We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Nights in El Valle at Hotel Residencial”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Residencial El Valle
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Five Nights in El Valle at Hotel Residencial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel Owner Enrique Tiban was very helpful and attentive as were his employees. Enrique speaks English and understands American culture and lives on the property. His hotel facilities are reasonably priced and nice accommodations in the middle of town and next to the bus terminal. Friendly place overall and we will be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Roadway gets noisy, windy rattles, and other guests can be loud in common areas. Lower level and mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    61
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
62
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Leary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Our first trip to Panama we stayed in a number of hotels in Panama City, Santiago, El Valle, Boquete. Our very favorite was Hotel Residencial in El Valle. Enrique made our stay comfortable, and even provided us with some dishes and cutlery. Very friendly town and hotel employees. Very clean and attractive rooms, folk decor throughout the hotel. Many local places to shop for artisan wares and fresh fruit and veg, and a couple of tiny but good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The hotel is nicely located in the town. The town is small and the sights are spread out throughout the valley but it's nice being close to the shops and the couple restaurants. The rooms were very clean, and decorated with hand painted wood furniture. Very colorful and attractive. Our host Enrique, was very hospitable. The upstairs deck with hammocks and chairs is pleasant. There is coffee in the morning and a restaurant downstairs. The local restaurants in the town have crazy bad service. But the hotel was great. Not fancy, but very pleasant. Only complaint about the hotel was the linen would not stay on the puffy new mattresses in the rooms. Minor complaint.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel is located at the very center of the town, conveniently located near restaurants, shops, the market and the main bus stop. The room was clean, everything was working perfectly (fan, hot water) and the staff was very kind. I missed the AC but actually we didn't really need it

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This was our second year to return to El Valle. The first year we chose this hotel because it was where the bus stopped, but the second year it was a destination. Nice people, nice family, nice dog. The outdoor weekend market downstairs, and the grocery store across the street have all you need to prepare a great dinner on the open air patio upstairs and hang with new travel pals. Bicycles can be rented right downstairs to explore the waterfalls, hot springs and the zoo. It is worth the trip to the Zoo just to see where the town veterinarian lives. What a gorgeous spot.

Room Tip: We rented the suite with the kitchen the second trip. It was more expensive, but we cooked lots of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. The price is right, we love the open air terrace on the top floor with hammocks and lots of seating areas, along with a fridge and microwave. Good views of of the town and some bird watching is easily done at dawn and dusk from this area as well! The lovely ladies who keep this place clean work very hard and are very pleasant.
Enrique kindly lent me his laptop so I could check my email for some info I needed regarding a meeting in town! We also like the central location as it is very close to several restaurants, grocery stores and walking distance to all the major attractions in town. The restaurant downstairs is consistently good with very friendly and prompt service.
On the down side, we were moved into a different room on our 2nd night (through our own choice as the only clean room on our first night only had one window which looked out onto the shared balcony). There was nothing wrong with the new room per se, until we went to bed at night. We were told it was a new bed and indeed it was. They had not removed the plastic from the new mattress (I checked under the sheets and could see that they had even put a thin mattress cover over this so they did know it was there. As you might imagine, sleeping on a plastic mattress was a rather sweaty experience. Stuck with it anyways for 3 nights as we are not complainers, have slept in more uncomfortable situations over years of travel and what can you expect for $50 a night.
It may be a little loud for light sleepers given it's location. The owners dog barks quite often early in the morning and at other times of the day. It seems to be tied up quite often, but that is likely better than letting it run around town with the other dogs.
The other issue some people may have difficulty with is the fact that this hotel keeps a monkey as a pet, always tied up in the back yard and very visible. It is in a covered sort of tree house and it's leash is long enough that it has a little access to the tree, but mostly it just runs back and forth on top of it's house (our new room was facing the back so I did watch this tiny monkey quite a lot). The monkey is a Geoffroy's Tamarin, a very small primate, endemic to Panama and Colombia, which I have seen in the wild a few times at Parque Metropolitano in Panama City. I have no idea of the origins of how this monkey came to be here and it is doubtful that a captive primate would be able to fend for itself after being kept as a pet.
Overall I let the positive outweigh the negative, but thought I should give an accurate description.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without plastic on the mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillyjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Taboga, Panama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Convenient location, excellent service, nice rooms, great place to meet up with fellow travelers. The owner went out of his way to accommodate us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suscri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.3 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#4 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodhi Hostel & Lounge
Bodhi Hostel & Lounge
#1 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial El Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial El Valle

Property: Hotel Residencial El Valle
Address: Ave. Central, Frente a Super Centro Yin | 100 metros antes del mercado de artesanias, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Residencial El Valle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing