We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds. Friendly owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Golden Frog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds. Friendly owners.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Inn. It was very quiet, we were the only guests. The owners helped us set up night hikes and gave information about the area. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with a kitchen area. You have to really like nature. Being in the mountains not much air conditioning is needed. But during the afternoon it gets a little hot/humid. Left all windows and doors opened, which meant a lot of nature came in (ants, moths, lizards). I was OK with it, my kids not so much. Rooms were clean and well furnished. Wi-fi worked outside on porch, not in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    59
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
80
186
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at Golden Frog Inn. This place is situated in a very beautiful and quiet neighborhood, a walking distance from the centre of El Valle. Our suite was very comfortable and pristine clean. It has a small fully equipped kitchen, a large patio where you can sit and enjoy your meal. Each day, we were invited to a 6-7 gathering with the owners and other guests over a glass of wine and fine appetizer. There is also a big swimming pool surrounded by a magnificient garden. We are definitely recommending this place and would go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0see_Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellbrook, OH
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Golden Frog Inn for 3 nights. We loved the room and how much room we had plus the nice kitchen. It was a perfect location to relax and enjoy birding in the El Valle area. Becky arranged for a wonderful bird guide for us. He helped us find the most amazing birds. Loved the happy hour with Becky and Larry. The appetizers were so delicious and was so so nice to sit and talk and learn about their live journey that brought them to Panama. Great folks! Thanks for sharing your paradise with us Larry and Becky!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We arrived at the Inn late afternoon, on our first day in Panama. It took no time at all to correctly predict this was going to be the highlight stay of the entire trip:)

I cannot imagine a more pleasing-to-the-senses way of falling asleep than to the sound of tropical insects, frogs, night birds… and to the welcomed breeze floating through the windows.

The grounds are exquisite, and the place feels lived in in a wonderful way. Becky generously shared with us some insights into the culture of the place, as well as into some of the favourite things about life in a Panamanian mountain town.

And the surroundings are really delightful. Plenty of opportunities to hike, a lively open market, and a local restaurant with a terrific ambience.

Will be looking forward to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GR_1297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Golden Frog Inn and it was absolutely perfect for us.

Everything about the place was comfortable and relaxed. We are the type of people that go with the flow, always looking for those special gems in life. Becky and Larry have built a wonderful life for themselves up on that hill, and Adrian is a pleasure to be around.

We initially came for 1 night but ended up staying 3. The happy hour is a wonderful way to get to know everyone and is also a nice routine in the day.

If you are reading this review I am assuming you already know about El Valley. If you are thinking you need to make the treck to Boquete or Bocas Del Toro to experience something special in Panama, know that El Valley is truly special. You won't be disappointed.

The only thing I will say is that we rented a car which gave us freedom to explore. The Golden Frog is a long walk to town so having a car will make your trip that much more enjoyable. But, I think that's safe to say no matter where you go : )

Last note. We will come back.

ps, Do the night hike!!!

pps, Visit Massiel for food. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and appropriately priced. It depends on what you are looking for and how much y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heiseric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It rained the whole 3 days we were in El Valle and boy are we glad we picked this place! Not a bad place to be hold up! We did ask for the smallest room, and it was small, but w the grounds being so expansive there was plenty of places to stretch out and read and enjoy relaxing. Happy Hour is a wonderful addition to sip wine and talk w Larry and Becky. It was quite enjoyable and added to the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnKC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Golden Frog Inn. I can only echo the many nice comments about Becky, Larry, and Adrian. They were gracious hosts and treated us like family. The landscaping and birdwatching (right from our patio!) were fantastic. We cancelled our trip to the beach and stayed an extra day! There are not enough good things to say about the Golden Frog Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
415 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
54 reviews
15.0 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
9.2 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Frog Inn

Property: The Golden Frog Inn
Address: Calle Las Veraneras # 22, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Frog Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Frog Inn is a little piece of paradise here in El Valle de Anton. Newly remodeled in early 2011, the villa's larger guest units are now equipped with fully stocked kitchens and cable TVs to better accommodate guests for longer stays. The villa is located in a very quiet, peaceful area of El Valle. The 42 foot pool, the sunsets, and spectacular bird watching make for a wonderful tropical get-away. We know you will enjoy your stay at the Golden Frog Inn. Come and share the beauty of this beautiful villa and community with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Frog Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing