We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, but perhaps too quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but perhaps too quiet”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at Los Mandarinos on a recent trip to Panama. Both the buildings and grounds were absolutely spectacular, and neat as a pin. The service was adequate but not remarkable. I wished I had brushed up more on my Spanish because few employees spoke English, so making tour arrangements and getting area info was difficult. It appeared we were one of just 3 or 4 couples staying there each night. This might sound like paradise to some travelers but it made us feel conspicuous and awkward. In addition, nothing seemed to be fully operating: the jacuzzi in the pool was off, the pool hadn't been cleaned, the spa had limited hours (and yet was somewhat pushy) and, most disappointing, the bar closed early each night. We had looked forward to having a glass or two of wine on the lovely deck of O'Pedro's each night, but only one night did it stay open past 9 (it was supposed to be open until 10). If I stayed here again, I would buy a bottle of wine in town and get a room with a balcony. Breakfast was good--eggs cooked to order, toast, a cheese and meat plate, fresh fruit and juice. Dinner at Casa de Lourdes was pretty good as well, but the prices and ambience in town are much better--I would especially recommend Bruschetta's. Be advised there is not much to comfortably walk to from this hotel. I thought we would be closer to town than we were, but we definitely needed our car, for quick trips to town as well as longer excursions. All in all, this is a great find, and we got it at a great price (about $130/night, based on our 3 day stay), but be ready for some serious peace and quiet and independence.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryebf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    137
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
119
183
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The reception lied saying they only had suites available, when in fact they had regular rooms available. $300 and not hot water! The breakfast was the most disgusting pig slop I have ever been served in a hotel. Disgraceful at these prices.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PanamaPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

A really gorgeous hotel. We stayed two nights during the week. They don't do discounts, but they gave us excellent room upgrades instead. Really romantic and peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We visited this hotel in the weekend.
After researching azuero and teh Chiriqui highlands we decided to stay in El Valle. We were recommended by a previous guinde to stay at Los Mandarinos, it was perfect.
New rooms, amazing view and a great town to explore.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punoxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Catalina, Panama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Nice view, rooms, grounds and pool. Staff was great also. From the front office who loaned me her special area map to the waiter who indulged us in honing our pronunciation of "scrambled" in Spanish, we were very pleased. My wife enjoyed the spa, though the massage table lacked a face cradle. Overal, the nearly $200.00 a night rates may be a bit high, but it was a very comfortable base from which my family and I could explore the area and included a great breakfast. It is also a short walk to Casa Lourdes restaurant which was very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefox264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I spent time at Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa and Hotel one month ago; the hotel amenities are fine, but the service is terrible. I don't know how such an expensive hotel can have employees who don't speak English; when I ordered breakfast, the waitress didn't understand what I was asking her. None of the waitresses in the Pub smiled at us during my entire stay, they seemed like very serious people. Service at the Spa was good, they did good work with a nice smile.

Service at the Reception was just so-so. Only one person knew English, none of the other workers did. This was a problem, because when we asked something at night, they didn't understand us.

We believe that service makes the most important impression in tourist areas, and Los Mandarinos does not understand how it works; this means that the administration is a disaster. The service was very cold.

If you go to Valle de Anton, we advise you not to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Great setting!! Very romantic! Rooms could be a little more high end for what they charge, but it was clean, with all amenities, and great service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monimu_pty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
19.1 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
17.2 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Property: Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing