We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at Los Mandarinos. It is in a beautiful setting in the stunning Anton Valley of Panama. Our room was large and comfortable. The only additions I would ask for are a full length mirror in the room, an iron and ironing board in the room and wifi throughout the resort. There was wifi in the restaurant/bar area and the spa, but unfortunately neither were close enough to our room to allow us to check our email from our room.

The buffet breakfast is fine, with made-to-order omelets. The pool area is very nice, with a heated area for soaking. I had a lovely massage at the spa. The spa is small but the staff was very nice. The restaurant, O'Pedros is an Irish pub, but there is a fine dining restaurant on the property immediately adjacent to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    137
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
119
183
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matyland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The best hotel and most expensive in el Valle. Used the spa sauna and relaxed. Gaital is right here. Should have gone for the hike. The reception recommends the restaurant next door casa Lourdes and food was very good to international standards in quality and in price. I will return

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paesano63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

O'Pedro's pub was fine ... but people are right to complain about the service. Unless you wave your arms, they just sort of stand there and make no move to take a drink order. Still, the place is nice, and am easy side trip to the the zip line near el Macho waterfall is also a plus. Ask at the desk for directions to the square trees - the trees themselves are so-s0, but the hike is lovely and there is a GIANT tree worth seeing near the far end of the loop.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnyytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were very pleased with the hotel, service and beautiful setting. The first day we got there we went to O'Pedro's and asked for a marguarita and mohito. They didn't have limes, the help didn't understand english and just smiled and moved like snails. The owner of the pub looked disgusted every day. Life must be really hard for him. We gave them another chance the next day and asked for the same drinks no luck. You will get better food and service in town. They need to change the way they operate the Pub. Why have things on the menu and not be able to get it for 3 days?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We arrived at Los Mandarinos by car from Panama City. Don't let anyone tell you that it is just right down the road. As an American driving in Panama for the first time it was a trip. The best directions we got were to turn right at the "mini-super Hong Kong" supermarket. It is a few turns through backroads fromt there.

We arrived and checked in. The checkin was easy and they quickly showed us to our room. The view was gorgeous, the weather was perfect, and the staff was nice. The room was also very nice. The only real complaint we have about the whole stay was that the bed was a little hard and they only give you two pillows on a king size bed. For the money I thought they should spring for better matresses and pillows. That being said they have a pub "El Pedro's" on the grounds, and Casa de Lourdes, the best restaraunt we ate at in Panama, a short walk to the back of the property.

We did take the time to spend an afternoon at the spa. The staff there was the best in the hotel. The massages were good and the facials were very nice.
If you are staying in El Valle I think this is the nicest place you will find.

Room Tip: We sprang for the king room and didn't go for the suite. It was plenty roomy and perfect for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

this people don't think in your guests, 7-01-12 sunday they close the restaurant/bar before 9pm because don't have more food and drinks. just go to town to find food and never say sorry about this drawback.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rchial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANDARINOS, Front Office Manager at Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We appreciate your interest in our Pub, the O'Pedros, and we regret that the demand that day has made us the kitchen closed at 8.30pm on a Sunday. At that time, we closed 30 minutes earlier than normal for having a record day for numerous events including European wine tasting,the America play off league on our TV sets, music festival in the Valley and others. In this case we always recommend La Casa de Lourdes restaurant, one of the best in the country and located at 30 meters (2 minutes walking) from O'Pedros. We respect your decision to go to one of several restaurants in Valle de Anton, between 2 and 4 km from the hotel.
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The setting for this property is outstanding. The grounds and the views were beautiful. Our room was a junior suite with a hot tub on the balcony. Some of the extras were very nice including the towel warmer in the bathroom, and the bathrobes. This was top dollar and I was a little disappointed that we only got one towel each and one pillow each in a king bed. Also our room was adjoining to another and we could hear the crying baby all night. All this being said I do not want to take away from the experience. It was great.

Room Tip: 7 was Heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
19.1 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
17.2 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Property: Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing