We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Anton El Valle”
Review of Anton Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anton Valley Hotel
Colorado
1 review
“The place to stay in Anton El Valle”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This is my second visit to this hotel and the area and it gets better every time. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff is wonderful and the new restaurant is as good as you will find in Panama. If it weren't for wanting to visit other areas in Panama, this hotel and area would be as good as it gets for an entire vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrekguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    57
    33
    15
    10
See reviews for
59
154
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

ROOM
Interior decoration is outstanding.
Towel folding is very skilful.
Hot water did not work during our 2 night stay. I did not ask why not (weather was very hot, so did not matter).
WiFi did not work in room.

COMMON AREAS
Interior decoration is outstanding.
WiFi worked well in common area.

RESTAURANT
If you read older reviews, you can see that this hotel used to give unbiased advice about local restaurants. But now that they have their own restaurant on the premises, that is no longer the case.
Bruschetta serves quite mediocre food in an attractive setting. It is popular, which just goes to prove that most customers have eyes but no taste buds.
I suggest Hotel Rincon Vallero for much better food, also in an attractive setting (but it is more expensive).
If you do not need the ambiance and want lower prices for food which is certainly no worse, I suggest Santa Librada on the main road about 1 km South of the hotel. It is much better value than Bruschetta. Best to stick to Panamanian dishes here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYDHIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

This is our second stay at the Anton Valley Hotel and we were greeted warmly by our hosts on our arrival. The service was just as attentive as it was during our prior visit. We booked the family room since we were traveling with our daughters. It's a great room for a family (or friends): one queen size bed, 1 bunk bed and a single bed. Even if if you don't stay at the hotel,check out their restaurant for breakfast. The Panamanian breakfast for $3.50 can't be beat. Next to the hotel is a laundromat and they will do your laundry for $3.00 a load. The hotel is on the main street with easy access to the Sunday market and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The place is fine, just the high rating on trip advisor is confusing and misleading. This is not an oasis of travelling nirvana but just a bog standard motel. But I guess the owners are very Trip advisor savvy and see the benefits of it - as per the email they send to all guests when they depart asking them to go on to trip advisor...

But If you are looking for a basic hotel, nothing flash in the centre of Anton Valley then this is a good bet. We had a deluxe queen room and for $78 plus tax a night this didn't feel like the best value compared to what we got else where in Panama. It is average in every way and non-inspiring. We left a day early as felt there was not enough in Anton valley to keep us interested for more than 1.5 days and didn't fancy hanging around the room. The thermal baths are luke warm and dirty, the waterfall is an expensive $3.5 for a 2 min walk and petroglyphs ok, But the cloud forest walk is a good experience just don't expect to see many animals or golden frogs. It would be good if they developed a few more longer walking trails to appreciate the forest more.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey_boy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend and parents and we all thought Anton Valley was a great place to stay. The location was great for touring the market and walking along the main street. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the rooms were clean and well-kept. The restaurant attached is a good place for dinner and a cheap but delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLuLandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

The rooms are small but clean and the water runs hot.

However, there was constant noise, whether it came from the adjacent kitchen building, the cleaners, handymen or church bells.

The food was of a reasonable standard but the restaurant closed at 9.30 and there was was no bar. Luckily, Mario the restaurant owner, gave us a digestive on the house.

Very good marketing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earleandles, Owner at Anton Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2010
While we regret that we did not meet the expectation level of this guest, we consider ourselves fortunate to have obtained the highest rating she has ever given a hotel on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iMissyxox
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Our stay was *WONDERFUL* as usual. The staff was great .... rooms were comfy....and food yummy! ! ! Very welcoming hotel. This was our second trip there and once again we had a wonderful stay.

While we were there we discovered that Bruschettas is moving into the hotel! WOW a restaraunt right in the hotel. How exciting and wonderful it is to see the marvelous Brushettas and Anton Valley Hotel joining forces under one roof. We can't wait to have dinner right at the hotel on our next trip to Panama ! ! !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
1.1 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
417 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#5 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anton Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anton Valley Hotel

Property: Anton Valley Hotel
Address: Avenida Principal, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anton Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a 5 minute walk to Panama's best indigenous market place on the main street in El Valle de Anton, is the Anton Valley Hotel. Each guest room features designer furnishings, queen or twin beds, private bathrooms with hot water, refrigerators, Direct TV, ceiling fans, tiled floors, lounging robes and massage showerheads. Other amenities include Wi-Fi throughout, Orchid Room Restaurant, Gift Shop, Outdoor BBQ/Bar and a spa treatment room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Anton Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anton Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing