We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved "The Frog"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Golden Frog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2008

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. When we arrived the hosts welcomed us warmly and the welcoming feeling never stopped the whole week. We arrived at dusk and were invited to stay on their beautiful balcony and have some wine while watching the sunset. (Something that is done every night at the Golden Frog Inn) A great spot to meet new people and have great conversation. No worries for those of you who like a quiet evening because there are 2 balconies at the main house, the 2nd one just a gorgeous as the main one with the same gorgeous view but with a more tranquil experiece.
Our room was BEAUTIFUL!!! We had a room right next to the pool in a very private location. It was a seperete building from the main house.(There are actually 3 main buildings on the property) It was very private, spotlessly clean, with our own private veranda facing the pool.
The pool was spotless too. Every morning we would see a gentleman cleaning and vacuuming the pool.( The staff where all very pleasant and willing to help too.) AND, if you like gardens and beautifully kept blooming plants, then this is the place for you.
The hosts had several ideas of where you could go to eat and also what attractions there were to do while visiting El Valle. Our personal favorite was the night hike which the hosts will book for you. Another treat is having a spa treatment right in your room. Once again, booked for you if you ask.
Overall, it was a wonderful, tranquil place to stay. If you are looking for a place to stay that is not your typical, "cookie cutter" B &B or hotel stay, then "The Golden Frog" is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BB2Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2008

A few weeks ago, my wife and I stayed at The Golden Frog Inn, in El Valle de Anton, Panama, and had a fantastic time. The hosts Becky and Larry (a retired American couple) were very nice and helpful. The lush gardens, multi-level terraces, afternoon wine, quiet, clean and cool rooms, and the spectacular views of the valley helped make our stay incredibly memorable. Breakfast was also a treat (plenty of fresh fruit, eggs and mouthwatering banana bread), and while we were there, we ran into all sorts of interesting people -- the former Mayor of Panama City has a weekend home in El Valle, and is a frequent visitor to the Inn's afternoon "happy hour" (where he can regale you with many tales of the country and its people.) If you're coming to Panama, you owe it to yourself to visit one of the most beautiful areas in the country, and we highly recommend staying here!

(P.S. The hammock on the terrace was a great place to enjoy a book from the Inn's extensive lending library -- another nice touch!)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Admiral_H_Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

In 2006 my wife and I were in Panama for the first time and planned a stop in El Valle de Anton. As a Bed & Breakfast we'd heard good things about was booked, they told us about a new place that might have space, The Golden Frog! What a break.!

It was a former villa of the Vice President of Panama and the rooms and grounds were far better than I expected for the price. Anyway, the hosts were terrific and helpful. We had a great time visiting the markets, seeing the square trees, and hiking in the jungles.

The bird watching was a bit disappointing until the last day because of the winds in Feb. The last day the winds dropped and the birds came out. The colors were unreal.

My wife are going back to Panama next week and, along with a trip to Taboga Island and the City, definitely plan to spend part of our trip at the Golden Frog in El Valle de Anton and see beautiful birds every day this time!

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Glidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

We showed up on the 'Frogs" doorstep, tired from our trip and ready for some peace and quiet. Joyfully met by the Frogs hosts we were shown to our room, far from the main house, close to the pool and well equipped with a hammock positioned to best advantage for the view. Ahhh, does it get any better? As it turns out, in this case it did. Every morning, breakfast included a fresh papaya and pineapple smoothie, and an assortment of local favorites to enjoy on the terrace. Flowers were in abundance and Monte, our relaxation mentor, rested in a tree. Let me explain, Monte is a three toed sloth that hangs around the Golden Frog and gives lessons in, well, sloth-ness. Just what we needed!!
Larry and Becky are truly amazing hosts who appear and disappear at just the right times.
I look forward to visiting many times and seeing all of the things we missed on this trip. What a place!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TUSKbellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

I live in Panama and the Golden Frog Inn is where I go repeatedly to alleviate stress. The grounds simply hug you, the rooms are impeccable as is the service. The owners are so very welcoming and knowledgable about the area and go out of their way to serve an eye appealing, delicious breakfast. I often go several times a month and it is a must stop for visiting friends and family. Never rated anywhere before, but this inn is just too good to pass up.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank SoraBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We were travel-weary and decided to treat ourselves for a night. We ended up staying for 6 days! The town of El Valle has many hidden treasures, and the Golden Frog Inn is not only delightful, but an excellent value. The property is beautiful, the breakfasts were fun, creative, beautifully served, and most of all - delicious! The best part was the interesting people we met. Our fellow guests had many ideas and suggestions about what to see and do in the area. The owners, Becky and Larry, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and fascinating. We are looking forward to returning to Panama - and especially to El Valle and the Golden Frog Inn!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AgnesMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

I am a frequent visitor to El Valle de Anton, Panama, and I am very impressed with the Golden Frog Inn. The combination of gorgeous surroundings, sweet rooms, beautiful sunsets from the terrace at happy hour, a great breakfast, super-friendly staff, and continually interesting guests make this place a real find in the world. I really would call this place paradise... and a difficult place to leave. I would definitely recommend spending more than one night in El Valle. It's a place like no other, and the Golden Frog is a perfect location to enjoy it all from.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JGFrankPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
431 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
125 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Frog Inn

Address: Calle Las Veraneras, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: £70 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Frog Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Frog Inn is a little piece of paradise here in El Valle de Anton. Newly remodeled in early 2011, the villa's larger guest units are now equipped with fully stocked kitchens and cable TVs to better accommodate guests for longer stays. The villa is located in a very quiet, peaceful area of El Valle. The 42 foot pool, the sunsets, and spectacular bird watching make for a wonderful tropical get-away. We know you will enjoy your stay at the Golden Frog Inn. Come and share the beauty of this beautiful villa and community with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Frog Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing