We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, wonderful people!!”
Review of Grimming

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grimming
Ranked #3 of 28 Rauris B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful people!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Inn is located in a beautiful, hidden Valley and the Alps. You feel like you're transported to another era.
The family that deals with this is the affable, receptive and ready to solve any kind of problems with tourists, no matter what language you speak!
The Inn is clean, rooms are furnished in a rustic style (as well as the entire Inn), the food is fresh and almost completely cooked in their own kitchen, without having to turn to convenience products, as otherwise we encountered in many other places in Austria!!!
Place of departure in numerous trips through the SalzburgerLand!

Room Tip: Camerele au moblier rustic si sunt destul de spatioase
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

As there were no cheap chalet deals to be had from crystal this year we went half board for £335 each a week. Before I continue if you see it on crystal ....book it, don't question it,book it. As a hotel it's spot on, food is great, breakfast is 8-10 am, hot option is extra which we don't bother with anyway, you get a choice from a menu for evening meal which you pick at breakfast The rooms are big warm and clean. The owners are friendly, tea and cakes at 4pm, can't fault it and free wifi.
Okay the resort, it's quiet! Very little Après ski, but we like quiet resorts, on a couple of bars. The snow, £154 for the pass gives 31km of local slopes, 1 black,3 reds,lots of blue, fanatical skiers would want more and it's 45 mins by bus to the next one and then you need a super pass. We think that a slope is a slope regardless of where it is, the snow is no different is it ? It snowed every day, this was a good holiday, next one in April back to soll

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Grimming, half board, in early January 2013. At first we were really worried about the whole doggy theme but by the end of the week we really couldn't fault the hotel. It was really clean, roomy & the food was lovely! Great value for money. Staff were friendly.
The whole holiday was brilliant! Rauris is small & quite but we still had a great time in the what cafes & bars there is! The Stradl Cafe is great, modern with a nice atmosphere. The owners are lovely and so welcoming.

We didn't want to come, definitely recommend Rauris as a resort and the Grimming as a place to stay! We will be going back : )

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great hotel, cant fault it at all!

The room was lovely (and didnt smell of dogs) Myself and my partner hate dogs so were a bit worried initially! But they make sure the dogs are at the back of the restaurant and they didnt bother us all holiday!

The hotel is well located and the ski bus stop is just opposite (it comes every half hour or so). Make sure you get the correct bus back to the hotel on an afternoon (as we got the wrong bus and ended up in the middle of nowhere and had to get a taxi for 15 euros back!)
It would have been helpful for the crystal ski rep to have told us this!

The food was really really good and there was always a good selection. We even took sandwiches for 1.5 euros with us every day so we didnt have to pay for food on the slopes! (even though rauris is very reasonably priced).

The tea and cakes at 3:30pm-5pm was a lovely extra after a days skiing!

The Karl Maier ski school was brilliant and we couldnt have asked for more, we learnt so much in a week and even booked on for an extra days tuition on the 6th day for 35 euros per person!
The only slightly negative thing I would say is the resort is very quiet and there is not much to do on an evening. I would reccomend the 'sleigh ride' as one of the evenings activities!

All in all great value for money, and a great holiday!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanna6189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel was in a good location for skiing and the village of Rauris and the food was quite good but we did not find the team particularly friendly except for the young waiter. We felt that the hotel was a bit smoky because there is a smoking Stube on the ground floor and we could smell the smoke throughout the building. We did not have a problem with the dogs in the hotel but there were dogs in the dining room which may not suit everyone.
Good value for money but we are not sure were all the very good reviews were coming from.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontelandvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just returned from a week staying in the Grimming with my wife and two friends and it lived up to my expectations. I had a couple of gripes which were also shared by the friends we went with too but I'll come to those.

The Hotel Grimming is a quaint, traditional hotel set in the small town of Rauris. Location wise it is excellent; it is right in the centre of the town with the free ski bus practically opposite its front door. It's such a small town you can walk to the main gondola in about 5 minutes, passing souvenir shops, restaurants and a supermarket on the way.

It stands next to a big church; apparently the bells dong at about 5-6am but I never heard them so they can't be that bad, although my wife and our friends were awoken a couple of times.

The Grimming is a 'dog friendly' hotel, something we were only told after booking our holiday. To be honest, other than the big picture of the dog on the side of the hotel and the myriads of dogs photos along the corridors I wouldn't have noticed. I saw about 6 dogs during my week there. My room certainly gave nothing away that a dog had ever stayed there and nowhere in the hotel did it smell like dog, so this shouldn't be a problem.

The room itself was spacious and well decorated with plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom had a shower (no bath) and it all looked very clean. When we were visiting the temperature outside was -16, but our room was always very hot (we even turned the radiator off at night) so no problems there. The maid always made our beds every day so that was average.

The only let down with the room, which was probably just bad luck, is that we were right on the end of the corridor, so the free wi-fi (which in itself is a good thing to offer) didn't work in our room; I ended up sitting out in the corridor checking my phone.

The meals were basic but tasty and well presented. Breakfast consisted of an open selection of meats, cheeses, breads/cakes, cereals, tea/coffee. You selected from a choice of 3 main meals; from memory I had wiener schnitzel, cordon bleu and some other traditional austrian recipe which were all very nice. Dessert was basic but usually consisted of ice cream with a selection of sides.

So far so good. The only thing which was lacking in my opinion and which our friends felt too was a lack of help or information from the staff, which is seemingly at odds with some of the other reviews on here.

We arrived late on the first night, past the normal time for the evening meal according to the information in the guest book, but it was only after walking downstairs and finding someone to ask if it was too late for dinner did I find out that it was actually open. We all thought it would have been nice if they actually said "welcome to the hotel, please go through to the dining area if you are hungry" rather than waiting for us to ask.

Similarly, the afternoon tea and cake was apparently on offer, but we never found it once. We have no idea what room it was served in, but there was no information anywhere about this and again it wasn't offered by the staff.

Finally, whilst the young man who served us dinner couldn't have been more friendly (despite him telling me my drink was €2 when it was actually €4 - good thing we got the bill the next day not at the end of the week!), we didn't feel the staff to be as wonderously friendly as a lot of other reviews on here suggest.

All in all these gripes at the end are only small things, but if would have made the difference for us between this hotel being very good and being excellent. It would be very easy to achieve too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridor don't get the best wi-fi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent66KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very happy with the Hotel, our room and the meals. Considering we paid very little for the last minute Crystal Ski booking we thought we would get a 1 or 2 star hotel/service but we were very pleasantly surprised. A good 3 star hotel in my opinion. As a Crystal/ Thomson booking you get a basic set menu every evening comprising of Soup or Salad to start, 3 main course choices (inc 1 Vegetarian) and 1 desert option. You indicate what you would like for diner by marking the evenings menu that they leave on your table at breakfast. For fussy eaters there is not much choice but for my 21 year old son and myself we were grateful for a quick basic meal each evening after a long day skiing. We did overhear others talking about a different menu choice for an extra 6 euros pp per day, and we also saw other meals served to diners who had visited the restaurant for a meal out. So it might be possible to get a greater selection, but it did not bother us. Breakfast is plentiful and self-service. Lots of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, bread, rolls, meats, jam, boiled eggs, cake, juices, tea and coffee. If you require scrambled egg, fried egg or ham and eggs, there is an extra charge of a couple of euros.

Our room was large for just the 2 of us. A typical Austrian Twin bed that is effectively a king size double bed with 2 single mattresses. A compact ensuite with WC, shower and basin. Plenty of extra floor space to take extra beds if needed and we had the luxury of a balcony to keep the beer and water cold!

Another big plus point is the heated boot and ski room. It is great to walk to the room in the morning in ski socks or comfy shoes and put on your warm/dry ski boots and exit out the back door to walk around the corner to the ski bus stop (opposite the front of the hotel). The hotel is right in the middle of town next to the church and the 2 main lifts are at either end of town. You can walk to them but it is easier to take the bus for a 3-minute journey than trudge around in boots carrying skis. If you want to leave your skis and boots down by the main gondola there is a PAYG locker room.

Just beware the church next door does start chiming at 6.00am but we could barely hear it through the double glazing and it only woke us twice.

The other thing to note is the hotel is very dog friendly. Lots of guests bring their dogs and they are allowed into part of the restaurant. All the dogs were well behaved when we were there and never caused us a problem or even heard them at night. Our room did not have any trace of dog hair or dog smell so we assume they must reserve some rooms for dog owners only. It would not put us off staying again at the right price.

Rauris is a very small and quiet resort, so don’t expect any lively apre ski like in St Anton where it is mad!! There are 2 or 3 bars at most and the best is Shake Beers approx 50 m from the hotel. It serves half price cocktails till 9pm, shuts at about 4am and has a good DVD playing most nights of crazy skiers and other extreme sports. It is the most popular bar.

The nursery slopes are perfect for beginners and there is a big wide motorway piste up the mountain for beginners. Not that challenging if you are a great skier with just 2 black runs (1 pisted, 1 not), but there is a fair bit of off piste if the powder is deep. It was at least 1 m deep when we were there.

The resort and mountain bars are cheap by comparison to other resorts like St Anton or any of the big French resorts. 3.50 euros for a large beer and sausage and chips for 4 euros!

I would go again for a cheap holiday, quick transfer from Saltzburg, and good enough skiing for a competent intermediate and beginners. Limited nightlife helps to keep the hangover at bay and means you can ski earlier!

A good resort for young families.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are closer to the church (bells). The front is directly on the main street but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpudFromPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rauris hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hubertus
Hotel Hubertus
#3 of 10 in Rauris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rauriserhof
Hotel Rauriserhof
#1 of 10 in Rauris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birkenhof
Hotel Birkenhof
#4 of 28 in Rauris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Triglerschlossl Appartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Wieshof
Hotel Garni Wieshof
#1 of 28 in Rauris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnhof
Hotel Sonnhof
#5 of 10 in Rauris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grimming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimming

Property: Grimming
Address: Marktstrasse 25, Rauris 5661, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Rauris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rauris
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimming 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grimming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimming Hotel Rauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing