We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely love it!”
Review of Casa Mariposa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
1 review
“We absolutely love it!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Mariposa and had a fantastic time. This is a great accommodation especially if you have younger kids as they can spend time with the sloths, just hangout in the hammock or play in the lush gardens. The breakfast is awesome with fresh eggs from the hens!!

Very relaxing and beautiful place and lovely hosts!!
Highly recommend!!
Lina

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    24
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had only time to stay for one night at Casa Mariposa on our way from Panama City to Boca Chica. Unfortunately, after our visit to the Panama Canal, we ended up going backwards, into the city again, where we were lost for a few hours, even with GPS. Therefore, we arrived in El Valle in the dark, breaking rule number 1. Don't drive in rural areas in Panama in the dark. Fortunately, the Panamanians are incredibly gracious when accosted by lost gringos, which must be pretty common. Even with a pretty steep language barrier, we finally found the hotel. By that time, we were pretty much exhausted, but Ursula gave us very good options for dinner and even though it was late, we managed to have a very good meal at Bruschetta.

Our cabin was spacious and clean. We really enjoyed the wildlife paintings on the walls. The room was otherwise very basic, which was fine with us. Simple beds, table, chair, etc. Small patio outside the room had a fridge, etc.

We had arranged to have breakfast for a small additional cost, so the next morning when we got up, our breakfast was waiting for us in a lovely gazebo. Breakfast was perfect and we really enjoyed the setting. It was so beautiful and peaceful. After breakfast, we had time to walk around the grounds, which were beautiful, including the tower, and to visit with the sloths. Ursula seems to have found her calling, caring for these special creatures. Walking around the grounds, you can really see how much work Ursula and Harry have put into the property. It is a special place and I wish we had been able to stay longer. As we were leaving, Ursula gave us directions for a scenic drive over the mountains, rather than getting back on the highway and we really enjoyed the trip.
We recommend Casa Mariposa for families who like nature, beautiful surroundings and are not looking for luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our family of four had a wonderful time at this guest house, We rented the apartment for just over a week, and it was perfect. If we didn't have a plane to catch, all of us would have loved to stay much longer! The apartment is perfect, very clean, and has a well-stocked kitchen. Most days, we walked to the market and the bakery, and cooked our meals in the apartment. The apartment is in easy walking distance to everything you need in this beautiful, relaxed town. The garden and patio areas are beautiful as well. We felt more at home here than we have on the rest of our trip.

What really sets this guest house apart though is the owners. Ursula and Harry are both very friendly and helpful people - they speak many languages, and are very welcoming. They were both very kind to our kids. Harry brought out games for the kids to play in the garden, and cut down plantains with their help. When my youngest son got a fever, Ursula took off the afternoon to take us to the Health Centre and help translate. It was a stressful time, and it was wonderful to have her help!

The owners have rescued some orphaned sloths, and it was great to be able to interact with the sloths and help feed them. It is hard not to be happy when you look at a sloth. Both boys now say that sloths are their favourite animals!

We loved El Valle, and we loved Casa Mariposa. We would love to return one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Kentucky, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great host, and meeting Sammie the sloth was once in a lifetime experience.
Peaceful surroundings and a brief walk to the market.
The knowledge of the host on the area was very beneficial and offered locations to visit in and around ElValle.
My wife and I will be returning to area and we will not stay anywhere else than with Ursala and Harry.

Room Tip: All locations has the sound of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My parents and I stayed in the two cabins that they have available. These are located behind the main house in the back of the garden. The cabins are spacious with a good bathroom area. The only thing I missed is a little more light in the bathroom.
In between the two cabins there is a little patio with a fridge for shared use. The owners have placed some beers and sodas in here that you can use at a reasonable price (breakfast is not included). There is enough space to also put your own drinks in here. If you are staying here using just one of the cabins, and there are other guests occupying the other one, the patio is a little small. However there is another patio in the garden that you can use as well as the roof terrace which is very big.
The owners, Ursula and Harry, are sheltering some sloths that cannot survive in the wild anymore and they actually received another one while we were staying there.
There is a coffee house and supermarket within a few minutes walk. The town center is a little further but very doable.
All in all, a great place with great ambience and for a very good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fhr1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahuma, Curaçao
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We loved the surroundings of the bed & breakfast, the beautiful garden, the little river, nice flowers. We (a family) hiked a lot, did the zipline experience in the neighbourhood, enjoyed it very much. Thanks to Ursula & Harry and the Slots for a memory we will not forget!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Chiriqui, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a really good time here. Ursula and Harry were great hosts. Delicious breakfast in a comfortable, private outdoor setting. I was traveling with live fish for my research, and they helped me find a place to keep them during my stay. Overall a very great experience for a very fair price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
54 reviews
15.1 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariposa

Property: Casa Mariposa
Address: Calle Principal | 200 mts despues de mini super Hong Kong, a mano Izquierda, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mariposa is a guesthouse in the center of el Valle de Anton with an apartment and two guestrooms for rent. The huge terrace offers a wonderful view of the mountains, like the India Dormida,, Caraiguana and the Gaital. The unique tropical garden invites you to relax and enjoy bird watching. Parking and Wifi are included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing