We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in El Valle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2009

This is a lovely property and by far the best place to stay in El Valle. Although the least expensive room is $157, including tax and a full breakfast, it is well worth it. Everything about the place is luxurious. The restaurant De Lourdes across the lawn area is outstanding and half the price of compariable places in the US. The spa is excellent and a one hour massage with steam and sauna is $55. You will need a car to explore the area and to get to town. There is a fabulous small restaurant in town called "Bruchetta" that is very busy for lunch and dinner and quite cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2009

This is a beautiful hotel. It's about two hours from Panama City. We spent two days there which was plenty of time. The restaurant that's part of the property is delicious. There is a great zoo with amazing animals and birds in the town- definitely not to be missed. The town is fun to look around. The mountains and views are really gorgeous. The staff is really nice. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank goldenfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

The drive to El Valle is absolutely beautiful. The view and vegetation is incredible and the roads are in good condition. We were very pleased with our first-hand impression when we arrived to the hotel. The welcome feeling was very friendly and the ambience was relaxing. The hotel is designed in 'Tuscany Style', so it fits well in the mountains. We stayed for one night as a family of four. It is a place to go for relaxation, ambience, tranquility and mild climate. The rooms are comfortable and basic, good enough for a short stay. The restaurant is very nice and they have made an effort to decorate it right. The menu was the same for lunch and dinner, but with enough choices, if you are not staying for several days. The owner/hostess of the restaurant is very charming and she made everybody feel at ease and looked after. Other customers from around the area is also dining/lunching at the restaurant, so it gets busy. I recommend to book in advance. The only thing which is not quite done right is the position of the pool. It is based in front of the restaurant, so it feels awkward to be sun-bathing or using the pool and we felt our children couldn't quite splash around having fun. The gardens and surroundings are kept immaculately, and everything is so beautiful. They offer horseback riding which was a big hit for our children. All in all, I will recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank hlvikinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We stayed at Los Mandarinos in December 2007 for two nights. It is billed as the best restaurant and accomodation in El Valle.

I would say that from an accommodation perspective I hope there is better in El Valle. Our room was like something you would find in a basic Greek resort - no-frills, not very clean and uninspiring. Fortunately it is not too expensive, but after one night I wanted to check out and go elsewhere. Be warned - do not expect luxury or anything close to it.

The restaurant (Casa Lourdes) was slightly better, but still not fantastic. Again, the prices aren't too expensive, but I expected better from a restaurant billed by one of the guide books as potentially one of the best in Panama. No way. The first time I ate dinner there the food was served cold. Service is hit and miss. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster. The second time (yes, I went back) was actually much better, but still not worthy of the billing it receives. I ate better everywhere else in Panama.

Bottom line - on my next trip to El Valle I will not be staying at Los Mandarinos.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

The best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Panama. El Valle is an amazing place I would like to keep as a secret. But I feel everyone visiting Panama who's into hiking and beauty should go there. The amount of GREEN shades is just amazing. The drive to El Valle is great, along with driving around looking for trails to hike on. The market is the least of what is great about this place, but the market is still fabulous.

At the hotel we had two huge rooms one for sitting the other for sleeping, plus a balcony. Clean, clean, clean. The bathroom shower is amazing. Opening all the windows to the breeze was great.

Carlos who runs the hotel was very helpful with information. The resturant connected to the hotel was wonderful. Breakfast is there and either lunch or dinner is enough to get your fill....

Stay during the week if you can at least one day. The weekend was a full house, which made it kinda noisy. But nothing to stop you from sleeping. The Thursday we were there, we were the only guests!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iggypug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2007

We stayed in this beautiful place this week. No regrets! There's too many things to list about it, but the main ones are:
1. Location, beautiful! The Valley is worth visiting if you want to do ecotourism and relax from the fast pace of Panama City. It's a wonderful getaway. The road is not in very good shape, but the place is worth the 2 hour trip!
2. Appearance: Amazing. The place looks like a tuscan village. It looks brand new and the landscaping is very good. It's rustic in its decoration which makes it more unique. The outdoors are very nice and you can still see the mandarin trees its named after.
3. Rooms: clean, bed is very comfortable, furniture appears to be of good quality, the bathroom is decorated nicely with river rocks! and it has a nice view of the valley since the hotel is up on a hill.
4. Service: excellent! Both the day and night front desk staff -Carlos and Alcidez- are extremely friendly and accomodating. They gave us all sorts of advice about the area and places to see and things to do. They arranged our transportation from and to Panama City and we were very pleased with the driver they chose for us.
5. Food: Even better! The restaurant is called Casa de Lourdes and is owned by a different person, however is a part of the hotel and it is very beautiful, has good service and very good food! It faces the pool so it is not recommended to go for a swim, but the decoration is nice, the weiter was excellent and the food has a panamenian touch. Read the reviews from panamenians and in tourism sites and it ranks very high. It appears to be international cuisine but it has a national touch which makes it unique.
6. Price: Moderate to high, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank DanielUrriola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
18.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
17.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: £135 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing