We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in El Valle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Golden Frog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2009

The Golden Frog is a really pretty place. It's not really close to the restaurants but El Valle is pretty spread out so all locations seem to have their advantages/disadvantages. The B&Bs garden and the view really make it worth staying off the main street, it's a great place to laze by the pool or in a hammock and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Adriano the manager is great, he speaks excellent English and is very knowledgeable about the area (and football and many other subjects!), a great guy to have a chat with. The breakfast was great, and the rooms were fine, noisy when it was windy outside but i guess other places might have the same problem as they all seem to have the same type of windows.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2009

Golden Frog Inn is tranquil and very relaxing. It is set up in the mountains and is very secluded. When you wake up in the morning you can hear the sound of the birds, smell the fresh mountain air and enjoy your cup of Panamanian coffee in a hammock! This place was perfect after spending two days in the hustle and bustle of Panama City. We decided to take a city bus from Albrook Terminal to El Valle de Aton. The bus ride was an interesting experience and made for a great adventure. The bus stops randomly on the side of the road the whole way to pick up people...and not just people also two long water tubes that the driver stuck in the aisle of the bus. The bus ride was about two hours and dropped us in the center of El Valle. We had to grab a cab to Golden Frog Inn because it is a little bit of a hike with your luggage. The cab was about $2. The rooms at Golden Frog Inn are perfect. They have a nice large bathroom with hot water and cute decorations. Around 6:15 there is a happy hour where there is some light appetizers and wine. It was great to talk to people staying there along with the owner and Adrienne (sp?). Everyone was EXTREMELY nice and welcoming. The helped to get us cabs when we needed them, told us the great places to hike to and made our stay a success. We loved Panama and this was probably one of our favorite places we went while in the country. If your looking for some relaxation and some clean, fresh mountain air and sun this is the place for you! We loved Golden Frog Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The Golden Frog met /exceeded all our expectations. After driving from PC on our way to Bocas del Torro we arrived quite late..11:00 PM.. and found Adrian waiting for us. This small gorgeous BnB is a find.. I would definitely stay here again.. The breakfast and coffee are great.. There were 6 of us... our 4.. 20 something kids and friends and 2.. 60 something kids (us) all ejoyed our stay. Becky and Larry are great host.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

All of the past reviews were right - this place was absolute perfection.

We stayed for 3 nights in Room 1, which was large, spotlessly clean and had a large private patio with a table and hammock which overlooked the pool and had great mountain views. The bath was also nice and had endless amounts of hot water and had great mountain views as well! Evenings were spent on the large common terrace with incredible mountain views. Drinks and appetizers were provided and we enjoyed talking with the hosts and other guests. There was a beautiful communal kitchen available to guests, which we used one evening and had most everything we needed - it also had a large fridge which was great for keeping drinks and snacks.

Becky was on vacation, so we only had the pleasure of meeting Larry and Adrian - the manager who was the absolute BEST. Although we had tons of questions, we never seemed to be a bother to him and you could tell he truly cared for his guests and was always available to help. From the great level of communication back and forth prior to our stay - to Larry offering to give us a ride into town when we left - this is what makes a place exceptional.

The grounds were spectacular and if you're into birding, you needn't leave your own porch to see great birds at any time of day.

As far as proximity to town, it is a bit of a hike, but staying in this particular area of El Valle is worth it and taking a taxi or biking back and forth (as we did) made it a non-issue.

This was our third trip to Panama and the Golden Frog is now our favorite place to stay. We can't wait to return again - this was everything we were looking for in accommodations. Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

This place was great, only thing is if you don't have a car be ready to walk ALOT or take a horse into town everyday :) There is only one taxi driver in this town which was fine. They made great recommendations, did zip lining which was a lot of fun, the hot springs, they have a great view in the back, a bit of a hike. Great pool, rooms are very large, they have a happy hour with great conversation... and the best B & B breakfast i've ever had. Def not continental. Ask for her 'special' french toast sauce. The only thing is you need a car unless you love to walk, its not bad if you are only walking into town but for zip lining it was quite a trek and the springs too but not as bad. Renting a bike would be a great option too.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNP_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

What a great place to stay while in El Valle. The property is full of birds and flowers, the rooms are nice, and the happy hour is a great idea. The hosts, Becky and Larry, are both very interesting people to talk to and Adrian, the manager, tops off the conversation possilies. At 6:00 pm everyone gathers on the veranda for wine and snacks. Happy hour for us, ended up being 3 or 4 hours. A great place to relax, but the surrounding area has so many things to do. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SteelToeSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We arrived at the B&B and from the first knew this was going to be a great place. The owners were fantastic and would help anyway they could. The rooms were clean, big and well appointed. Nice pool and great views. I just cannot say enough good about the Golden Frog. This is what a B&B should be. I wish others in Panama would take lessons from the golden Frog. I forgot to mention the Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank swtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
431 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
126 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Frog Inn

Address: Calle Las Veraneras, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: £69 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Frog Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Frog Inn is a little piece of paradise here in El Valle de Anton. Newly remodeled in early 2011, the villa's larger guest units are now equipped with fully stocked kitchens and cable TVs to better accommodate guests for longer stays. The villa is located in a very quiet, peaceful area of El Valle. The 42 foot pool, the sunsets, and spectacular bird watching make for a wonderful tropical get-away. We know you will enjoy your stay at the Golden Frog Inn. Come and share the beauty of this beautiful villa and community with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Frog Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing