We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really beautiful and peaceful”
Review of Hotel Campestre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Campestre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I felt like I was in Jurassic Park with the lush mountainous background here. There are waterfalls and beautiful grounds to walk around. They have a short hike to the "square" trees, and also have a golden frog and parrots in a cage to view.

For dinner we went to Cumana Bistro. A quaint, local restaurant that served fixed price meal for $25.00 was a GREAT bargain and a very quaint, romantic setting. Sven is wonderful and was a definate highlight of our trip.

Vivi+Sven Schiffer
mail: [--]

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheadogOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2009

location and cleanliness was pretty good, the view was amazing!! ... but the service, even thought not bad, unfit for a hotel that should be the best in the area. Do not take breakfast, for $7.50@ you can do a lot better a few blocks from there. Hope they change management...Room service? if you leave your key (thats what we were told after asking about our room)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuadalupeLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Hotel Capestre is a fine hotel set in a beautiful Panamanian valley, or more accurately 'extinct volcano.'

The facility is suitable for individuals or groups looking for a retreat from the 24/7 pace of Panama City. The town of El Valle de Anton has become a popular destination for Sunday day trips, particularly off of Cruise liners. Hotel Campestre is located a few miles/KM from the 'center' of town so the daily workings of El Valle do not intrude. The distance is just right for a good walk (20 minutes) or if you have/rent a bicycle you can reach all that you want in town very quickly. The most impressive feature of the hotel is it's scenery from every direction. If you like to hike this is the place to stay. Their mountainside has a well marked trail that leads you to a couple of unique 'square' trees. The trunks seem to grow into a square rather than the common cylinder. If you are quiet and walk slow many species of birds can be seen as well as amphibians.

One major attraction to the hotel is it's cache of Golden Frogs. These tiny frogs have become endangered due to a strange fungus that kills them. Hotel Campestre became a safe haven for these critters along with the local 'zoo' (not like the Bronx Zoo). In fact one night a little golden frog came calling to my room on the window. I thought it was one of the coolest things to see in Panama.

The rooms were very spacious and well taken care of. I lead a group of 21 people and no one had complaints except those that are bug timid. This hotel is in a cloud forest and with the humidity combined with deep forest the bugs get big. Leave your windows closed if you don't want flying, crunchy visitors.

There is a nice conference facility that can accommodate more than 75 people with air conditioning. The hotel rooms themselves have no air conditioning but the temperature remains comfortable through the day and at night.

The only surprise was the renovations being done on the hotel. The image on the internet is not what it looks like anymore. The original hotel was a wood structure that had termite damage so the structure is changing to steel which is being replaced in stages. The drawings for the entire renovation are posted and in due time this hotel will be incredible. The current condition of the hotel is still comfortable even amongst construction.

BTW: If you love Parrots the hotel keeps two Macaws on the grounds in rehabilitation. A nice wake up call.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peronnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: os andares de cima soa melhores, porem o chuveiro eh escasso em agua.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malu' C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Campestre V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Campestre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo en Sophie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hens16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
422 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#5 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campestre

Address: Calle El Hato, El Valle de Anton 0816, Panama
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: £74 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campestre 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campestre, with more than 60 year of existence, is located in the most privilegde property of the locality. With a distintive temperature and wind factor exclusively for the hotel. Visit our newly renovated rooms, and be in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Campestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing