We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ski hotel”
Review of Hotel Sonnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonnhof
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rauris
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We had an excellent holiday at this hotel with our teenagers and our friends in March.
The location of the hotel is perfect, it takes five minutes by car to get to the ski lifts.
The hotel manager and the staff were very kind and helpful. The rooms were plain but clean.
The buffet service for breakfast and dinner was rich and substantial. The food was delicious. We could choose from three main courses, three different kinds of salad and and we got some desserts too.
There was a beautiful view from the restaurant on the mountains.
We higly recommend this hotel for everybody, it's a perfect place to have a great time on your holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank merlegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

....go. I'm sorry to say but it was a horrible experience. Small, cold and dirty room (under the bed we found a bottle and diapers), creaky old mattresses and only when you looked at them. Cold and smell over the corridors. The food was so so. The staff was nice but that's all. You could eat in the dining room with ski clothes, it was so cold. There is no place for smokers; who want to smoke need to open a door, and all the cold entered on the serving room. And when I thought it can't be worse, there was no hot water ......

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schnaps033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We arrived on the 29th January to be greeted by a very friendly reception staff, we went through the booking in formalities very quickly and were allocated our room all within the first 5 minutes. The room which was in the 'new 'wing was adequate not in the luxury class -- but hey, we didn't pay a lot, the big plus was it had a bath! The room was clean and everything worked. Now if you are expecting a traditional Austrian Hotel with bar / stube and roaring fire, you will be disappointed, this is an older Hotel with a peculiar layout.The swimming pool is next to the dining room - which had a little problem with the heating when we were there. The bar is in the dining room, fine for drinks with your meal, but the big problem is that there is nowhere to sit in the evenings at all except a drafty corridor. So you normally end up back in your room after your evening meal. The hotel is run by an enthusiastic Hungarian team, the majority of guests are eastern European so the food is biased towards them. The food is well cooked and with a choice. The food could be hotter and it would have been good if the plates were warmed.
All in all a good budget hotel. The skiing and the snow were great and as another contributor says seek out Vilmos for good instruction in good English.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKIIERTORBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Good value hotel, food is more than adequate, location is good also, but try and get a locker for all ski equipment, it is a bit of a distance to the main gondola.
The only downside for me is the fact that some staff could neither speak German nor English.
As far as skiing goes, the resort is fantastic, with a great ski school in Adventure Rauris, I suppose we were just lucky to get one of their best instructors in Vilmos, whose English is spot on and his instructions even better, seek him out!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PASTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

stayed in sonnhof hotel on skiing holiday found staff excellent and polite food very good white bread was available only 2 slice toaster was present beds a bit hard kids loved swimming pool overall was very pleased with our holiday

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This hotel is in a lovely location behind the church in Rauris. We were checked in very swiftly and our rooms were ready early which was helpful after an early start.
The room was very spacious for 2 adults and consisted of 2 singles pushed together and 2 chair beds if required. There are no tea/coffee making facilties and the tv only had German channels. I think we must have had a disabled room as we had no bath but the shower was good and had a seat in it!
The food in the hotel was perfectly l fine - not a wide choice but usually a pasta dish, meat dish, potatoes and veg. Pudding was mostly a bread based dessert.
The staff in the reastuarant were top notch particualrly Josef and Marie. They were very helpful and can't be faulted, Drinks were reasonably priced although they did tend to shut the bar around 10pm.
The sauna was a surprise and avaialable unitl 10pm.
Our only complaints about the hotel was that the beds were very firm and the hot water sometimes dropped out in the evening, probalby due to demand! However, the walls were very thick as we didn't hear a peep from the families either side of us - unfortunatley the church bells do ring about 6am though!
Overall though the staff were helpful and the food perfectly fine after a day on the slopes. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

warm welcome from reception staff, rooms were ready for us even though we arrived 3 hours before check in. Rooms basic and not much room with all 4 beds. A few times had no hot water for a shower but this was put right quickly when we complained. There was plenty of food (buffet style) which was on the whole nice but usually luke warm. Could not fault the restaurant/bar staff who were always helpful and worked like trojans. Our kids (12 and 10 years old) enjoyed the swimming pool however when they had finished with swimming didn't have anywhere to hang out. they liked going to chat to other children in the hotel,sitting on the stairs or down by ski room. A man who I believe was the manager was not at all child friendly and didn't like them hanging out around the hotel. On two occassions during our week there he man handled the children which freaked them out. I could understand him getting angry if they were unruley or making alot of noise late at night but these incidents happened around 8.30pm. He certainly could of handled the situation a whole lot better. maybe providing a chill out room for the kids and discussing any problems he has with the parents. For this reason I cannot recommend this hotel for families with children.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relmfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rauris
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rauriserhof
Hotel Rauriserhof
#1 of 10 in Rauris
167 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
262 reviews
11.4 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#2 of 10 in Rauris
90 reviews
20.8 mi away
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
321 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Bauer
Hotel Bauer
#23 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnhof

Address: Sonnblickweg 17, Rauris 5661, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Rauris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rauris
Price Range: £68 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let me introduce ourselves. We are the new owner of Hotel Sonnhof *** since 1st April, 2009. We are a young Hungarian family and we try to satisfy all the wishes of our guests. Big and delicious dishes, clean and new rooms, wellness, guided tours, children care. Ask for special offers! Be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnhof Hotel Rauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing