We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Pepe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Don Pepe
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night stay ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were only in El Valle for two days; one night at Hotel Don Pepe. We found the hotel to be clean and very friendly, centrally located. We would happily return. The people we came in contact with were helpful and kind, offering service above and beyond what we expected. The stores in the area have all you need at prices that are very affordable. Standing on the balcony of the hotel we could watch the fog roll in, gaze at the Sleeping Princess, enjoy the lovely views. The farmer's market was full and enticing and we were only there for two weekdays.

Room Tip: A room away from the main street would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taps5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

this was a total first the service here was over the top.helpful in every aspect.and for the Price i would totally send travelers here.and to ask for jose,he really went out of his way to accommidate my stay.well worth checking out.

Room Tip: this place is truely a hidden secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skipholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here one night last week. This is a very good option if you are limited on funds. The room and private bathroom are minimally adequate and clean.

On the downside, there is no air conditioning, swimming pool, refrigerator, or safe, and a resident dog barks periodically right outside the rooms. On the upside, the notion of sleeping above a very colorful souvenir shop in the middle of the town has a certain charm to it, if you want to think of it that way.

This is definitely not a play to hang around all day. It is, on the other hand, a good place to crash for a night, or to use as a central landing spot to use for daily excursions.

Nice view of the mountain right across the street. Restaurants within the same strip and up the road within easy walking distance.

Oh, and this place has WiFi networking included in the room charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
223 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place is more like a motel I find, It doesn't have much charm, but it's clean, comfortable, has internet, TV, privates, and is right in the middle of town. For the price, i think it's very reasonable, although the decoration is a little outdated. Stayed there four nights, didn't regret it, but there are more charming places for almost the same price, like Casa Mariposa.

Room Tip: Prenez du côté opposé à la rue pour avoir moins de bruit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

[Staying at the Don Pepe was a mistake, not one that I regret. It was a great place to stay. I had confused it with the Hotel Residential, next door.]
A very nice 'grandmotherly' lady showed us to a very clean, nicely decorated and comfortable room on the second floor. $50. I asked her for some ice for my bruised toe and even though there was no 'hotel ice' she went to her own room and got a pitcher full for me.
Back to the room. No AC; there was a fan, but it wasn't necessary because the wind was howling all night and it kept the room cool. On a hotter day, I doubt if the fan would suffice. No satellite, the TV had rabbit ears and was of no use for entertainment. But all I wanted was some ice and a comfortable bed. There was a WiFi area on the terrace where I could sit at a table overlooking the private courtyard where my car was parked. My shower in the morning had plenty of hot water. What more could I want for a one night stay?

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyDave232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was a decent budget option for our family of five. The room we had reserved, however, wasn't available when we actually got there. An inconvenience but we agreed to a smaller/cheaper room and they promptly brought us an extra mattress and bedding to fit the five of us in one room. Some of the pillows are horribly uncomfortable/lumpy. If on the street side, be prepared for strong gusts of winds howling through the doors and windows.
No internet in room but there are a couple of WiFi areas in the hallway and upstairs in the hammock area.
Overall, helpful staff but difficult to find in the evenings. One potential guest was trying for half an hour to find someone to talk to. Office area was totally dark but someone can usually be found in the rooms to the right of the stairs/WiFi area on 2nd floor. Before I realized this, I walked through hallways on both levels before I found someone talking to someone outside the restaurant below who could help me.
Regarding the restaurant below by the same name - we had a horrible experience (see my review)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Forge, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The family that runs Hotel Don Pepe make you feel at home. Very well maintained comfortable and affordable. Open air community terraces on each floor are breezy cool and comfortable..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
17.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
15.8 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Cocle
Hotel Cocle
#1 of 1 in Penonome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 11 in El Valle de Anton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
16.6 mi away
Crater Valley
Crater Valley
#7 of 11 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 11 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pepe

Property: Hotel Don Pepe
Address: Ave Principal, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing