We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant in El Valle”
Review of Santa Librada - CLOSED

Santa Librada
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in El Valle”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We ate lunch and dinner here and would have eaten breakfast but it was full. The place is clean and offers good Panamanian food. The beer is cheap and cold. At one meal we had grilled pollo,bistec a la plancha (both with sides) and 2 beers total cost was $12.50. The whole fried corvina was excellent. If you want breakfast on a Sunday morning better get there early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Huaschalocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Would of Been OK Except....”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This restaurant was clean and the food was good but the service was horribly slow. We waited 40 forty minutes for a coffee and when we got our bill it was for $25 when it should have been $16.50. Horrible service and overcharging makes me say that this restaurant should be avoided.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cepage1ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally underrated”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Possibly the first "real" Panamanian meal I had...after five days of being in the country.

The wife and I had grilled chicken which was genius and came with excellent lentils and rice. Two hearty meals plus a salad and two Balboas for...$17. You can't beat that. Extra points for being well run, clean and two ladies who ran it being really nice and helpful.

Generally speaking I'm finding it true that Panama does not have great food so some comfort food was a really nice change. It was mostly full of families from Panama so obviously a good sign.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_traveler074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great budge option to dine and to stay”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed two nights at the rooms in the back and it is a great budget option for couples. The shower was cold and the beds weren't super comfortable, but it is only 20 bucks a night! The ladies who own the place are super cute. We ate two breakfasts in the restaurants and they were quite good. Overall, the atmosphere is too nice to pass!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zayatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large portions, Great value”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Recommended by our travel book (Lonely Planet) so we thought we’d check it out, especially since we had had a really bad experience elsewhere (Don Pepe’s) and were hoping for a positive experience. Found it here! Very friendly servers, excellent food and large portions at a great price (many meals around $4.50). The ‘combinación’ rice was a big hit with our family.
Plates were delivered to the table at different times but within a few minutes from the first to the fifth one - MUCH better than our experience at nearby Don Pepe’s where it was a 20 minute difference.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Librada also viewed

El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing