We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Frog Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Campestre(El Valle de Anton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Residencial El Valle(El Valle de Anton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anton Valley Hotel(El Valle de Anton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Playa Corona(Playa Coronado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manglar Lodge(San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Hotel(San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
290
66
16
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
66
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourother guestsb bpanama citybanana breadnice poolropa viejain townthe main housefirst morninggrounds are beautifulvolcanic craterfeel at homestayed nightsgreat hostslarge roomvery nice place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Becky and Larry went out of their way to make us feel really welcome and at home in this wonderful retreat. We stayed in a suite which was lovely and had everything we needed. We are vegan and our hosts made sure we had vegan appertizers at their happy hour and gave us a big basket of fruit for the room. They also gave us a bottle of champagne as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary while we were there. We couldn't have wished for more. This place is truly great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

With amazing views and well appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fresh flowers everywhere Becky, Larry and Adrian do a fantastic job of making you feel at home. The welcoming fruit and goodies tray and fun happy our just add to your enjoyment While staying here. I had the pleasure of having a massage booked for me and highly recommend that you make this part of your stay. The massage was amazing, one of the best I have ever had. Becky, Larry and Adrian are so helpful with their knowledge of the area and any questions that you may have and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The grounds are beautiful, the views amazing And El Valle is a must see spot on your trip to Panama. I highly recommend this Inn and we will be going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the larger ones offer a kitchen and more space to relax.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cepage1ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

First of all; El Valle is a great place to visit for a couple of days. Its only 2-3 hours (depends on traffic and no of stops - small busses leave regularly from Albrook terminal) from smoggy Panama City. Its a small town with enough things to do (hike, cycle, canopy etc), eat and sleep. We had the pleasure to stay at Golden Frog. Its a small scale accommodation with comfortable, clean and spacious rooms, some with a well equipped kitchen. Its the perfect place to relax after a hike. Owners Larry and Becky are very welcoming and helpful, so was the Argentinian 'padrone' Adrian, a great guy who knew everything about El Valle and the rest of Panama. His tips helped us a lot during our trip.

Don't miss out on El Valle and/or Golden Frog.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights - Becky, Larry, and Adrian are wonderful hosts. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The pool area is very nice and welcome in the December sunny days. There is an evening happy hour, which is a great opportunity to meet fellow guests. El Valle is in a beautiful area - lush and mountainous with a dry and breezy climate (in late December). Having a rental car makes the visit much easier (consider picking the car up at the Albrook airport about 15 minutes from downtown Panama City to avoid driving in the city) then head west for about 1.5 hours to El Valle. There are several good restaurants, hiking, birding etc. the Golden Frog is a magical place!

Room Tip: A room with a kitchen is great!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takoma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our hosts, Becky, Larry, and Andrian, made our stay so pleasant. They are attentive and thoughtful, making certain we felt pampered. The sunset happy hour was the highlight of the visit. I can't imagine a more relaxing atmosphere with the view the inn's tropical gardens against the backdrop of the mountains that form the rim of the crater, the largest inhabited volcanic crater in the world. The communal kitchen was a real plus, as it allowed us to get an early cup of coffee and enjoy the early birds at the same time. This is a nature lovers paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews