We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Los Mandarinos in the hills of El Valle Volcanic Crater”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
brockton, ma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Los Mandarinos in the hills of El Valle Volcanic Crater”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a lovely small hotel. It is Tuscan in style, has a small spa, a Pub with surprisingly good food, and a wonderful pool that is in sections if you prefer warm vs. cold temperatures. We stayed in a newer room that had a serene view and we could step out to the pool area. Our room was very clean. They are currently building a second new restaurant in the property. It is secluded. Great for a long weekend. Horseback riding is available, you can hike the surrounding area, etc. Nice to get away from the city. Rooms do not allow for irons and ironing boards - however, they do allow you to burn candles in the room - go figure! Staff was very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3D - very nice location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzyd1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    137
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
119
183
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
156 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here in late May2013. Booked by a tour company. This is a pleasant, but isolated place. You certainly need transportation if you stay here. There is free internet in one of the lobbies.. There are several buildings. It is difficult to get around after dark, so bring a flashlight. It takes quite a while for hot water to reach some of the buildings. This is not criticism. I thoroughly enjoyed the stay and the intent was to sample the Panamanian countryside.The food is excellent and the staff was also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

The other places look worst by far, but this hotel needs to improve its service.
the new rooms they just finished building have humidity problems on the ceiling.
they published a long weekwnd promotion with activities for children and there were none.
breakfast buffet is very downgraded, coffe taste was not good.
all in all this is the best place to stay in the Valley

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonquijoteII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I consider Los Mandarinos Hotel a fabulous and relaxing place. It has a wonderful view of El Valle Mountains, accesible to the other Valley attractions. Their warm pool makes a fantastic relaxing feeling. We had dinner at Casa de Lourdes Restaurant wich I recommend because of their delicious plates. We loved de sunrinse almost front of our room between two mountains, just a fantastic morning view and the breakfast buffet complements the stay with a variety of the traditional panamenian breakfast food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked to spend 2 nights at LM. We departed from the city at 5pm and stopped off for supper. Inevitably, it was late when we arrived. The staff were brilliant showing us to a parking space and then to our room. We had booked a standard room which was beautiful. Wooden floors, soft white cotton bed linen, travertine bathroom and a lovely accent stone wall which added to the atmosphere of being in the mountains. We faced directly on to the swimming pool which we thought was amazing. It looked stunning at night, beautifully lit with a couple of guests enjoying a quiet late night swim. The water was lovely and warm. In our room, we had a small fridge which was great for the snacks and extra drinks we had brought. There was even a little freezer compartment if you want to take ice packs in your picnic the following day! I thought the attention to detail was superb - a complementary torch and umbrella provided should you want to walk to Casa de Lourdes (a top rated restaurant right next door) or the Irish pub in the grounds for a beer or two...We were invited for a welcome drink at the pub which was delicious. We ordered 2 lemonades for the kids (homemade and not too sweet - wonderful) and we had 2 cocktails which were lovely. Unfortunately, my son and I seemed to have an allergic reaction to something in our room and could not stop sneezing - very bizarre as my daughter and husband were fine. We explained this the next day and we were moved right away to a suite because there were no more standard rooms available. We were further from the pool but the suites were amazing. We particularly loved the circular shower! The suite was incredibly spacious with a sitting room section with 2 sofas and a kitchen with microwave and fridge, table and 4 chairs. The beds were incredibly comfortable (as in the standard room). The grounds are beautiful at LM and you are surrounded by mountains that really does cleanse the soul. For me personally, the breakfast was a little disappointing. If you are adventurous, then you can enjoy a typically Panamanian breakfast. There was a chicken cottage pie and beef stew available on one of the days and a sausage casserole on another, They were delicious but I was really craving a warm bread roll, croissant and fruit, Get there early as breakfast is plentiful and fresh at 8,30 but we arrived at 9.45 the first morning and it was limited and a bit dried out...A shame that there is no wifi in the rooms but available in some of the public areas. It did stop us from reaching for the ipads though so maybe for the best as we actually talked to each other!!!!!! All in all this is a fabulous place to stay and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: The standard rooms facing the pool are stunning - especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candelabrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room was very spacious, large bathroom, refrigerator, and coffee......the beds were very comfortable! The grounds are amazing and the location is at the base of the mountains. No Internet in the rooms,but located in the public areas. The massage was wonderful...got the relaxing one hour massage....then had a nice hot tub soak!

Room Tip: 2D was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panama2011_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed for one night on a Jr suite and it was simply amazing. Room is pretty spacious, with high ceiling, small fridge, 42" lcd tv, split A/C, jacuzzi for two, and a king bed. Pillow and matress were very comfortable. Room is pretty quiet except for you can hear other room's doors closing, not something that would wake me up but it could be heard. Room was pretty clean and with that slight nice wood furniture smell.

O' Pedros pub bar has average prices, not an extensive menu but at least my burger was great. Expect things like burgers, club sandwiches, ribs, wings, desserts and some common cocktails which were good too, served on highball glasses instead of small rock glasses and with proper ratio were you could indeed have a real taste of the liquor. Also things were served faster than expected. Staff was pretty kind too.

La casa de Lourdes is a restaurant next to the hotel. It has a slight larger menu but prices are a bit higher. Food was good there and restaurant owner even comes by your table to say hi and make sure you are having a good time.

Overall, nice and quiet hotel. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
19.1 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
17.2 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Property: Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing