We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfortable place to stay.”
Review of Hostel Orchid

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Orchid
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfortable place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We traveled to El Valle and needed a place to stay and found the Hostel Orchid in our Lonely Planet book. It's a great hostel that is quiet and very comfortable. They have wi-fi, hot showers, and you can even visit the Orchid Garden for free when you stay there. It's about a 5-10 minute walk from downtown El Valle with restaurants, shops, and markets. We visited the Nispero Zoo to see the golden frog and took a hike to find the square trunk trees during our stay here. The people at the hostal were friendly, but not very informative when it came to asking questions about the town. One girl there had only been working there for a week. If you go out to dinner, make sure you leave early. Most places to eat close up around 6pm so there is not many choices for dinner options. We only spent one night in El Valle because we couldn't find enough things to do. If you like hiking and nature, this spot is for you and I would recommend staying at the Hostel Orchid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was a cute but very quiet place to visit. The gardens surrounding the hostel are very pretty but it's a very new set up so things are still being established. The volunteer there tried her best to help us with what there is to do, but unfort had not been there long herself. The double room is very basic, has a terrible mattress and a squeaky door, but is clean. It's a bit out of town but is nice if you want the peace and quiet. Best to visit if you love nature, not for party goers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

this is probably the best hostal in El Valle. It is part of the orchid center, so it is a beautiful place to stay with a nice garden, clean kitchen and a big dorm for six people (it also has private rooms). The price is good and the people are really friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I arrived in El Valle with no plan. I decided to walk around until I found something interesting and came across Hostel Orchidea. The rooms were a little expensive, but they let me pitch my hammock in the orchid garden for $5! In the orchid garden! How cool!

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, but my lack of Spanish at the time make a few encounters a bit confusing.

The hostel part of the property all seemed very nice with someone of it still being under construction. It looks like it will be extremely nice once all complete.

Also, the location is a bit out of town, but that's not a problem if you don't mind a 15 minute walk or just grabbing the frequent buses running in and out of town for I think 25 cents.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My daughter, a friend and I spent one night here. It was a large room with three bunk beds and a rather primitive bathroom, although it did have hot and cold water. The rate was $12 each, so we paid $36 and spent the night with a young backpacker from Belgium. Included in the price is the right to spend as much time as you like with the many gorgeous orchid plants and other flowers on the grounds. There are signs in Spanish and in English telling something about each species. We were comfortable and it gave us a base for a hike into the very beautiful hills around El Valle. If I'm not mistaken, I believe they have only the one room available for up to six persons. The beds could certainly use some updating, as well as the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We really had a great visit to El Valle de Anton, and this hostel contributed greatly to our experience. The room was clean and comfortable, and it was nice to have a hot water shower. The staff was super helpful in informing us of the surrounding area, where to go and what to see. The orchids were beautiful, and the free tour interesting and informative. I like that the hostel is not-for-profit, and that all the money made goes to supporting the efforts they're making here. I would recommend this hostel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.0 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#5 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol
Puerta del Sol
#4 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Cariguana
Hostal Cariguana
#7 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Orchid

Property: Hostel Orchid
Address: Main Street next to ANAM office, El Valle de Anton 00000, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Speciality Lodging in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in September 2011, Hostel Orchid is the first genuine backpacker's hostel in El Valle de Anton! Conveniently located at the heart of town, Hostel Orchid offers 3 bunk beds with comfortable mattresses, hot shower, free use of Wi-Fi, a free visit of the orchid conservation center APROVACA and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing