We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE FOR LUNCH”
Review of La Casa de Lourdes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa de Lourdes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Don't know about the rooms, but had a great lunch here.

A great recommendation from a local guide book. Beautiful location over looking El Valle. The open restaurant was in a high vaulted colonnade over looking the Romanesque pool and grounds. Friendly service, if a bit leisurely; regional menu choices; tasty food, well presented. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter_R_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

The establishment is very poorly equipped for guest stay. The owner is haughty and indiscrete. She told us while making the booking, that she charges extra USD 20/ day/child for children as they waste too much breakfast. During the second day of our stay she wanted to check if we had taken away her Burberry Towels. Providing a dinner table reservation in the restaurant to house guests was almost like a favor and would put anyone off. The owner once even came to our table in one of the evenings to count our plates to see if we had eaten too many dishes.
In our second morning of stay breakfast , there was no accompaniment provided for eggs, as the local food – Tamales - could not be made available, as also the ‘el valle town was out of bread’. The staff was rude enough to tell us that they were busy and could not arrange more than they have provided.
The swimming pool/jacuzzi had a frog swimming in it in the evening, which discouraged us to use it.
There was also a very unpleasant smell around the stairs leading to our rooms. The outdoor cushioned chairs have bad stains, as also the white cushion chairs kept at the landing next to the stairs leading to guest rooms.
The larger (king size) room had all its closets filled up with owners/establishment effects so we had to live out of a suitcase. On the second day of our stay the cable TV stopped working in the room.
The hotel rooms do not have power back up and we had to run around for matches and lamps when we went without electricity for many hours in our second night of stay.
The Hotel is poor value for money for the tariff charged. I would only recommend the establishment for an occasional meal (definitely not breakfast) as their chef makes good food.

Room Tip: if you have to stay please take king size bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank smsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This is a beautiful small boutique hotel, with a larger hotel next door, which belongs to the owner's brother. It is spotless, and the food is sublime. Well worth a trip to El Valle. It has become a landmark, no trip to Panama is complete without stopping at La Casa de Lourdes. The owner is always there, checking that everything is perfect, which helps.
We can recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evaparada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

If you are looking for a nice restaurant during your stay in El Valle, definitely check out La Casa de Lourdes. It was great service, food and atmosphere! Also great value for money. Our meal was cheap considering the quality of food, etc. It's also in a beautiful setting with the feel of a Tuscan villa!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank lkp155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Enjoyed my stay. I stumbled upon La Casa de Lourdes after driving up to El Valle de Anton from the beach. I loved the Italian villa styling. A quaint relaxing place with a restaurant on the premises that served me up some fantastic cuisine. I also really like the climate in El Valle. Very pleasant. A good place to cool down and relax after a day or afternoon at the beach. There is a great beach about 30 minutes down the mountain.

Planning to go back up there over Christmas.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmahaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Apparently you can add a 3 person steam room and
similar sauna....and a hot tub for 6 and call yourself
a spa and not a hotel, if you can also offer an overpriced masseur.

This place is a decent, plain hotel in a very nice
village that advertises itself, and prices it's product
as though it were a real spa resort.

It is NOT a resort. It does NOT have a spa.

The rooms are very spartan but clean. The service
is adequate. (Think Hampton Inn with a latin
flavor.)

But the place reeks of pretentiousness.

The restaurant is physically attractive...but the
"chef" is woefully inadequate. I was actually
embarrassed for him on the nite I dined there.
I ask to be served whatever the cook was most
proud of. I got a bowl of pork and beans in some
kind of would-be cajun sauce. New Orleans
cuisine it was not.

The hotel/restaurant is vastly overpriced for
the location and services. Othe El Valle hotels are much less
costly and equally nice.

La Casa de lourdes would be an ok place at about
60% of the current tarriff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ildericolima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasadeLourdes, Gerente at La Casa de Lourdes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Lourdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Lourdes

Address: El Valle de Anton, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
La Casa De Lourdes Hotel El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing