We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Campestre(El Valle de Anton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residencial El Valle(El Valle de Anton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anton Valley Hotel(El Valle de Anton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Playa Corona(Playa Coronado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manglar Lodge(San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Hotel(San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
176
158
67
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
158
67
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish pubcasa lourdeshotel is beautifulheated pooltuscan stylefull length mirrorrelaxing experiencewi fihorseback ridingcommon areastables and chairsroom was largecold waterbeautiful groundsvery nice placela india dormidapools
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I would like to take this opportunity to compliment the entire staff and the facility of Los Mandarinos. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (we even returned for another night prior to leaving Panama). The rooms, the facilities, and the grounds are exceptionally clean and well maintained. The entire staff is exceptional with special mention of Anne Frazao and Luis Rivas. Both of them make sure that every guest is treated individually and that nothing goes unaddressed. Los Mandarinos should be highly recommended and the ownership should be proud of the entire staff of employees. They are all doing a wonderful job. While staying at Los Mandarinos, we bought property in El Valle and will be visiting Los Mandarinos frequently. Once again, this is an exceptional facility with exceptional staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudson635sag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We just returned from a long weekend stay (4 nights) at Los Mandarinos. The occasion was our first anniversary.

El Valle de Anton, the area where Los Mandarinos is located, is in the middle of an extinct volcano about a 2-hour drive west of Panama City. As you look around in all directions, you see that the land rises up as if you are in a great big bowl! El Valle is a sleepy little town that seems to exist for the purpose of a quiet vacation of the type that we were seeking. There are several excellent restaurants (which will be reviewed separately), a few general markets for supplies, and a street marketplace that fills up on Sundays with people selling plants, fruits, vegetables, and crafts.

Los Mandarinos is a little more than a mile outside of the center of town at the base of a hillside. As described in another review, every day of our stay dark clouds rolled over the top of this mountain in a way that reminded us of Mt. Sinai in the movie, The Ten Commandments. Yet these clouds immediately dissipated from that point allowing the sun to break through most of every day that we were there.

The layout and setting was beautiful and exactly as described in other reviews. It is made up of separate buildings dotting their landscape, each with an old Tuscany look and feel. Importantly, everything in the buildings is modern, clean, and well kept.

We were lucky to get one of their 2 Junior Suites. It was on the 2nd floor of the U-shaped building that outlines the medium-sized swimming pool. This suite is a single large room with a king-size bed and a connecting balcony with its own private hot tub. There was an extra large shower with a large showerhead that comes out of the ceiling. The room has a refrigerator, plasma TV, and air conditioner. We used the latter only one night; the other nights we just left the windows open.

Each morning we took advantage of the breakfast that is included in the price of the room. It is provided at O-Pedro’s, the Irish Pub on the premises. Separate from the daily breakfast, the menu at O’Pedro’s is basic but very tasty and reasonably priced. It is same the menu provided to you when you order food at the pool. We would recommend the Sausage and Tomato Relish or O’Pedro’s hamburger. We would not recommend the Club sandwich. When we stopped at O'Pedro's before or after dinner in the evenings, our usual beverage-of-choice was a pitcher of sangria. They also offer a variety of domestic and non-national beers, wine, and liquor.

Luis, the manager of O-Pedro’s was there each day, including Monday morning on his day off. As with Marcos and Amy at the Reception office, and Sebastian at the poolside café bar, everyone was extremely friendly and constantly looking for ways to make us more comfortable.

We did not take advantage of the opportunities in the area for tours or hikes. My wife did get a facial at the spa at Los Mandarinos and said that it was very good. Every year we like to take at least one vacation where we stay at a nice (ideally) quiet resort and pretty much do nothing expect lay by the pool during the day, and then dine and relax in the evening. That is what this vacation was for us.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience at Los Mandarinos! For any representative from this resort who might be reading this review, we have only a few suggestions. First, we Gringos really like our morning coffee, and your coffee cups are so small that I was nearly finished with my coffee by the time you walked away with the coffee pot! A better idea would be to leave the coffee pot on the table. Also, on Sunday’s when breakfast is a buffet inside the restaurant and there is no table service on the deck, please put up a sign to let us know that (so we don’t wait outside on the deck for service).

Concerning the comments about noise from the couple from North Virginia, as well another review, we did not have that problem. Perhaps it was, as they mentioned, due to a wedding party being there. It is true that the walls are thin; and in this tropical climate there are marble floors and these don’t absorb sound. But based on our experiences, this is true everywhere in Panama (we now live in Panama City). Unlike elsewhere in the world, there is no insulation in the walls of buildings here because with the climate here there is no need.

One final note: it can be a little challenging to find Los Mandarinos even after you have found El Valle. Panama in general does not meet the standards we Americans expect concerning signs and directions! As you enter El Valle on the main (Principal) road, look for and turn right at the "Mini Hong Kong" supermarket. About a mile down the road you will need to turn left to get to Los Mandarinos. At the point of this left turn, there is a sign on the right side of the road that points to the left. But it looks like the sign is not always standing up! Also, there is school bus stop at the corner where you should turn.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daryltiffanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Stayed two nights at Los Mandarinos in a deluxe room that surrounds the pool. Overall impression is upscale but there are several problems. First, finding the place is an issue as there is no signage on the way in. In fact, the first sign you see for the hotel has been altered to misdirect visitors. The driveway in is very rutted so if you have a low clearance vehicle, you may bottom out. But the main problem is that the rooms were very noisy - it seems most have doors connecting to neighboring rooms that transmit 100 percent of the noise, including TV sets, sneezes, bathroom sounds, etc. And many local guests seemed to use the TV as a slumber inducing device. So if you have to stay there, try to get a room without a connecting door. Finally, the weekend we stayed there, the hotel was hosting a wedding which went on until about 2am. Not only was it infernally noisy, but the wedding guests trapped the hotel guests with their cars so we were forced to eat the mediocre fare at the hotel pub (El Pedro). There was no apology from the manager, who said that the noise helped her sleep. Main plus is that the wonderful restaurant Casa de Lourdes is next door which is a real treat. But you can dine there without staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HereandThere77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

What a wonderful hotel! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the rooms have everything you'd want....flat screen TV, small fridge, spacious, good size bathroom and great shower. Also, the pool is wonderful, a portion of it is heated which was great for our young babies, who had a blast splashing around. The breakfasts were wonderful and we had a wonderful dinner at Casa De Lourdes, which is adjacent to the Los Mandarinos property.

My hope is that the staff remains attentive and they do not go the way of most Panamanian hotels where the staff gives you vacant stares when you ask for something or you just never hear back after making a request, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firefly0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

My first impression of Los Mandarinos reminded me of the fabled folk-lore of an entire mountan village that descends from the clouds to touch the hearts of all who come under its spell. When I arrived at the hotel, it was shrouded in a misty cloud rolling down from the mountain above. It looked more like a page out of a storybook than reality.
I soon realized that this was to be only the beginning of what turned out to be a magical week in this paradise.
Not only were the accommodations 'world class', but the staff were attentive to all my needs. They arranged for a guide, transportation, and everything I required for a very enjoyable and successful visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VideoTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews