We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian food en El Valle!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buon Appetito

Buon Appetito
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: The taste of Italy in El Valle de Anton. Buon Appetito opens take away only,Pizza and the new Panuozzo. Delivery available.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Italian food en El Valle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a small family run Italian restaurant with incredible authentic Italian food. The wood oven prepared pizza is incredible. The homemade deserts are delicious. The service was very good and the owners very friendly. Our family and friends enjoyed the restaurant and family atmosphere. The place is a bit hard to find, but don't give up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDBLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    11
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Our family of six from the US was driving around Valle de Anton, comparing the menus of Pizza places. This place was in a quiet dark neighborhood out of the way but it had an outdoor oven so we stopped in. Actually I can say that this was the best pizza I have ever eaten. Seriously, I traveled in Italy for many months in my youth and this is equal to the best I had in Italy. The owner opened it about 6 months ago, having moved from Italy about a year ago. She formed her own clay and straw oven and built her own furniture. It looks like they operate the restaurant out of their house with outdoor seating on the wrap around porch/deck. Her tiramisu from her mom's recipe was also the best ever. Congratulations! She also let us take a video of the kids dancing in front of her oven. Good times, thanks. Six out of five stars!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ACfbw6pjrPM&feature=share

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AME1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I am so thankful that our innkeeper recommended Buon Appetito. Since it's a bit off the main drag and nondescript, I otherwise would have missed out on a fantastic meal. The homemade pasta was incredible and a great value. Great, personal service. A little hunt to find, but worth asking around for directions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BobMyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza at great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Can not recommend this place enough!!!!! Fantastic hand-made oven-fired pizzas at unbelievable prices ($5 - $8.50). They call them personal size and if you have a huge appetite maybe you could eat the whole thing but there’s 8 good sized pieces so you can easily share. Our family of 5 (3 kids 12 and under) ordered 2 pizzas and were well satisfied. We could have ordered a third but would have been stuffed. Excellent personalized service and we were thrilled to feed our family a delicious meal for $20!! (including some pop too).
They’re located down a side road - look for their sign down by the church/bakery on the main street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good pizza in a nice family's carport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I asked one of the staff at the hotel where I was staying where to go in El Valle for the best pizza. His immediate response was Buon Appetito. He said it was down a side-street at someone's house, which sounded interesting. Sometimes the best places to eat are the local mom-and-pop places. Found it quite easily - go past the market and turn right at the Panaderia (bakery). It is 150 meters down the street on the right. They have an authentic stone pizza oven and make pasta and calzones too. Seemed odd to eat in someone's carport, but why not? A group of travelling musicians even stopped by to entertain and pass the hat. These are the type of rewarding experiences you can have if you are a traveler and not a tourist.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buon Appetito also viewed

El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 

Been to Buon Appetito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing