We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great views and a lot of wind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sleeping Indian Girl

The Sleeping Indian Girl
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views and a lot of wind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This short hike (2 to 3 hours) gives you an impressive view over the old volcano crater. It gets a bit windy up there...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank arnaudvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    54
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Careful or you'll get lost like we did”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Agree with earlier reviews regarding problems finding the correct trail. We heeded the advice on TA about getting good directions but still managed to hike up the wrong mountain. The correct trail is very poorly marked. In fact, it's not marked at all at la Piedra del Sapo where you are supposed to make a left turn. Made the left turn and hiked and hiked steep trails for one to two hours--finally reached the top...of a neighboring peak. The man who had a house at the top was friendly and understanding, gently informing us the la India was "over there." At least the view was nice and we still felt our hike was worthwhile. Note: Lonely Planet advises against driving a car and parking in the area, but we didn't see a problem. If you want, you can pay one of the local kids to watch your car. False sense of security, since he won't be there by the time you get back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BobMyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
555 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Really?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you look hard you can maybe visualize a profile made up of the tops of mountains (or possibly the crater wall, I don't know which and really it makes no difference). And we went out of our way for this?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Walk up one side and down the other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Four of us went hiking up la India Dormida....it takes about 1 hr. 20 mins or so, at a fairly relaxed pace. It is not a strenuous hike, but neither is it a walk in the park. You walk up alongside a river, which is nice, but not anything special. It is only as you crown the peak, and come up into the windswept grassland top does the walk really become worth it. Once you come out of the trees you can walk along the ridge, up and down for quite a ways. You can see the valley of the volcano perfectly on a nice day. I don't recommend going down the main route one walks up...take the opportunity to stroll along the ridge and then descend down the grassy slopes, along one of the small footpaths. These lead back into the woods behind the valley neighbourhoods. Saw eye-catching blue-purple butterflies. great hike.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Picolo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
182 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very difficult to find trails”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had to make several attempts to find trails, in. It was very frustrating. Overall, we did not feel the hiking experience was worth the trip but did enjoy some of the few other things the area has to offer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 662marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sleeping Indian Girl also viewed

El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 

Been to The Sleeping Indian Girl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing