing on-site. Coffee-lovers that have sampled Panamanian coffee know what a delicacy this is. But within Panama, Hostal Cariguana offers the shortest distance from coffee tree to coffee cup.

Hostal Cariguana has an Internet Cafe on-site, several hammocks for relaxing in, and plenty of peace and tranquility, since it is a few blocks off the main street where trucks and buses never pass and cars rarely do.

The cost of the rooms are extremely low: in most cases between $27.50 and $50.00 per room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelDucharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ron307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank txopolo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anaiis-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrizio00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mariecast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.0 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#5 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol
Puerta del Sol
#4 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cariguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cariguana

Address: Calle Las Medinas 6738, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: £62 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Cariguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Cariguana Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing